

Application for Drug Recognition Expert Training

Title/Rank:	Name:			
Agency:	Date of Application:			
Phone #:	Email:			
APPLICANT INFORMATION				
How many years of police experience do you have?				
Date certified as a Level III police officer:				
Date of DUI / SFST completion:				
Date of ARIDE completion:				
Town you reside in:				
Current assignment:				
Current shift (days/nights) assignment:				
Special team assignment(s):				
Highest level of education completed and field:				
Have you ever witnessed a DRE evalu	uation? Name of DRE:			
Number of DUI (alcohol) arrests during last 12 months:				
Number of DUI (drug) arrests during last 12 months:				
Number of total arrests during last 12 months:				
Number of total traffic violations issued during the last 12 months:				
Approx number of total motor vehicle stops during last 12 months:				
Immediate supervisor's name:				
Phone #: Email:				
Name of Chief/Sheriff/Barracks Commander:				
Describe why you would be an asset to the Vermont DRE Program:				

All applicants must be <u>Level III certified</u> police officers in the state of Vermont and currently be employed by a Vermont law enforcement agency/department with a least two years of experience. A qualified DRE applicant must demonstrate proficiency in the use of IACP/NHTSA approved SFST, including horizontal gaze nystagmus, prior to the start of the DRE certification process. <u>Each D.R.E.</u> applicant will provide the D.R.E. Screening Committee with the following documents:

Letter of recommendation from agency head (Chief/Sheriff/Station Commander). Letter of recommendation from immediate supervisor.

Letter(s) of recommendation from local State's Attorney's Office

Last two personnel evaluations (If your agency conducts evaluations).

Copy of a sample DUI affidavit from applicant, including DUI facesheet. Certificates verifying completion of DUI / SFST course and ARIDE course.

Any communication recognizing you for outstanding impaired driving enforcements or testimony.

Any other document you feel will demonstrate your dedication to enforcement, public education or community participation relating to impaired driving.

DRE CRITERIA (some, but not all of the pre-requisites for applicants)

- **Exceptional ability to understand, administer and articulate Standardized Field Sobriety Test protocols and procedures.**
- **Exceptional verbal and written communications skills.**
- **❖** Ability and willingness to respond to a request for a DRE Evaluation at any time of the day or night.
- Support of applicant's Department /Agency to meet all requirements and responsibilities affiliated with being a DRE (to include availability for call outs).
- Support of the town, city, county or other governmental entity managing affiliated grants.
- **Outstanding history of performance enforcing traffic laws in general and DUI laws in particular.**
- **Excellent working relationship with your local state's attorney's office.**
- **Commitment to the program for a minimum period of five (5) years.**
- **Demonstrated ability to "look beyond the traffic stop" when performing enforcement duties.**
- Solid community relations skills and the ability to work in partnership with the community you serve.
- **Comfortable delivering presentations.**
- **❖** Ability to instruct other police officers and community members on issues related to impaired driving.
- **❖** Successful completion of the Advanced Roadside Impaired Driving Enforcement (ARIDE) course prior to starting DRE School.

The Drug Evaluation and Classification (DEC) Program has received national acclaim for its success in identifying the drug-impaired driver. Officers trained as Drug Recognition Experts (DREs) are frequently called upon to differentiate between drug influence and medical and/or mental disorders and is an extremely valuable tool in combating the adverse impact of drug and alcohol impaired driving in our communities.

DRE School is extremely demanding. To receive certification as a DRE, two phases of training must be completed. The following summarizes each phase:

ACADEMIC TRAINING: This phase is typically conducted over a ten day period (80 hours). It includes courses in physiology, vital signs, standardized field sobriety testing (SFST), and extensive information on each of the seven categories of the drugs of abuse. The training includes an SFST proficiency examination, five written quizzes, and three written examinations. Students

must achieve a minimum of 80% on the three examinations and must demonstrate proficiency in administering SFSTs in order to progress to the field certification phase.

FIELD CERTIFICATION PHASE: After successfully completing the academic portion, students must complete the certification training phase. It is the student's responsibility to complete the certification requirements within six months following the DRE School. These requirements include conducting a minimum of 12 drug influence evaluations while under the supervision of a DRE instructor, identifying subjects under the influence of four of the seven drug categories, and attaining a 75% toxicological confirmation rate. In addition, the student must maintain a certification progress log and rolling log and submit a written curriculum vitae (CV). Finally, the student must obtain the written endorsement of two certified DRE instructors.

DRE certification is valid for two years. In order to maintain certification, DREs must conduct a minimum of four evaluations every two years, submit an updated rolling log and an updated CV, and attend eight hours of approved recertification training.

The only financial obligation on our agency will be the officer's salary. All other related training expenses will be covered by grant funds.

I have read the above requirements and understand the content. I feel I am both qualified and motivated to undergo this training. I also understand DRE training demands a dedicated effort for successful completion. Understanding the requirements, I submit this request for an interview by the DECP screening panel.

(DATE)
(DEPARTMENT HEAD'S SIGNATURE)
(DATE)

If you have questions about the program, please contact John Flannigan, Vermont DEC Program State Coordinator at (802) 999-7685 or john@flannigansafety.com

Return this application and supporting documentation to Training Coordinator JamieLee Bedard, Vermont Criminal Justice Council, at jamielee.bedard@vermont.gov

APPLICATION DEADLINE: FEBRUARY 9, 2024

Approximate training dates for the two-week school will be in April and the Field Certifications will take place in late May