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The Vermont Criminal Justice Council’s Administrative Procedures require Certified Law  

 Enforcement Officers to undergo in-service training annually. This is commonly referred to as 
Rule-13. Training is based on calendar year. Annual requirements must be completed 
between January 1st and December 31st each year.For calendar year 2022, all Level-
II and Level-III officers are required to complete 30 hours of in-service training 
(training at a minimum, include the following):
• First Aid / CPR Training (must be currently certified or undergo an annual training)
•

•

Firearms Qualification (At a minimum, VCJC Firearms Qualification Courses under the 
direction of a VCJC Certified Firearms Instructor)
Conducted Electrical Weapons Training (At a minimum, manufacturer specific CEW 
annual training if certified to carry a CEW). **Must have initial manufacturer's certification 
training, Vermont Specific training through the Academy, and mandatory Mental Health 
training to be certified.
FIP 2021 Mandate if not taken in 2021 this training must be completed by June 30, 2022.

• Domestic Violence Response  (This is required on even-number years only)
• Use-of-Force & Tactics (4 hours and must be under the direction of a VCJC Certified UOF&T

Instructor - NOTE: this training does not include CEW & Firearms. This training can be blended
with other disciplines, can be psychomotor skill based and/or academic. The four hours do not
need to be consecutive. Review of an agency’s Use-of-Force Policy can be included.)

• ARIDE Certification (Required for all officers within 3 years of certification if certified after
May 22, 2015)

Additionally, each agency must have adopted and continue to maintain the following 
policies (model policies are available via our website - see attached links)
• Fair & Impartial Policing - which includes essential components identified in 20 VSA 2366
• Conducted Electrical Weapons (if carried by officers) - which includes essential

components identified by the Law Enforcement Advisory Board.
• Body Worn Cameras - Which includes essential components as identified by the Law

Enforcement Advisory Board.
• Internal Affairs Policy - Which includes essential components identified in 20 VSA 2404(a).
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Here is what you need...




