Skip to main content

An Official Vermont Government Website

Vermont State Logo

Events - List View


Command Leadership Institute

  • Date: September 26-30, 2022
  • Cost: $695
  • For further information regarding this or any other FBI-LEEDA class, please contact FBI-LEEDA at 1-877-772-7712 or email us at: info@fbileeda.org.


  • Date and Time: June 6 - 8, 2022
  • Location: South Burlington Police Department 19 Gregory Drive South Burlington, VT 05403
  • Cost: $525
  • Registration: register online at GS-PCC.com

Our three (3) day Field Training Officer class is based on the industry standard San Jose Model. This class will fit with C.A.L.E.A. accreditation standards, providing you with the tools and knowledge to properly train a new officer. From ethics to leadership, our FTO class covers the topics needed to both train and evaluate a field trainee. The course offering includes:

• Field Training Program Goals & Objectives
• Expectations of / for FTO’s (Roles of the FTO)
• Ethics & Professionalism
• Leadership Skills
• Teaching and Training Skills/Adult learning Styles
• Intro to Competency Evaluations/DORs/DOR Videos
• Remediation
• Intervention Techniques/ Legal Issues/Liability
• Driver Safety/FTO Awareness or
• Practical Exercise Test/Side Evaluation
• Case Study Presentation


  • Date and Time: June 1 - 3, 2022 9:00am to 4:00pm
  • Location: South Burlington Police Department 19 Gregory Drive South Burlington, VT 05403
  • Cost: $295
  • Registration: register online at GS-PCC.com

This course will provide law enforcement officers with a fundamental understanding of teaching adults, professional presentations, and class facilitation. Additionally, the course will afford students the opportunity to develop teaching skills required to present any topic of instruction to law enforcement professionals within their agencies or departments. Specific focus will be placed on practical learning and application opportunities. Topics of discussion will include:
• Lesson Planning and Course Concepts
• Adult Learning Styles
• Do’s & Don’ts of Adult Learning
• Teaching and Training Via Media Resources
• Instruction Practical Exercises

Activities Worksheets provided through Student Workbook Download and Printing. Student must print workbook and bring/provide laptop with presentation software.


The REID Technique: Investigative Interview and Advanced Interrogation

  • Date and Time: May 17 - 20 2022, 8:00AM - 3:00PM
  • Location: South Burlington Police Department 19 Gregory Drive South Burlington, VT 05403
  • Cost: $600
  • Registration: register online at www.reid.com
    • For further information contact Julie Rock at 855-479-3959 or via email at jrock@reid.com

Learn How To:

  • Interpret verbal and non-verbal behavior to assess the credibility of a victim, witness or suspect’s statements
  • How to use behavior provoking questions in the interview process
  • How to use  THE REID NINE STEPS OF INTERROGATION® to:
    • Develop interrogation strategies
    • Develop themes (persuasive statements)
    • Develop the alternative question to elicit the first admission
    • Handle the more defiant subject and ‘overcome objections’; address the subject’s fears; move past the subject’s denials and motivate the subject to want to tell the truth

Training Manual Includes:

A comprehensive outline filled with detailed information that will serve as an excellent follow up to the training program.

Money Back Guarantee:  We are confident in the exceptionally high quality of our training and offer a MONEY BACK GUARANTEE if you are not completely satisfied.

 

Download THE REID TECHNIQUE® App for iOS devices in the Apple App Store TODAY!

For our current schedule of classes, please visit www.reid.com

 

Visit our YouTube channel – The Reid Technique Tips


Cellular Technology and Records Analysis

  • May 9, 2022 - May 11, 2022 at the South Burlington Police Department. 19 Gregory Drive South Burlington, Vermont 05403
  • Cost $475.00
  • Click here to Register


This course will cover areas involving the use of informants in criminal investigations.  Some of the areas to be covered will include how to recruit informants, use of informants in criminal investigations, proper documentation and department policy.  The course will cover legal and ethical aspects in the use of informants by law enforcement officers which includes selection of informants and minimal qualification for a person to be utilized as an informant.  The students will learn investigative techniques to minimize the exposure or identification of informants.  The course will also look at the civil liability of working informants and how to minimize those liabilities. 

The instructor for the class will be Brian Sallee.  Brian retired as detective from the Albuquerque Police Department.  He was a police officer for 40 years and spent over 31 years working narcotics units.  Brian has provided training to police officers from all 50 states as well as foreign police officers.  He has written two books; Narcotics Investigations: Working and Surviving and The Methamphetamine Handbook: What You Need to Know.  


ALICE Active Shooter Response Training

  • Date and Time: January 11 and 12th, 2022. 8:00AM - 5:00PM

  • Location: Castleton University - Stafford Academic Center SOuth Street, Castleton, VT 05735

  • Registration: Register online at https://cvent.me/eOdKmZ

Join us for ALICE Certified Instructor Training hosted by the Castleton Police Department!

This 2-Day Instructor training course is designed to teach participants the skills and strategies to increase survivability during the gap between the time a violent event occurs and, law enforcement arrives. Upon successful completion of this course, you will be a Certified ALICE Instructor and will have the knowledge and resources to train others in your community.


Stinger Spike System Training Course

  • December 14th at Hartford Police Department
  • Registration: Contact Det. Tom Howell at thowell@hartford-vt.org or via phone at 802-295-9425 x 325.


DUI Enforcement Certification

  • December 13 -17

 

 


Glock Armorers Course

 

To be eligible to take the Armorers Course you must be active/retired law enforcement or military, private security, GLOCK Stocking Dealer/Range Program Employee or current

GSSF member.

Understand and be able to explain the design features of the GLOCK Safe Action System. Demonstrate the knowledge and ability to maintain, troubleshoot and service all GLOCK

pistols by passing the Practical Examination and by scoring a minimum of 80% on thewritten examination.


Advanced Roadside Impaired Driving Enforcement (A.R.I.D.E.)

June 3 - 4 at Bennington Fire Department. 130 River St, Bennington, VT 05201.

Click to RegisterBuy Tickets on Eventbrite var exampleCallback = function() { console.log('Order complete!'); }; window.EBWidgets.createWidget({ widgetType: 'checkout', eventId: '146351608601', modal: true, modalTriggerElementId: 'eventbrite-widget-modal-trigger-146351608601', onOrderComplete: exampleCallback });

October 4 - 5 at Norwhich Police Department

Click to RegisterBuy Tickets on Eventbrite var exampleCallback = function() { console.log('Order complete!'); }; window.EBWidgets.createWidget({ widgetType: 'checkout', eventId: '153542934049', modal: true, modalTriggerElementId: 'eventbrite-widget-modal-trigger-153542934049', onOrderComplete: exampleCallback });

November 8 - 9 at South Burlington Police Department

Click to RegisterBuy Tickets on Eventbrite var exampleCallback = function() { console.log('Order complete!'); }; window.EBWidgets.createWidget({ widgetType: 'checkout', eventId: '153543612077', modal: true, modalTriggerElementId: 'eventbrite-widget-modal-trigger-153543612077', onOrderComplete: exampleCallback });

December 2 - 3 at the Vermont Police Academy

Click to RegisterBuy Tickets on Eventbrite var exampleCallback = function() { console.log('Order complete!'); }; window.EBWidgets.createWidget({ widgetType: 'checkout', eventId: '153543912977', modal: true, modalTriggerElementId: 'eventbrite-widget-modal-trigger-153543912977', onOrderComplete: exampleCallback });


Advanced Roadside Impaired Driving Enforcement (A.R.I.D.E.)

June 3 - 4 at Bennington Fire Department. 130 River St, Bennington, VT 05201.

Click to RegisterBuy Tickets on Eventbrite var exampleCallback = function() { console.log('Order complete!'); }; window.EBWidgets.createWidget({ widgetType: 'checkout', eventId: '146351608601', modal: true, modalTriggerElementId: 'eventbrite-widget-modal-trigger-146351608601', onOrderComplete: exampleCallback });

October 4 - 5 at Norwhich Police Department

Click to RegisterBuy Tickets on Eventbrite var exampleCallback = function() { console.log('Order complete!'); }; window.EBWidgets.createWidget({ widgetType: 'checkout', eventId: '153542934049', modal: true, modalTriggerElementId: 'eventbrite-widget-modal-trigger-153542934049', onOrderComplete: exampleCallback });

November 8 - 9 at South Burlington Police Department

Click to RegisterBuy Tickets on Eventbrite var exampleCallback = function() { console.log('Order complete!'); }; window.EBWidgets.createWidget({ widgetType: 'checkout', eventId: '153543612077', modal: true, modalTriggerElementId: 'eventbrite-widget-modal-trigger-153543612077', onOrderComplete: exampleCallback });

December 2 - 3 at the Vermont Police Academy

Click to RegisterBuy Tickets on Eventbrite var exampleCallback = function() { console.log('Order complete!'); }; window.EBWidgets.createWidget({ widgetType: 'checkout', eventId: '153543912977', modal: true, modalTriggerElementId: 'eventbrite-widget-modal-trigger-153543912977', onOrderComplete: exampleCallback });


Basic Domestic Violence Training

  • October 11

 

 


Advanced Roadside Impaired Driving Enforcement (A.R.I.D.E.)

June 3 - 4 at Bennington Fire Department. 130 River St, Bennington, VT 05201.

Click to RegisterBuy Tickets on Eventbrite var exampleCallback = function() { console.log('Order complete!'); }; window.EBWidgets.createWidget({ widgetType: 'checkout', eventId: '146351608601', modal: true, modalTriggerElementId: 'eventbrite-widget-modal-trigger-146351608601', onOrderComplete: exampleCallback });

October 4 - 5 at Norwhich Police Department

Click to RegisterBuy Tickets on Eventbrite var exampleCallback = function() { console.log('Order complete!'); }; window.EBWidgets.createWidget({ widgetType: 'checkout', eventId: '153542934049', modal: true, modalTriggerElementId: 'eventbrite-widget-modal-trigger-153542934049', onOrderComplete: exampleCallback });

November 8 - 9 at South Burlington Police Department

Click to RegisterBuy Tickets on Eventbrite var exampleCallback = function() { console.log('Order complete!'); }; window.EBWidgets.createWidget({ widgetType: 'checkout', eventId: '153543612077', modal: true, modalTriggerElementId: 'eventbrite-widget-modal-trigger-153543612077', onOrderComplete: exampleCallback });

December 2 - 3 at the Vermont Police Academy

Click to RegisterBuy Tickets on Eventbrite var exampleCallback = function() { console.log('Order complete!'); }; window.EBWidgets.createWidget({ widgetType: 'checkout', eventId: '153543912977', modal: true, modalTriggerElementId: 'eventbrite-widget-modal-trigger-153543912977', onOrderComplete: exampleCallback });


Executive Leadership Institute

  • September 27 - October 1 at Essex Police Department
  • Register online at www.fbileeda.org or call 877-772-7712 for more information


This is a physically demanding training course and participants must be injury free and in good physical condition before entering the course.

Tuition is free for all Vermont Law Enforcement Officer candidates who are sponsored by a Vermont Law Enforcement Agency and are pursuing level I or Level II law enforcement certification.

You must be sponsored and employed by a law enforcement agency to attend this course.

You must be certified in MDTS prior to your attendance at this course, either through a Police Academy or home agency course.

Note: Gym attire to include gym shoes, duty belt, inert OC, handcuffs and cuff key are required for this course. Please bring a dark colored T shirt to the class to wear for the exposure.

This course is designed to provide officers with the basics in the use and justification for the use of Oleoresin Capsicum. This course consists of classroom lecture, gym-work and scenario-based training, as well as a live OC exposure.

Successful completion of the course will require the student to attend the full blocks of training as well as pass written and proficiency testing for basic Oleoresin Capsicum instruction.

Written testing requires a minimum score of 80% to pass and proficiency testing requires 100% acceptable score on the Minimal Acceptable Performance Standards set forth by Safariland and the VCJTC.

 

Effective 1 January, 2014 per Council ruling, all persons seeking certification as law enforcement officers after that date must attend and successfully complete a Council approved training course for MDTS before receiving Level I, II or III law enforcement certification. The four-hour handcuff training provided during the Level I and II basic certification course does not meet this requirement, and only gives them the authority to carry and use handcuffs under the guidelines set forth in the provisional certification for Levels I or II. Officers must also attend and successfully complete a Council approved baton and/or Oleoresin Capsicum aerosol projector course before having the authority to carry and use a baton and/or OC. This course meets the minimum requirements under this new rule.


This is a physically demanding training course and participants must be injury free and in good physical condition before entering the course.

Tuition is free for all Vermont Law Enforcement Officer candidates who are sponsored by a Vermont Law Enforcement Agency and are pursuing level I or Level II law enforcement certification.

You must be sponsored and employed by a law enforcement agency to attend this course.

You must be certified in MDTS prior to your attendance at this course, either through a Police Academy or home agency course.

Note: Gym attire to include gym shoes, duty belt, baton and handcuffs and cuff key are required for this course.

This course is designed to provide officers with the basics in the use and justification for the use of the Monadnock Expandable Baton or the PR 24. This course consists of classroom lecture, gym-work and scenario-based training.

Successful completion of the course will require the student to attend the full blocks of training as well as pass written and proficiency testing for basic MEB or PR24 instruction.

Written testing requires a minimum score of 80% to pass and proficiency testing requires 100% acceptable score on the Minimal Acceptable Performance Standards set forth by Safariland and the VCJTC.

 

Effective 1 January, 2014 per Council ruling, all persons seeking certification as law enforcement officers after that date must attend and successfully complete a Council approved training course for MDTS before receiving Level I, II or III law enforcement certification. The four-hour handcuff training provided during the Level I and II basic certification course does not meet this requirement, and only gives them the authority to carry and use handcuffs under the guidelines set forth in the provisional certification for Levels I or II. Officers must also attend and successfully complete a Council approved baton and/or Oleoresin Capsicum aerosol projector course before having the authority to carry and use a baton and/or OC. This course meets the minimum requirements under this new rule.


This is a physically demanding training course and participants must be injury free and in good physical condition before entering the course

About this event

This is a physically demanding training course and participants must be injury free and in good physical condition before entering the course.  

Tuition is free for all Vermont Law Enforcement Officer candidates who are sponsored by a Vermont Law Enforcement Agency and are pursuing level I or Level II law enforcement certification. This class is designed for Level II officers looking to satisfy thier Use of Force block of instruction. Also this course will be used to satify out of state waivers Use of Force block. 

You must be sponsored and employed by a law enforcement agency to attend this course.

Note: Gym attire to include gym shoes, duty belt, baton and handcuffs and cuff key are required for this course.

This course is designed to provide officers with the basics for self-protection and control and/or restraint of adversaries.  This course consists of classroom lecture, gym-work and scenario-based training. 

Successful completion of the course will require the student to attend the full blocks of training as well as pass written and proficiency testing for basic MDTS certification.

Written testing requires a minimum score of 80% to pass and proficiency testing requires 100% acceptable score on the Minimal Acceptable Performance Standards set forth by Safariland and the VCJTC.

Effective 1 January, 2014 per Council ruling, all persons seeking certification as law enforcement officers after that date must attend and successfully complete a Council approved training course for MDTS before receiving Level I, II or III law enforcement certification. The four-hour handcuff training provided during the Level I and II basic certification course does not meet this requirement, and only gives them the authority to carry and use handcuffs under the guidelines set forth in the provisional certification for Levels I or II. Officers must also attend and successfully complete a Council approved baton and/or Oleoresin Capsicum aerosol projector course before having the authority to carry and use a baton and/or OC. This course meets the minimum requirements under this new rule.


This is a physically demanding training course and participants must be injury free and in good physical condition before entering the course

About this event

This is a physically demanding training course and participants must be injury free and in good physical condition before entering the course.  

Tuition is free for all Vermont Law Enforcement Officer candidates who are sponsored by a Vermont Law Enforcement Agency and are pursuing level I or Level II law enforcement certification. This class is designed for Level II officers looking to satisfy thier Use of Force block of instruction. Also this course will be used to satify out of state waivers Use of Force block. 

You must be sponsored and employed by a law enforcement agency to attend this course.

Note: Gym attire to include gym shoes, duty belt, baton and handcuffs and cuff key are required for this course.

This course is designed to provide officers with the basics for self-protection and control and/or restraint of adversaries.  This course consists of classroom lecture, gym-work and scenario-based training. 

Successful completion of the course will require the student to attend the full blocks of training as well as pass written and proficiency testing for basic MDTS certification.

Written testing requires a minimum score of 80% to pass and proficiency testing requires 100% acceptable score on the Minimal Acceptable Performance Standards set forth by Safariland and the VCJTC.

Effective 1 January, 2014 per Council ruling, all persons seeking certification as law enforcement officers after that date must attend and successfully complete a Council approved training course for MDTS before receiving Level I, II or III law enforcement certification. The four-hour handcuff training provided during the Level I and II basic certification course does not meet this requirement, and only gives them the authority to carry and use handcuffs under the guidelines set forth in the provisional certification for Levels I or II. Officers must also attend and successfully complete a Council approved baton and/or Oleoresin Capsicum aerosol projector course before having the authority to carry and use a baton and/or OC. This course meets the minimum requirements under this new rule.


This is a physically demanding training course and participants must be injury free and in good physical condition before entering the course

About this event

This is a physically demanding training course and participants must be injury free and in good physical condition before entering the course.  

Tuition is free for all Vermont Law Enforcement Officer candidates who are sponsored by a Vermont Law Enforcement Agency and are pursuing level I or Level II law enforcement certification. This class is designed for Level II officers looking to satisfy thier Use of Force block of instruction. Also this course will be used to satify out of state waivers Use of Force block. 

You must be sponsored and employed by a law enforcement agency to attend this course.

Note: Gym attire to include gym shoes, duty belt, baton and handcuffs and cuff key are required for this course.

This course is designed to provide officers with the basics for self-protection and control and/or restraint of adversaries.  This course consists of classroom lecture, gym-work and scenario-based training. 

Successful completion of the course will require the student to attend the full blocks of training as well as pass written and proficiency testing for basic MDTS certification.

Written testing requires a minimum score of 80% to pass and proficiency testing requires 100% acceptable score on the Minimal Acceptable Performance Standards set forth by Safariland and the VCJTC.

Effective 1 January, 2014 per Council ruling, all persons seeking certification as law enforcement officers after that date must attend and successfully complete a Council approved training course for MDTS before receiving Level I, II or III law enforcement certification. The four-hour handcuff training provided during the Level I and II basic certification course does not meet this requirement, and only gives them the authority to carry and use handcuffs under the guidelines set forth in the provisional certification for Levels I or II. Officers must also attend and successfully complete a Council approved baton and/or Oleoresin Capsicum aerosol projector course before having the authority to carry and use a baton and/or OC. This course meets the minimum requirements under this new rule.


This two hour course will train users in minor repairs, maintenance and preventative steps to ensure the DMT evidential breath testing instrument remains in proper working order. The course is taught by staff from the Vermont Forensic Lab and covers routine and scheduled maintenance of the DMT. DMT Supervisors also are trained to respond to errors and advise operators in the appropriate use of the instrument.



This 40-hour course provides police officers with the knowledge and skills to operate the DMT Infrared Breath Testing Device used to collect evidentiary breath samples for DUI cases. The course, delivered by VCJC certified instructors, instructors from the Vermont Forensic Laboratory Toxicology Section, the Office of Alcohol and Drug Abuse Program and the State's Attorney's Office, provides Infrared Breath Testing Device Certification.

The following topics are also discussed:

  • DUI Law and Case Law
  • Physiological and Psychological Effects of Alcohol
  • DUI Detection and Apprehension Techniques
  • Standardized Field Sobriety Exercises
  • DUI Processing Forms
  • Courtroom Testimony at the DUI Trial
  • Introduction to Drugged Driving

* Officers must bring their own copy of Title 23.

* Homework Required.


This 40-hour course provides police officers with the knowledge and skills to operate the DMT Infrared Breath Testing Device used to collect evidentiary breath samples for DUI cases. The course, delivered by VCJC certified instructors, instructors from the Vermont Forensic Laboratory Toxicology Section, the Office of Alcohol and Drug Abuse Program and the State's Attorney's Office, provides Infrared Breath Testing Device Certification.

The following topics are also discussed:

  • DUI Law and Case Law
  • Physiological and Psychological Effects of Alcohol
  • DUI Detection and Apprehension Techniques
  • Standardized Field Sobriety Exercises
  • DUI Processing Forms
  • Courtroom Testimony at the DUI Trial
  • Introduction to Drugged Driving

* Officers must bring their own copy of Title 23.

* Homework Required.


This 40-hour course provides police officers with the knowledge and skills to operate the DMT Infrared Breath Testing Device used to collect evidentiary breath samples for DUI cases. The course, delivered by VCJC certified instructors, instructors from the Vermont Forensic Laboratory Toxicology Section, the Office of Alcohol and Drug Abuse Program and the State's Attorney's Office, provides Infrared Breath Testing Device Certification.

The following topics are also discussed:

  • DUI Law and Case Law
  • Physiological and Psychological Effects of Alcohol
  • DUI Detection and Apprehension Techniques
  • Standardized Field Sobriety Exercises
  • DUI Processing Forms
  • Courtroom Testimony at the DUI Trial
  • Introduction to Drugged Driving

* Officers must bring their own copy of Title 23.

* Homework Required.


This 40-hour course provides police officers with the knowledge and skills to operate the DMT Infrared Breath Testing Device used to collect evidentiary breath samples for DUI cases. The course, delivered by VCJC certified instructors, instructors from the Vermont Forensic Laboratory Toxicology Section, the Office of Alcohol and Drug Abuse Program and the State's Attorney's Office, provides Infrared Breath Testing Device Certification.

The following topics are also discussed:

  • DUI Law and Case Law
  • Physiological and Psychological Effects of Alcohol
  • DUI Detection and Apprehension Techniques
  • Standardized Field Sobriety Exercises
  • DUI Processing Forms
  • Courtroom Testimony at the DUI Trial
  • Introduction to Drugged Driving

* Officers must bring their own copy of Title 23.

* Homework Required.


This 40-hour course provides police officers with the knowledge and skills to operate the DMT Infrared Breath Testing Device used to collect evidentiary breath samples for DUI cases. The course, delivered by VCJC certified instructors, instructors from the Vermont Forensic Laboratory Toxicology Section, the Office of Alcohol and Drug Abuse Program and the State's Attorney's Office, provides Infrared Breath Testing Device Certification.

The following topics are also discussed:

  • DUI Law and Case Law
  • Physiological and Psychological Effects of Alcohol
  • DUI Detection and Apprehension Techniques
  • Standardized Field Sobriety Exercises
  • DUI Processing Forms
  • Courtroom Testimony at the DUI Trial
  • Introduction to Drugged Driving

* Officers must bring their own copy of Title 23.

* Homework Required.




This two hour course will train users in minor repairs, maintenance and preventative steps to ensure the DMT evidential breath testing instrument remains in proper working order. The course is taught by staff from the Vermont Forensic Lab and covers routine and scheduled maintenance of the DMT. DMT Supervisors also are trained to respond to errors and advise operators in the appropriate use of the instrument.


Re-Certification for currently certified VCJC Use-of-Force & Tactics Instructors.

About this event

Per new guidelines from the Governor, Students must bring and wear their own facial covering and gloves.

 


Advanced Roadside Impaired Driving Enforcement (A.R.I.D.E.)

June 3 - 4 at Bennington Fire Department. 130 River St, Bennington, VT 05201.

Click to RegisterBuy Tickets on Eventbrite var exampleCallback = function() { console.log('Order complete!'); }; window.EBWidgets.createWidget({ widgetType: 'checkout', eventId: '146351608601', modal: true, modalTriggerElementId: 'eventbrite-widget-modal-trigger-146351608601', onOrderComplete: exampleCallback });

October 4 - 5 at Norwhich Police Department

Click to RegisterBuy Tickets on Eventbrite var exampleCallback = function() { console.log('Order complete!'); }; window.EBWidgets.createWidget({ widgetType: 'checkout', eventId: '153542934049', modal: true, modalTriggerElementId: 'eventbrite-widget-modal-trigger-153542934049', onOrderComplete: exampleCallback });

November 8 - 9 at South Burlington Police Department

Click to RegisterBuy Tickets on Eventbrite var exampleCallback = function() { console.log('Order complete!'); }; window.EBWidgets.createWidget({ widgetType: 'checkout', eventId: '153543612077', modal: true, modalTriggerElementId: 'eventbrite-widget-modal-trigger-153543612077', onOrderComplete: exampleCallback });

December 2 - 3 at the Vermont Police Academy

Click to RegisterBuy Tickets on Eventbrite var exampleCallback = function() { console.log('Order complete!'); }; window.EBWidgets.createWidget({ widgetType: 'checkout', eventId: '153543912977', modal: true, modalTriggerElementId: 'eventbrite-widget-modal-trigger-153543912977', onOrderComplete: exampleCallback });


Tuesday, March 30, 2021 - 8:00 am to Friday, April 2, 2021 - 4:30 pm


Tuesday, March 30, 2021 - 8:00 am to Friday, April 2, 2021 - 4:30 pm


Tuesday, March 30, 2021 - 8:00 am to Friday, April 2, 2021 - 4:30 pm


Tuesday, March 30, 2021 - 8:00 am to Friday, April 2, 2021 - 4:30 pm



This class is online only. You will be provided log-in information prior to the class date.

About this Event

THIS CLASS OCCURS ONLINE VIA ZOOM. ATTENDEES WILL RECEIVE LOGIN INFORMATION PRIOR TO THE CLASS DATE. IT IS IMPORTANT THAT ATTENDEES PROVIDE ACCURATE EMAIL CONTACE INFORMATION WHEN REGISTERING.

This course meets the requirements of 20 V.S.A. 2365(a) for all part-time officers who attended Phase I after the law was enacted (May 23, 2013) and out-of-state waiver officers.

 

Course Description:

It is not uncommon for law enforcement officers in Vermont to become involved in search and rescue operations. Vermont statutes require a base level of training for all newly certified officers. This session, taught by VT Search and Rescue Coordinator Neil VanDyke, will inform you of your obligations under the law, explain what specialized resources are available in the state, and give you a base level of training on how to effectively initiate a search for a person missing or lost in the Vermont backcountry. K9 Handler Warden Rob Sterling will review what the Vermont Police canine teams are trained to do and how they can be best used.

https://www.eventbrite.com/e/online-access-search-and-rescue-tickets-14…


This class is online access only. You will be provided log-in information prior to the class date.

About this Event

THIS CLASS OCCURS ONLINE VIA ZOOM. LOGIN INFORMATION WILL BE SENT PRIOR TO THE CLASS DATE. IT IS IMPORTANT THAT ATTENDEES PROVIDE A CURRENT EMAIL ADDRESS WITH THEIR REGISTRATION

This class satisfies the required statutory minimum animal cruelty investigation training for Level II, Level III and Waiver officers. Materials covered include:

What is Animal Cruelty?

Vermont Animal Cruelty Statutes

Response and Investigation

State and National Resources

This class is intended for law enforcement officers. Humane agents seeking training should register for one or more of the following:

Introduction to Animal Welfare Investigation

Advanced Animal Welfare Investigation

Animal Crime Scene Investigation

Farm Animal Welfare Investigation

 

https://www.eventbrite.com/e/online-access-animal-cruelty-investigation…


THIS CLASS OCCURS ONLINE This class satisfies the training requirement for all new officers under Title 20 VSA § 2358(e).

About this Event

This course looks at the biases that we all carry, from the standpoint of behaviors and effects. We look at the origins of these behaviors, and try to consider the ways in which the effects of various behaviors impact effective policing.

THIS CLASS OCCURS ONLINE VIA ZOOM. ATTENDEES WILL NEED A COMPUTER WITH A CAMERA AND MICROPHONE TO PARTICIPATE. LOGIN INFORMATION WILL BE SENT PRIOR TO THE CLASS SO IT IS VITAL THAT THE ATTENDEE PROVIDES AN ACCURATE EMAIL ADDRESS DURING REGISTRATION.

https://www.eventbrite.com/e/online-class-fair-and-impartial-policing-b…




Field Training Officer School

  • January 15 2019 - January 18 2019

Eventbrite - Field Training Officer School 2019


2018 Mandatory Domestic Violence Training-Digital Evidence

  • December 19
    • All dates have both an AM or PM option.

Eventbrite - Mandatory Domestic Violence Training-Digital Evidence


Our Mission

The mission of the Vermont Criminal Justice Training Council is to establish rules, policies, regulations and standards for certification and training of criminal justice personnel and to serve as a resource to municipalities, counties, and the state to improve the quality of citizen protection. We will accomplish our mission by developing a comprehensive program to provide high quality criminal justice training in a cooperative, efficient and effective manner through proper utilization of modern technology and coordination of our facility. We provide an aggressive in-service training calendar designed to meet this goal.

Statutory Authority

The statutory authority for the Council is derived from 20 V.S.A., Chapter 151, as amended.

Council Composition

The Council consists of the Commissioner of Public Safety, the Commissioner of Corrections, the Commissioner of Motor Vehicles, the Commissioner of Fish and Wildlife, the Attorney General, a member of the Vermont Trooper's Association, elected by that association, and a member of the Vermont Police Association, elected by that association. Five (5) members to represent law enforcement and the public are appointed by the Governor solicited from the Vermont State's Attorneys', Sheriffs', and Police Chiefs' Associations whose terms shall be for three (3) years.

2018 Council Meeting Dates

All meetings will be held at the Vermont Fire Academy in Pittsford Vermont at 9:00AM unless otherwise noted.

  • March 13 
  • June 12
  • September 11
  • December 11


Advanced Roadside Impaired Driving Enforcement (A.R.I.D.E)


Spillman Officer Training

  • October 23
  • December 4

Eventbrite - Spillman Officer Training


2018 Mandatory Domestic Violence Training-Digital Evidence

  • September 6
  • October 23
  • November 30
    • All dates have both an AM or PM option.

Eventbrite - 2018 Mandatory Domestic Violence Training-Digital Evidence


Basic Domestic Violence Training

  • November 27, 2018

Eventbrite -  Basic Domestic Violence Training


DUI Enforcement Certification

  • October 8 - October 12
  • November 26 - November 30

Eventbrite - DUI Enforcement Certification


Spillman Dispatcher Training

  • November 20

Eventbrite - Spillman Dispatcher Training


Basic MED/PR24 Training

  • November 1


Basic Use of Force and Tactics

Eventbrite - Basic Use of Force and Tactics


Advanced Roadside Impaired Driving Enforcement (A.R.I.D.E)


NHTSA Doppler Radar Operator Certification for Level II Officers & Waivers


2018 Mandatory Domestic Violence Training-Digital Evidence

  • September 6
  • October 23
  • November 30
    • All dates have both an AM or PM option.

Eventbrite - 2018 Mandatory Domestic Violence Training-Digital Evidence


Spillman Officer Training

  • October 23
  • December 4

Eventbrite - Spillman Officer Training


Crime Scene Investigation

  • October 19

Eventbrite - Crime Scene Investigation for Level II Officers and Waivers


DUI Enforcement Certification

  • October 8 - October 12
  • November 26 - November 30

Eventbrite - DUI Enforcement Certification


Vin Verification

  • October 5

Eventbrite - VIN Verification


Fingerprint Certification

  • October 5

Eventbrite - Fingerprinting Certification


DUI Check Point Supervisor Class

  • October 4

Eventbrite - DUI Check Point Supervisor Class


CTO Certification Course

  • October 3 - 4

Eventbrite - Communications Training Officer Certification Course


Our Mission

The mission of the Vermont Criminal Justice Training Council is to establish rules, policies, regulations and standards for certification and training of criminal justice personnel and to serve as a resource to municipalities, counties, and the state to improve the quality of citizen protection. We will accomplish our mission by developing a comprehensive program to provide high quality criminal justice training in a cooperative, efficient and effective manner through proper utilization of modern technology and coordination of our facility. We provide an aggressive in-service training calendar designed to meet this goal.

Statutory Authority

The statutory authority for the Council is derived from 20 V.S.A., Chapter 151, as amended.

Council Composition

The Council consists of the Commissioner of Public Safety, the Commissioner of Corrections, the Commissioner of Motor Vehicles, the Commissioner of Fish and Wildlife, the Attorney General, a member of the Vermont Trooper's Association, elected by that association, and a member of the Vermont Police Association, elected by that association. Five (5) members to represent law enforcement and the public are appointed by the Governor solicited from the Vermont State's Attorneys', Sheriffs', and Police Chiefs' Associations whose terms shall be for three (3) years.

2018 Council Meeting Dates

All meetings will be held at the Vermont Fire Academy in Pittsford Vermont at 9:00AM unless otherwise noted.

  • March 13 
  • June 12
  • September 11
  • December 11



Canine Patrol School


Gang Training - New England Street Level Gangs: Identifications, Observations, and Investigations

  • June 28, 2018 at 8:00 AM - Friday, June 29 2018 at Vermont Police Academy

 Identifications, Observations; and Investigations

The Vermont Police Academy is thrilled to have the New England Gang School provide this 2-day gang training to the Vermont law enforcement community. The training will focus on actual practices and presented in an easy to understand curriculum setting. The primary focus is on the recognition and understanding of gang activity, behavior, and investigations. It is noted the indicators of deception, criminal behavior, individual actions, or group conspiracy are the same regardless of the crime. And so, an understanding of the skills taught, can be applicable in any jurisdiction.

This course does not simply review unnecessary YouTube “shock” videos or focus on outdated materials from the west coast; nor is it franchised or borrowed. To the contrary, you will learn with specific purpose and focus on New England current trends that are applicable to you. The mission of the New England Gang School is to provide a fresh, current, and local, prospective on gang intervention with a focus on professionalism and future court case preparation. The training is presented in such a manner that truly respects the individual subjects of your investigations and encounters; thereby increasing your successes and minimizing your professional exposure and subsequent liability.

Introduction to Gangs and Gang Life: This blockof instruction will discuss the basics; however, it will be presented through a unique and more specific manner than a traditional Intro to Gangs course. Whether you are an experienced investigator or a relatively new officer, this course will introduce you to the kinds of practices, design, and identifiers of New England style gangs. The presentation will include actual “take-away” lessons that can be employed, rather than just a generic overview. This course aims to be unique in that it specifically addresses the kinds of local gangs you encounter in the course of your work; as they relate, or do not relate, to the national gangs more commonly discussed.

Characteristics of Armed Persons: The behavior of armed persons varies far beyond just “waistband adjustments” and “straight-arms.” There are specific behaviors that give cues regarding whether a weapon is carried, hidden, passed off, or gone, and the behaviors can vary from street encounters, to car stops, to bars, or house parties. All will be discussed. The recognition of armed persons, as well as the recognition of deception, is the fundamental building block to the recovery of firearms. This portion does not cover the defensive tactics or the use of force required to combat the presence of firearms, but rather, the types of identifiers that assist in the recognition, detection, and location of firearms.

Motorcycle Gangs: A look at how 1%er Motorcycle Gangs manifest here in New England. Many of the motorcycle gang courses we have all taken will often only discuss the national trends and the historical crimes. This course aims to cover that information as well, yet with attention to the manner in which the local bike gangs are organizing here.

Honor in Policing Gangs: This portion will discuss the reality of how the youth get drawn into the gangs before they even recognize where they are, and how this new “family” becomes, in many cases, the only option. This is a discussion based on the words of former and current gang members. The purpose of this portion is that it benefits us all to hear the role that law enforcement plays in a gang member’s personal story. And how those individual contacts that you have with gang suspects, can add up, and become as significant to them as any other life contacts that they have. It can be eye-opening to view the gang members’ perception of us, through the lens of our own actions. Ask yourself a question, “If the gang member you arrested today, were to turn their life around, and then write a book in 20 years… What kind of character would you be in that book?” Were you the "animal" who arrested them? Or were you the good cop who caught them? And can you be proud of your actions during your history of encounters with them?


Crime Scene Investigation

  • June 27
  • October 19

Eventbrite - Crime Scene Investigation for Level II Officers and Waivers


Spillman Dispatcher Training

  • June 26
  • July 10
  • November 20

Eventbrite - Spillman Dispatcher Training


  • Location: Burlington Highschool, Burlington Vermont.
  • Dates: June 26th and 27th.
  • Registration: Please click here to register.
  • In June of 2013, the Federal Department of Education significantly changed the recommended guidelines for how schools should prepare, train, and respond to an active shooter situation.  
    The Burlington Police Department embraces this standard of care and will be hosting Active Shooter Certification Training (ALICE Training) on June 26 & 27, 2018 at the Burlington High School in Burlington, Vermont. This certification is a two day train-the-trainer class on active shooter response management.  

    ALICE – Alert, Lockdown, Inform, Counter, Evacuate – is a set of proactive strategies that moves beyond lockdown and increases the chance of survival during a violent intruder event. ALICE is supported by more than 700 law enforcement agencies around the country and complies with the new standard of care recently developed by the Federal Department of Education, the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI), Department of Homeland Security
    (DHS), and the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA).
    ALICE isn’t only for school personnel. Anyone who works with the public can benefit from ALICE training. Attendees range from first responders, business owners, and health professionals.
    Please visit http://bit.ly/DoE-K12-Guidelines to learn more about the Department of Education’s guidelines on active shooter situations. 

     

    The purpose of advanced ALICE training is to educate local and school-based law enforcement, as well as church, hospital, and workplace administrators and safety professionals about our researched-based, proactive response approach to Violent Intruder events.

    The ALICE training program is designed to supplement current "Lock-down" or "Secure-in-Place" procedures used frequently in our public schools and institutions. Tragic historic events have dictated the need of enhanced response options to increase chances of surviving a horrific event.

    Program Topic Areas Include:

    Policy and Procedures Review

    • Instruction on key components of an organized and thoughtful Active Shooter Emergency Operations
    Plan with emphasis on Survival Strategies.
    • Elicit Active Shooter Readiness Status of their specific institutions, and determine where their
    strength and weaknesses lie.
    •      Distinguish between high and low priority issues when advising policy and procedure
    revisions.

    Infrastructure Design

    •     Recognize potential Safety Hazards in building design.
    •     Design room layouts with priority on Active Shooter defense.
    •     Understand immediate methods to improve infra-structure hazards.

    Proactive Use of Technology

    •     Current technology resources available to enhance building/occupant safety.
    •     Current accepted practices utilizing technology in building/occupant safety.
    •     Discuss proactive uses of technology for building/occupant safety by interfering with intruder's
           ability to locate targets.
    •     Review case studies of past events to determine functionality of technology usage.

    Practical Scenario Training

    •     Conduct practical scenario training in order to experience, visualize, and reinforce course
    concepts.

    Community Resource Assistance

    •     Locate and elicit community assistance before, during, and after event.
    •     Demonstrate ability to locate Community Rally Points.
    •     Discuss potential Community Partners, and the assistance they can provide.
    •     How to liaison with other local government agencies.

    Mass Evacuations

    •     Discuss Rapid Mass Evacuation plans.
    • Discuss tactical advantages associated with maintaining distance vs. securing-in- place and/or
    barricading.
    •      Identify non-conventional methods of mobilizing large numbers of people.

    Lesson Preparation

    • Participants will be required to build and present a 10 minute presentation to demonstrate
    material comprehension.
    •      Review and Exam


Gang Training - New England Street Level Gangs: Identifications, Observations, and Investigations

  • June 26, 2018-  June 27, 2018 at Camp Johnson, Colchester Vermont.

 Identifications, Observations, and Investigations

The Vermont Police Academy is thrilled to have the New England Gang School provide this 2-day gang training to the Vermont law enforcement community. The training will focus on actual practices and presented in an easy to understand curriculum setting. The primary focus is on the recognition and understanding of gang activity, behavior, and investigations. It is noted the indicators of deception, criminal behavior, individual actions, or group conspiracy are the same regardless of the crime. And so, an understanding of the skills taught, can be applicable in any jurisdiction.

This course does not simply review unnecessary YouTube “shock” videos or focus on outdated materials from the west coast; nor is it franchised or borrowed. To the contrary, you will learn with specific purpose and focus on New England current trends that are applicable to you. The mission of the New England Gang School is to provide a fresh, current, and local, prospective on gang intervention with a focus on professionalism and future court case preparation. The training is presented in such a manner that truly respects the individual subjects of your investigations and encounters; thereby increasing your successes and minimizing your professional exposure and subsequent liability.

Introduction to Gangs and Gang Life: This blockof instruction will discuss the basics; however, it will be presented through a unique and more specific manner than a traditional Intro to Gangs course. Whether you are an experienced investigator or a relatively new officer, this course will introduce you to the kinds of practices, design, and identifiers of New England style gangs. The presentation will include actual “take-away” lessons that can be employed, rather than just a generic overview. This course aims to be unique in that it specifically addresses the kinds of local gangs you encounter in the course of your work; as they relate, or do not relate, to the national gangs more commonly discussed.

Characteristics of Armed Persons: The behavior of armed persons varies far beyond just “waistband adjustments” and “straight-arms.” There are specific behaviors that give cues regarding whether a weapon is carried, hidden, passed off, or gone, and the behaviors can vary from street encounters, to car stops, to bars, or house parties. All will be discussed. The recognition of armed persons, as well as the recognition of deception, is the fundamental building block to the recovery of firearms. This portion does not cover the defensive tactics or the use of force required to combat the presence of firearms, but rather, the types of identifiers that assist in the recognition, detection, and location of firearms.

Motorcycle Gangs: A look at how 1%er Motorcycle Gangs manifest here in New England. Many of the motorcycle gang courses we have all taken will often only discuss the national trends and the historical crimes. This course aims to cover that information as well, yet with attention to the manner in which the local bike gangs are organizing here.

Honor in Policing Gangs: This portion will discuss the reality of how the youth get drawn into the gangs before they even recognize where they are, and how this new “family” becomes, in many cases, the only option. This is a discussion based on the words of former and current gang members. The purpose of this portion is that it benefits us all to hear the role that law enforcement plays in a gang member’s personal story. And how those individual contacts that you have with gang suspects, can add up, and become as significant to them as any other life contacts that they have. It can be eye-opening to view the gang members’ perception of us, through the lens of our own actions. Ask yourself a question, “If the gang member you arrested today, were to turn their life around, and then write a book in 20 years… What kind of character would you be in that book?” Were you the "animal" who arrested them? Or were you the good cop who caught them? And can you be proud of your actions during your history of encounters with them?


  • June 20 at Springfield Fire Department

Eventbrite - 2018 Mandatory Domestic Violence Training-Digital Evidence-SPRINGFIELD


Communications Training Officer Certification Course

  • June 20th - 21st
  • October 3rd - 4th

Eventbrite - Communications Training Officer Certification Course


June 18 -  June 22 Click to Register


Our Mission

The mission of the Vermont Criminal Justice Training Council is to establish rules, policies, regulations and standards for certification and training of criminal justice personnel and to serve as a resource to municipalities, counties, and the state to improve the quality of citizen protection. We will accomplish our mission by developing a comprehensive program to provide high quality criminal justice training in a cooperative, efficient and effective manner through proper utilization of modern technology and coordination of our facility. We provide an aggressive in-service training calendar designed to meet this goal.

Statutory Authority

The statutory authority for the Council is derived from 20 V.S.A., Chapter 151, as amended.

Council Composition

The Council consists of the Commissioner of Public Safety, the Commissioner of Corrections, the Commissioner of Motor Vehicles, the Commissioner of Fish and Wildlife, the Attorney General, a member of the Vermont Trooper's Association, elected by that association, and a member of the Vermont Police Association, elected by that association. Five (5) members to represent law enforcement and the public are appointed by the Governor solicited from the Vermont State's Attorneys', Sheriffs', and Police Chiefs' Associations whose terms shall be for three (3) years.

2018 Council Meeting Dates

All meetings will be held at the Vermont Fire Academy in Pittsford Vermont at 9:00AM unless otherwise noted.

  • March 13 
  • June 12
  • September 11
  • December 11


Our Mission

The mission of the Vermont Criminal Justice Training Council is to establish rules, policies, regulations and standards for certification and training of criminal justice personnel and to serve as a resource to municipalities, counties, and the state to improve the quality of citizen protection. We will accomplish our mission by developing a comprehensive program to provide high quality criminal justice training in a cooperative, efficient and effective manner through proper utilization of modern technology and coordination of our facility. We provide an aggressive in-service training calendar designed to meet this goal.

Statutory Authority

The statutory authority for the Council is derived from 20 V.S.A., Chapter 151, as amended.

Council Composition

The Council consists of the Commissioner of Public Safety, the Commissioner of Corrections, the Commissioner of Motor Vehicles, the Commissioner of Fish and Wildlife, the Attorney General, a member of the Vermont Trooper's Association, elected by that association, and a member of the Vermont Police Association, elected by that association. Five (5) members to represent law enforcement and the public are appointed by the Governor solicited from the Vermont State's Attorneys', Sheriffs', and Police Chiefs' Associations whose terms shall be for three (3) years.

2018 Council Meeting Dates

All meetings will be held at the Vermont Fire Academy in Pittsford Vermont at 9:00AM unless otherwise noted.

  • March 13 
  • June 12
  • September 11
  • December 11



The Council is undergoing the process of revising Administrative Rule 07-027 - Vermont Criminal Justice Training Council Rules & Regulations.  The proposed revisions are primarily designed to conform the Rules to recent statutory amendments, but also serve to update standards for Vermont Police Academy operation and law enforcement officer certification and training.  The current version of the rules can be viewed here:

 

https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=fc244c2f-85c5-4c30-b83d-5483ccc92f72&scrollreferenceid=&nodeid=AASAACAABAAB&config=00JAA3YmIxY2M5OC0zYmJjLTQ4ZjMtYjY3Yi02ODZhMTViYWUzMmEKAFBvZENhdGFsb2dfKuGXoJFNHKuKZG9OqaaI&pddocfullpath=%2fshared%2fdocument%2fadministrative-codes%2furn%3acontentItem%3a5R2M-H3N0-00C2-9134-00008-00&ecomp=-kc_kkk&prid=e7f3220c-5787-4670-a924-c5a827dce2c5

 

Proposed rule changes can be viewed here

 

A public hearing will be held at the Vermont Police Academy (317 Academy Road – Pittsford, Vermont) on Tuesday, January 23rd from 6:00 – 8:00 p.m.  Comments will be taken, along with an additional 10 – day period following the hearing.    


Our Mission

The mission of the Vermont Criminal Justice Training Council is to establish rules, policies, regulations and standards for certification and training of criminal justice personnel and to serve as a resource to municipalities, counties, and the state to improve the quality of citizen protection. We will accomplish our mission by developing a comprehensive program to provide high quality criminal justice training in a cooperative, efficient and effective manner through proper utilization of modern technology and coordination of our facility. We provide an aggressive in-service training calendar designed to meet this goal.

Statutory Authority

The statutory authority for the Council is derived from 20 V.S.A., Chapter 151, as amended.

Council Composition

The Council consists of the Commissioner of Public Safety, the Commissioner of Corrections, the Commissioner of Motor Vehicles, the Commissioner of Fish and Wildlife, the Attorney General, a member of the Vermont Trooper's Association, elected by that association, and a member of the Vermont Police Association, elected by that association. Five (5) members to represent law enforcement and the public are appointed by the Governor solicited from the Vermont State's Attorneys', Sheriffs', and Police Chiefs' Associations whose terms shall be for three (3) years.

2017 Council Meeting Dates

All meetings will be held at the Vermont Fire Academy in Pittsford Vermont at 9:00AM unless otherwise noted.

  • March 15 - at Vermont Police Academy, Classroom 2
  • June 15
  • September 12
  • December 12


Advanced Roadside Impaired Driving Enforcement (A.R.I.D.E.)

  • Coordinator: Leslie Bodette
  • Length of course: 16 hours
  • Course hours: 0800 - 1600
  • Dates and Locations:                                                                                                                                                                                                                      
    • February 8 & 9 (Location TBD)
    • April 5 & 6 at Lyndon State College, Harvey Academic Center, Room #111, St. Johnsbury
    • June 13 & 14 at the Vermont Fire Academy (on the same property as the Vermont Police Academy)
    • August 22 & 23 at VSP – Westminster barracks  
    • Oct 3 & 4 at Colchester PD
    • Dec 6 & 7 at the Vermont Police Academy
  • Tuition: 
    • Free for all Vermont Officers
    • Tuition for Out of State Officers:
      • $13.00 regionally (lunch is on your own)                                                                                            
      • $48.50 commuting to the VPA (lunch included)                                                                                  
      • $67.00 overnight @ VPA (breakfast, 2 lunches, and dinner included)

 

Course Description

This course is designed to assist officers in becoming more proficient  detecting and  apprehending,  impaired drivers. Upon completion of this training,  officers will be  capable of detecting impairment caused by substances other than alcohol.  All candidates must currently be actively involved in impaired driving enforcement.

Officers MUST be highly skilled in the administration and interpretation of  SFSTs.  Your proficiency will be tested by certified SFST Instructors.  SFSTs are strongly emphasized and you can expect to increase your skill level in using these tests after taking this course. 

This training is an essential tool for officers dedicated to saving lives by removing impaired drivers from our roads. In addition, knowledge and skills obtained during  A.R.I.D.E.  will facilitate better communication and transfer of critical roadside indicators of impairment to the Drug Recognition Expert (DRE) who may be called for a more complete and accurate assessment of impairment. For those considering the pursuit of DRE training, A.R.I.D.E. will serve as a career path step towards achieving that goal


NHTSA Doppler Radar Operator Certification

This course is offered approximately four times each year at the academy, two of which are during Post-Basic classes, resulting in limited seating. Regional trainings may also occur throughout the year.

  • Coordinator:            Leslie Bodette
  • Length of Course: 8 hours
  • Course hours:         0800-1600
  • Date/Location:       
    • April 27, 2017 VPA
    • May 31, 2017 VPA (Post-Basic, Limited Seating)
    • September 28, 2017 VPA
    • November 22, 2017 VPA (Post-Basic, Limited Seating)
  • Tuition: None if initial training for Vermont law enforcement officers.
    • Repeat/audit - $22.00 @ the Vermont Police Academy (includes lunch and materials), $6.50 off-campus (includes materials).
  • Registration: Fax the in-service registration form (Word or PDF) to 802-483-2343 or email it to our registrar at gail.williams@vermont.gov

This course delivered by VCJTC certified Instructors is designed to provide police officers with the necessary certification to set-up, test, and operate radar devices for speed measurement. The eight-hour class which includes both classroom and field experience provides the officer with the knowledge and skills to operate both stationary and moving radar. The following topics are presented: Doppler theory; VT statutory and case law regarding speed enforcement; operation of specific speed measurement devices; and courtroom testimony.


NHTSA Laser Operator Certification

This course is offered approximately four times each year at the academy, two of which are during Post-Basic classes, resulting in limited seating. Regional trainings may also occur throughout the year.

  • Coordinator:            Leslie Bodette
  • Length of course: 8 hours
  • Course hours:         0800 - 1600
  • Dates/Location:     
    • May 22, 2017 VPA
    • June 15, 2017 VPA (Post-Basic, Limited seating)
    • November 1, 2017 VPA
    • TBD (in December 2017, Post-Basic, Limited Seating)
  • Tuition: None if initial training for Vermont law enforcement officers.
    • Repeat/audit - $22.00 @ the Vermont Police Academy (includes lunch and materials), $6.50 off-campus (includes materials).
  • Registration: Fax the in-service registration form (Word or PDF) to 802-483-2343 or email it to our registrar at gail.williams@vermont.gov
    • National Highway Traffic Safety Administration Certification course. This course provides officers training in the setup, testing and operation of any LASER speed measuring device.
    • Participant is urged to bring a Laser device to class.
    • Four hours in classroom.
    • Four hours supervised practical training. (Officers should be in uniform and prepared for traffic enforcement.)


  • Coordinator: Leslie Bodette
  • Length of course: 16 hours
  • Course hours: 0800 – 1630 
  • Date: October 25 - 26, 2017
  • Location: Vermont Police Academy
  • Tuition: Commuting - $50.50 (includes materials and lunch), Overnight - $90.50 (Includes materials, lodging, and meals).
  • Registration: Fax the in-service registration form (Word or PDF) to 802-483-2343 or email it to our registrar at gail.williams@vermont.gov

This fundamental training course will provide the new part-time officer with a familiarization of accident/crash reporting requirements and form completion. A mock scene will be utilized to demonstrate the measurement and diagramming techniques. Additional scene management will emphasize traffic control, preservation of evidence and witness identification.


Use of Force Committee

Meeting Dates:

  • April 12th
  • July 26th
  • October 11th

Coordinated by Jason Williams, Training Coordinator

The UOF Committee is composed of troopers, officers, wardens, and deputies from various agencies throughout the state and range in rank from Corporals to Chiefs.  The committee members are appointed by the Executive Director of the Vermont Police Academy.  These members are considered to be advanced and very knowledgeable in their fields of training.  These fields include: firearms, non-lethal use of force, baton, rifle, and oleoresin capsicum.  The committee is overseen by an academy representative and has an elected chairman.

The committee has many responsibilities included in its purview.  Listed below are some of the responsibilities, which also may include any issues brought forth by the Executive Director for review.

  1. Reviewing/recommending curriculum for use of force classes for the basic programs and instructor programs.
  2. Providing guidance to instructors throughout the state in their use of force training.
  3. Recommend changes and improvements to the facility for use of force training.
  4. Recommend minimum standards for use of force instructors.
  5. Providing input for implementation of programs related to use of force.
  6. Reviewing special requests of use of force instructor recertification packets that are not standard.

Members

  • Chair: Donald Keeler, Sheriff, Addison County Sheriff's Office
  • Vice Chair: Drew Bloom, Captain, VT DMV
  • Scott Fisher, Officer, Middlebury PD
  • Russell Shopland, Warden, VT Dept of FandW
  • Robbie Blish, Chief, Woodstock PD
  • Lianne Tuomey, Chief, UVM Police Services
  • Walter Smith, Lt., VSP
  • Michael Akerlind, Cpl., Colchester PD
  • Matthew Murano, Sgt., Wilmington PD
  • George (Randy) Crowe, Sgt., Bristol PD
  • Randy Lopes, Cpl., Burlington PD
  • Eugene Duplissis Sgt., Vermont State Police
  • Wade Johnson, Vermont Department of Corrections


Advanced Roadside Impaired Driving Enforcement (A.R.I.D.E.)

  • Coordinator: Leslie Bodette
  • Length of course: 16 hours
  • Course hours: 0800 - 1600
  • Dates and Locations:                                                                                                                                                                                                                      
    • February 8 & 9 (Location TBD)
    • April 5 & 6 at Lyndon State College, Harvey Academic Center, Room #111, St. Johnsbury
    • June 13 & 14 at the Vermont Fire Academy (on the same property as the Vermont Police Academy)
    • August 22 & 23 at VSP – Westminster barracks  
    • Oct 3 & 4 at Colchester PD
    • Dec 6 & 7 at the Vermont Police Academy
  • Tuition: 
    • Free for all Vermont Officers
    • Tuition for Out of State Officers:
      • $13.00 regionally (lunch is on your own)                                                                                            
      • $48.50 commuting to the VPA (lunch included)                                                                                  
      • $67.00 overnight @ VPA (breakfast, 2 lunches, and dinner included)

 

Course Description

This course is designed to assist officers in becoming more proficient  detecting and  apprehending,  impaired drivers. Upon completion of this training,  officers will be  capable of detecting impairment caused by substances other than alcohol.  All candidates must currently be actively involved in impaired driving enforcement.

Officers MUST be highly skilled in the administration and interpretation of  SFSTs.  Your proficiency will be tested by certified SFST Instructors.  SFSTs are strongly emphasized and you can expect to increase your skill level in using these tests after taking this course. 

This training is an essential tool for officers dedicated to saving lives by removing impaired drivers from our roads. In addition, knowledge and skills obtained during  A.R.I.D.E.  will facilitate better communication and transfer of critical roadside indicators of impairment to the Drug Recognition Expert (DRE) who may be called for a more complete and accurate assessment of impairment. For those considering the pursuit of DRE training, A.R.I.D.E. will serve as a career path step towards achieving that goal


NHTSA Doppler Radar Operator Certification

This course is offered approximately four times each year at the academy, two of which are during Post-Basic classes, resulting in limited seating. Regional trainings may also occur throughout the year.

  • Coordinator:            Leslie Bodette
  • Length of Course: 8 hours
  • Course hours:         0800-1600
  • Date/Location:       
    • April 27, 2017 VPA
    • May 31, 2017 VPA (Post-Basic, Limited Seating)
    • September 28, 2017 VPA
    • November 22, 2017 VPA (Post-Basic, Limited Seating)
  • Tuition: None if initial training for Vermont law enforcement officers.
    • Repeat/audit - $22.00 @ the Vermont Police Academy (includes lunch and materials), $6.50 off-campus (includes materials).
  • Registration: Fax the in-service registration form (Word or PDF) to 802-483-2343 or email it to our registrar at gail.williams@vermont.gov

This course delivered by VCJTC certified Instructors is designed to provide police officers with the necessary certification to set-up, test, and operate radar devices for speed measurement. The eight-hour class which includes both classroom and field experience provides the officer with the knowledge and skills to operate both stationary and moving radar. The following topics are presented: Doppler theory; VT statutory and case law regarding speed enforcement; operation of specific speed measurement devices; and courtroom testimony.


  • Coordinator: Jenn Firpo
  • Length of course: 8 hours
  • Course hours: 0800 – 1630 hours
  • Location: Vermont Police Academy
  • Dates:
    • Wednesday, April 5, 2017  
    • Monday, June 21, 2017          
    • Wednesday, September 27, 2017   
  • Tuition: None, if initial certification. Repeat/audit - $20.50

Registration

 Fax the in-service registration form (Word or PDF) to 802-483-2343 or email it to our registrar at gail.williams@vermont.gov

Course Description

Responding to reports of domestic violence continue to pose high risks and deep frustrations to police.

During this training, officers will review and, in the case of a new officer, learn the fundamentals on how to most effectively respond to domestic violence incidents, to include, reviewing:

  • The dynamics of domestic violence
  • Domestic violence related Vermont statutes and relevant case law
  • The investigation and creation of solid domestic violence cases for prosecutorial purposes
  •  Local and state resources for victims/survivors of domestic violence
  •  Dominant aggressor determination
  • Types of Vermont protection orders, their service, and enforcement

This course fulfills the domestic violence training requirement for:

  1. Persons going through the part-time police officer process
  2. Waiver officers.


  • Coordinator: Jenn Firpo
  • Length of course: 7 hours
  • Course hours: 0800 – 1600 hours
  • Location: Vermont Police Academy
  • Date:  September 25, 2017
  • Tuition: $20.00
  • Registration: Fax the in-service registration form (Word or PDF) to 802-483-2343 or email it to our registrar at gail.williams@vermont.gov

To attend this class: You must have attended a prior workshop on investigating animal cruelty in Vermont.  One that has been sponsored by the Vermont Humane Federation’s Animal Cruelty Response Coalition or attended the Vermont Police Academy’s “Animal Cruelty Investigation – Level I” (this class is being offered this year on August 31, 2016).

This advanced workshop on animal cruelty investigations will focus on more specialized topics in animal cruelty investigation, including:

  • Animal husbandry practices: walking the fine line between education and seizure;
  • Working with the Agency of Agriculture on livestock complaints;
  •  The investigation of equine cruelty complaints;
  • Animal hoarding: handling large-scale animal cruelty investigations.
  • Handling wildlife cruelty complaints

Participants must bring with them their Animal Cruelty Investigation Manual.   

Please Note: Persons who currently own the "Animal Cruelty Investigator’s Manual” (1st, 2nd or 3rd edition) and are interested in purchasing the newly released 4th edition of this manual... please indicate so when registering.  Manual cost is $35.00.


Supervising Sobriety Checkpoints

  • Coordinator: Leslie Bodette
  • Length of Course: 5 hours
  • Course Hours: 1500 to 2000 hours
  • Date & Location: September 21, 2017 at Rutland Police Department
  • Tuition: Commute - $16.50 (dinner is included)
  • Registration: Fax the in-service registration form (Word or PDF) to 802-483-2343 or email it to our registrar at gail.williams@vermont.gov

This course will familiarize the student with the general aspects of coordinating a Traffic Enforcement Program within their agency.

Topics will include:

  •  Vermont Highway Safety issues and priorities
  •  Grant procurement and administration
  •  Crash data analysis and using it to justify your program
  •  State and National programs
  • Role of the traffic supervisor
  • DUI/Sobriety checkpoint law
  • Using the media effectively
  • Principles of traffic enforcement
  • Canine operations and checkpoints

 

As we in Vermont realize, it is getting increasingly difficult to “do more with less.” This course will prepare the student to coordinate local and county-wide initiatives to further our primary highway safety goal of reducing deaths and injuries on our roadways. An actual sobriety checkpoint will be set up at the end of the lesson so Department uniforms MUST be worn to this training.


Our Mission

The mission of the Vermont Criminal Justice Training Council is to establish rules, policies, regulations and standards for certification and training of criminal justice personnel and to serve as a resource to municipalities, counties, and the state to improve the quality of citizen protection. We will accomplish our mission by developing a comprehensive program to provide high quality criminal justice training in a cooperative, efficient and effective manner through proper utilization of modern technology and coordination of our facility. We provide an aggressive in-service training calendar designed to meet this goal.

Statutory Authority

The statutory authority for the Council is derived from 20 V.S.A., Chapter 151, as amended.

Council Composition

The Council consists of the Commissioner of Public Safety, the Commissioner of Corrections, the Commissioner of Motor Vehicles, the Commissioner of Fish and Wildlife, the Attorney General, a member of the Vermont Trooper's Association, elected by that association, and a member of the Vermont Police Association, elected by that association. Five (5) members to represent law enforcement and the public are appointed by the Governor solicited from the Vermont State's Attorneys', Sheriffs', and Police Chiefs' Associations whose terms shall be for three (3) years.

2017 Council Meeting Dates

All meetings will be held at the Vermont Fire Academy in Pittsford Vermont at 9:00AM unless otherwise noted.

  • March 15 - at Vermont Police Academy, Classroom 2
  • June 15
  • September 12
  • December 12


  • Coordinator: Jenn Firpo
  • Length of course: 7 hours
  • Course hours: 0800 – 1600 hours
  • Location: Vermont Police Academy
  • Date:  September 6, 2017
  • Tuition: $53.00 (Includes materials and lunch)
  • Registration: Fax the in-service registration form (Word or PDF) to 802-483-2343 or email it to our registrar at gail.williams@vermont.gov

This introductory workshop on investigating animal cruelty will cover all the basics of an investigation, including, but not limited to:

  • A review of Vermont’s criminal animal cruelty statute;
  • The needed elements for a strong animal cruelty criminal investigation
  • Interview and interrogation techniques
  • Report writing
  • Using expert witnesses
  • Evidence collection
  • Search warrant procedure; and
  • A review of resources available at the local, state and national level to assist in responding to incidents of animal cruelty.

This course will also review Vermont’s Cruelty Response System (CRS) and the CRS web-based case management system, Animal Tracks.  The Vermont Animal Cruelty Response Coalition and the CRS were formed to facilitate cross-agency collaboration and communication in order to more effectively respond to animal cruelty complaints, with an emphasis on accountability and follow up


Advanced Roadside Impaired Driving Enforcement (A.R.I.D.E.)

  • Coordinator: Leslie Bodette
  • Length of course: 16 hours
  • Course hours: 0800 - 1600
  • Dates and Locations:                                                                                                                                                                                                                      
    • February 8 & 9 (Location TBD)
    • April 5 & 6 at Lyndon State College, Harvey Academic Center, Room #111, St. Johnsbury
    • June 13 & 14 at the Vermont Fire Academy (on the same property as the Vermont Police Academy)
    • August 22 & 23 at VSP – Westminster barracks  
    • Oct 3 & 4 at Colchester PD
    • Dec 6 & 7 at the Vermont Police Academy
  • Tuition: 
    • Free for all Vermont Officers
    • Tuition for Out of State Officers:
      • $13.00 regionally (lunch is on your own)                                                                                            
      • $48.50 commuting to the VPA (lunch included)                                                                                  
      • $67.00 overnight @ VPA (breakfast, 2 lunches, and dinner included)

 

Course Description

This course is designed to assist officers in becoming more proficient  detecting and  apprehending,  impaired drivers. Upon completion of this training,  officers will be  capable of detecting impairment caused by substances other than alcohol.  All candidates must currently be actively involved in impaired driving enforcement.

Officers MUST be highly skilled in the administration and interpretation of  SFSTs.  Your proficiency will be tested by certified SFST Instructors.  SFSTs are strongly emphasized and you can expect to increase your skill level in using these tests after taking this course. 

This training is an essential tool for officers dedicated to saving lives by removing impaired drivers from our roads. In addition, knowledge and skills obtained during  A.R.I.D.E.  will facilitate better communication and transfer of critical roadside indicators of impairment to the Drug Recognition Expert (DRE) who may be called for a more complete and accurate assessment of impairment. For those considering the pursuit of DRE training, A.R.I.D.E. will serve as a career path step towards achieving that goal


July 28, 2017 at 8:00 AM
Vermont Police Academy - 317 Academy Road - Classroom 3 - Pittsford 05763


This is a physically demanding training course and participants must be injury free and in good physical condition before entering the course.  

Tuition is free for all Vermont Law Enforcement Officer candidates who are sponsored by a Vermont Law Enforcement Agency and are pursuing level I or Level II law enforcement certification.

You must be sponsored and employed by a law enforcement agency to attend this course.

You must be certified in MDTS prior to your attendance at this course, either through a Police Academy or home agency course. 

Note: Gym attire to include gym shoes, duty belt, baton and handcuffs and cuff key are required for this course.

This course is designed to provide officers with the basics in the use and justification for the use of the Monadnock Expandable Baton or the PR 24. This course consists of classroom lecture, gym-work and scenario-based training. 

Successful completion of the course will require the student to attend the full blocks of training as well as pass written and proficiency testing for basic MEB or PR24 instruction.

Written testing requires a minimum score of 80% to pass and proficiency testing requires 100% acceptable score on the Minimal Acceptable Performance Standards set forth by Safariland and the VCJTC.

 

Effective 1 January, 2014 per Council ruling, all persons seeking certification as law enforcement officers after that date must attend and successfully complete a Council approved training course for MDTS before receiving Level I, II or III law enforcement certification. The four-hour handcuff training provided during the Level I and II basic certification course does not meet this requirement, and only gives them the authority to carry and use handcuffs under the guidelines set forth in the provisional certification for Levels I or II. Officers must also attend and successfully complete a Council approved baton and/or Oleoresin Capsicum aerosol projector course before having the authority to carry and use a baton and/or OC. This course meets the minimum requirements under this new rule.


Use of Force Committee

Meeting Dates:

  • April 12th
  • July 26th
  • October 11th

Coordinated by Jason Williams, Training Coordinator

The UOF Committee is composed of troopers, officers, wardens, and deputies from various agencies throughout the state and range in rank from Corporals to Chiefs.  The committee members are appointed by the Executive Director of the Vermont Police Academy.  These members are considered to be advanced and very knowledgeable in their fields of training.  These fields include: firearms, non-lethal use of force, baton, rifle, and oleoresin capsicum.  The committee is overseen by an academy representative and has an elected chairman.

The committee has many responsibilities included in its purview.  Listed below are some of the responsibilities, which also may include any issues brought forth by the Executive Director for review.

  1. Reviewing/recommending curriculum for use of force classes for the basic programs and instructor programs.
  2. Providing guidance to instructors throughout the state in their use of force training.
  3. Recommend changes and improvements to the facility for use of force training.
  4. Recommend minimum standards for use of force instructors.
  5. Providing input for implementation of programs related to use of force.
  6. Reviewing special requests of use of force instructor recertification packets that are not standard.

Members

  • Chair: Donald Keeler, Sheriff, Addison County Sheriff's Office
  • Vice Chair: Drew Bloom, Captain, VT DMV
  • Scott Fisher, Officer, Middlebury PD
  • Russell Shopland, Warden, VT Dept of FandW
  • Robbie Blish, Chief, Woodstock PD
  • Lianne Tuomey, Chief, UVM Police Services
  • Walter Smith, Lt., VSP
  • Michael Akerlind, Cpl., Colchester PD
  • Matthew Murano, Sgt., Wilmington PD
  • George (Randy) Crowe, Sgt., Bristol PD
  • Randy Lopes, Cpl., Burlington PD
  • Eugene Duplissis Sgt., Vermont State Police
  • Wade Johnson, Vermont Department of Corrections


This is a physically demanding training course and participants must be injury free and in good physical condition before entering the course.  

Tuition is free for all Vermont Law Enforcement Officer candidates who are sponsored by a Vermont Law Enforcement Agency and are pursuing level I or Level II law enforcement certification.

You must be sponsored and employed by a law enforcement agency to attend this course.

Note: Gym attire to include gym shoes, duty belt, baton and handcuffs and cuff key are required for this course.

This course is designed to provide officers with the basics for self-protection and control and/or restraint of adversaries.  This course consists of classroom lecture, gym-work and scenario-based training. 

Successful completion of the course will require the student to attend the full blocks of training as well as pass written and proficiency testing for basic MDTS certification.

Written testing requires a minimum score of 80% to pass and proficiency testing requires 100% acceptable score on the Minimal Acceptable Performance Standards set forth by Safariland and the VCJTC.

 

Effective 1 January, 2014 per Council ruling, all persons seeking certification as law enforcement officers after that date must attend and successfully complete a Council approved training course for MDTS before receiving Level I, II or III law enforcement certification. The four-hour handcuff training provided during the Level I and II basic certification course does not meet this requirement, and only gives them the authority to carry and use handcuffs under the guidelines set forth in the provisional certification for Levels I or II. Officers must also attend and successfully complete a Council approved baton and/or Oleoresin Capsicum aerosol projector course before having the authority to carry and use a baton and/or OC. This course meets the minimum requirements under this new rule.


July 25, 2017 at 8:00 AM
Vermont Police Academy - 317 Academy Road - Pittsford, VT 05763


The Spillman Pre-Training Checklist is a new required form that must be completed and submitted prior to attending this Course. Instructions for this form can be found here.

This class is only mandatory for officers requiring access to add/modify Names, Vehicle, Property tables. Access to Narratives is allowed by default. As such it is offered bi-monthly.

  1. Introduction to the Spillman System
  2. Log on / off
  3. Names Table Search
  4. Names Table Entry
  5. Vehicle/Property Search and Entry
  6. Law Incident Entry and Modification
  7. Narrative Entry

https://www.eventbrite.com/e/spillman-officer-training-tickets-34514734…


NRA Pistol/Shotgun Instructor Course

  • Coordinator:  Jason Williams
  • Length of Course: 5 days (approximately 44 hours)
  • Course hours:  0800 - 1700
  • Date/Location:  17 – 21 July, 2017 / Vermont Police Academy range and classroom 3
  • Tuition:  $645 payable directly to the NRA, plus an additional $37.50 payable to the Vermont Police Academy on the morning of the first day of the class for facility use and range fees for all students attending.                 
    • Meals and overnight lodging are also available at the academy for an additional cost of $215 for the week billed to you or your agency. 
    • Commuting students may elect to purchase lunch at the academy for $11.00 per meal payable in the dining facility each day.
  • Registration:  Visit the NRA website at http://le.nra.org/training/instructor-development-schools.aspx#schedule to register.  The Vermont Police Academy IS NOT accepting the registrations for this course.

The Vermont Criminal Justice Training Council and the National Rifle Association are teaming up to bring the New England area law enforcement community a combination pistol and shotgun instructor course to the academy on the 17th through the 21st of July, 2017.  The NRA has enjoyed a long history of providing high quality training to law enforcement officers across the country, and this course promises to deliver the same high level of training.  Please read the eligibility requirements carefully as set forth by the NRA by following the link in the registration section of this announcement.  This course is open to all “sworn” law enforcement officers and is not limited to firearms instructors; however current instructors are strongly encouraged to attend to enhance their skills.  This is also an excellent course for those who are interested in attending a VCJTC firearms instructor course in the future.  A link to the NRA’s webpage describing the class can be found here: http://le.nra.org/training/instructor-development-schools.aspx#schedule

Vermont officers:

This course does not meet the requirements set forth by the Council for VCJTC firearms instructor certification, and if attended, a potential instructor must still attend the VCJTC course for certification as a Firearms Instructor. 

The NRA’s course description is below, copied from their website:

Handgun/Shotgun Instructor
This school compresses the handgun instructor school to 3 days and adds 2 days of shotgun instructor training. Student classroom presentations, concealed-carry training, and unconventional shooting positions are replaced with shotgun marksmanship and handling classroom presentations and range work. Shotgun drills include firing from cover, use of kneeling and prone positions, moving targets, malfunction clearing, firing on the move, and transitioning to the handgun. In addition to the above mentioned required equipment, the following are ALSO necessary for this school:

  • Duty-type, law enforcement 12 gauge pump or semi-auto police shotgun equipped with a sling.
  • 900 rounds of duty or training handgun ammunition.
  • 50 rounds of duty or training 12 gauge slugs.
  • 20 rounds of duty or training 12 gauge 00 buckshot.
  • 100 rounds of birdshot (#6, #7½, #8 or #9).

A backup handgun is NOT required for this school.

The shotgun and buckshot must be capable of shooting a group no larger than 18 inches at 15 yards in order to pass the course.

Rifled shotgun barrels are inappropriate for this school and are not allowed.

Please direct all questions regarding prerequisites and course requirements to the NRA Law Enforcement training division at LE@nrahq.org .  All questions regarding the facility, meals and lodging can be directed to Jason.Williams@vermont.gov



Canine Basic Tracking

  • Length of Course: 240 hrs
  • Course Hours: 0800 – 1630 hrs
  • Location: Vermont Police Academy
  • Dates: July 10, 2017 - August 18, 2017
  • Tuition:
    • Commuting Student: $593.00
    • Overnight Student: $1553.00.

 

For further information email Canine T.C., Bob Ryan or call 802-483-6202.


  • Coordinator: Jenn Firpo
  • Length of course: 8 hours
  • Course hours: 0800 – 1630 hours
  • Location: Vermont Police Academy
  • Dates:
    • Wednesday, April 5, 2017  
    • Monday, June 21, 2017          
    • Wednesday, September 27, 2017   
  • Tuition: None, if initial certification. Repeat/audit - $20.50

Registration

 Fax the in-service registration form (Word or PDF) to 802-483-2343 or email it to our registrar at gail.williams@vermont.gov

Course Description

Responding to reports of domestic violence continue to pose high risks and deep frustrations to police.

During this training, officers will review and, in the case of a new officer, learn the fundamentals on how to most effectively respond to domestic violence incidents, to include, reviewing:

  • The dynamics of domestic violence
  • Domestic violence related Vermont statutes and relevant case law
  • The investigation and creation of solid domestic violence cases for prosecutorial purposes
  •  Local and state resources for victims/survivors of domestic violence
  •  Dominant aggressor determination
  • Types of Vermont protection orders, their service, and enforcement

This course fulfills the domestic violence training requirement for:

  1. Persons going through the part-time police officer process
  2. Waiver officers.


Wilderness Tracking

  • Length of Course: 40 hrs
  • Course Hours: 0800 – 1630 hrs
  • Location: Vermont Police Academy
  • Dates: June 19 - 23, 2017
  • Tuition:
    • ​Commuting Student: $143.00
    • Overnight Student: $303.00.
  • Prerequisite: Canine teams who have completed Basic Patrol or Basic Trailing School.

 

For further information email Canine T.C. Bob Ryan or call 802-483-6202.

 


NHTSA Laser Operator Certification

This course is offered approximately four times each year at the academy, two of which are during Post-Basic classes, resulting in limited seating. Regional trainings may also occur throughout the year.

  • Coordinator:            Leslie Bodette
  • Length of course: 8 hours
  • Course hours:         0800 - 1600
  • Dates/Location:     
    • May 22, 2017 VPA
    • June 15, 2017 VPA (Post-Basic, Limited seating)
    • November 1, 2017 VPA
    • TBD (in December 2017, Post-Basic, Limited Seating)
  • Tuition: None if initial training for Vermont law enforcement officers.
    • Repeat/audit - $22.00 @ the Vermont Police Academy (includes lunch and materials), $6.50 off-campus (includes materials).
  • Registration: Fax the in-service registration form (Word or PDF) to 802-483-2343 or email it to our registrar at gail.williams@vermont.gov
    • National Highway Traffic Safety Administration Certification course. This course provides officers training in the setup, testing and operation of any LASER speed measuring device.
    • Participant is urged to bring a Laser device to class.
    • Four hours in classroom.
    • Four hours supervised practical training. (Officers should be in uniform and prepared for traffic enforcement.)


Our Mission

The mission of the Vermont Criminal Justice Training Council is to establish rules, policies, regulations and standards for certification and training of criminal justice personnel and to serve as a resource to municipalities, counties, and the state to improve the quality of citizen protection. We will accomplish our mission by developing a comprehensive program to provide high quality criminal justice training in a cooperative, efficient and effective manner through proper utilization of modern technology and coordination of our facility. We provide an aggressive in-service training calendar designed to meet this goal.

Statutory Authority

The statutory authority for the Council is derived from 20 V.S.A., Chapter 151, as amended.

Council Composition

The Council consists of the Commissioner of Public Safety, the Commissioner of Corrections, the Commissioner of Motor Vehicles, the Commissioner of Fish and Wildlife, the Attorney General, a member of the Vermont Trooper's Association, elected by that association, and a member of the Vermont Police Association, elected by that association. Five (5) members to represent law enforcement and the public are appointed by the Governor solicited from the Vermont State's Attorneys', Sheriffs', and Police Chiefs' Associations whose terms shall be for three (3) years.

2017 Council Meeting Dates

All meetings will be held at the Vermont Fire Academy in Pittsford Vermont at 9:00AM unless otherwise noted.

  • March 15 - at Vermont Police Academy, Classroom 2
  • June 15
  • September 12
  • December 12


Advanced Roadside Impaired Driving Enforcement (A.R.I.D.E.)

  • Coordinator: Leslie Bodette
  • Length of course: 16 hours
  • Course hours: 0800 - 1600
  • Dates and Locations:                                                                                                                                                                                                                      
    • February 8 & 9 (Location TBD)
    • April 5 & 6 at Lyndon State College, Harvey Academic Center, Room #111, St. Johnsbury
    • June 13 & 14 at the Vermont Fire Academy (on the same property as the Vermont Police Academy)
    • August 22 & 23 at VSP – Westminster barracks  
    • Oct 3 & 4 at Colchester PD
    • Dec 6 & 7 at the Vermont Police Academy
  • Tuition: 
    • Free for all Vermont Officers
    • Tuition for Out of State Officers:
      • $13.00 regionally (lunch is on your own)                                                                                            
      • $48.50 commuting to the VPA (lunch included)                                                                                  
      • $67.00 overnight @ VPA (breakfast, 2 lunches, and dinner included)

 

Course Description

This course is designed to assist officers in becoming more proficient  detecting and  apprehending,  impaired drivers. Upon completion of this training,  officers will be  capable of detecting impairment caused by substances other than alcohol.  All candidates must currently be actively involved in impaired driving enforcement.

Officers MUST be highly skilled in the administration and interpretation of  SFSTs.  Your proficiency will be tested by certified SFST Instructors.  SFSTs are strongly emphasized and you can expect to increase your skill level in using these tests after taking this course. 

This training is an essential tool for officers dedicated to saving lives by removing impaired drivers from our roads. In addition, knowledge and skills obtained during  A.R.I.D.E.  will facilitate better communication and transfer of critical roadside indicators of impairment to the Drug Recognition Expert (DRE) who may be called for a more complete and accurate assessment of impairment. For those considering the pursuit of DRE training, A.R.I.D.E. will serve as a career path step towards achieving that goal


Urban Tracking

  • Length of Course: 40 hrs
  • Course Hours: 0800 – 1630 hrs
  • Location: Vermont Police Academy
  • Date: June 5 - 9, 2017
  • Tuition:
    • ​Commuting Student: $143.00
    • Overnight Student: $303.00.
  • Prerequisite: Canine teams who have completed Basic Patrol or Basic Trailing School.

 

For further information email Canine T.C. Bob Ryan or call 802-483-6202.


NHTSA Doppler Radar Operator Certification

This course is offered approximately four times each year at the academy, two of which are during Post-Basic classes, resulting in limited seating. Regional trainings may also occur throughout the year.

  • Coordinator:            Leslie Bodette
  • Length of Course: 8 hours
  • Course hours:         0800-1600
  • Date/Location:       
    • April 27, 2017 VPA
    • May 31, 2017 VPA (Post-Basic, Limited Seating)
    • September 28, 2017 VPA
    • November 22, 2017 VPA (Post-Basic, Limited Seating)
  • Tuition: None if initial training for Vermont law enforcement officers.
    • Repeat/audit - $22.00 @ the Vermont Police Academy (includes lunch and materials), $6.50 off-campus (includes materials).
  • Registration: Fax the in-service registration form (Word or PDF) to 802-483-2343 or email it to our registrar at gail.williams@vermont.gov

This course delivered by VCJTC certified Instructors is designed to provide police officers with the necessary certification to set-up, test, and operate radar devices for speed measurement. The eight-hour class which includes both classroom and field experience provides the officer with the knowledge and skills to operate both stationary and moving radar. The following topics are presented: Doppler theory; VT statutory and case law regarding speed enforcement; operation of specific speed measurement devices; and courtroom testimony.


Ambush Survival Tactics  (previously known as Patrol Tactics "Mindset for Survival")

Presented by Sgt. Ray DeCunto (Ret.) of RAD Training Inc. 

www.RadTrainingInc.com 

  • Coordinator: Jason Williams
  • Length of course: 24 hours                                                                    
  • Course hours: 31 May – 2 June, 2017: 0800- 1700                                                                                          
  • Location: Vermont Police Academy
  • Tuition: Commuter $504.00 (lunch included), Overnight $582.00
  • Registration: Fax the in-service registration form (Word or PDF) to 802-483-2343 or email it to our registrar at gail.williams@vermont.gov

This three-day course is for law enforcement officers assigned to uniform patrol.  Classroom training alone is not enough.  Patrol officers need hands on training.  This course is designed with minimal classroom and maximum realistic scenario based training.  The following are topics covered during this training course:

  • Techniques for mental and physical peak performance to win
  • Less lethal and deadly force decision making through scenario based training
  • Dynamic and slow deliberate building clearing techniques
  • Techniques for traffic stops with violent encounters
  • Close quarter shooting tactics
  • Low light movement techniques
  • Ambush tactics
  • Armed suicidal subject encounters; “Suicide by cop”
  • Hostage encounters; containment vs. immediate action
  • Rescue carries and the trauma medical equipment needed
  • Tactical Emergency Casualty Care for law enforcement responders

Who should attend: Uniform patrol officers, as well as units within patrol commonly referred to as street crimes and/or violent offender units.  If you are answering calls for service, conducting traffic stops or assigned to investigate crimes involving repeat or violent offenders, then this course is a must for you or your unit.


Description

This course delivered by VCJTC certified Instructors is designed to provide police officers with the necessary certification to set-up, test, and operate radar devices for speed measurement. The eight-hour class which includes both classroom and field experience provides the officer with the knowledge and skills to operate both stationary and moving radar. The following topics are presented: Doppler theory; VT statutory and case law regarding speed enforcement; operation of specific speed measurement devices; and courtroom testimony.


Fingerprint

Tue, May 30, 2017

8:00 AM – 12:00 PM EDT

Fingerprints offer an infallible means of personal identification. They are used for identification of a person, background checks for employment, documenting criminal records, creating investigative leads, and tying suspects to evidence or crime scenes.

This course is designed to train police officers to properly roll legible fingerprints. It also provides police officers with the necessary certification to obtain fingerprints from minors as required by statute. This certification is valid for three years. See Fingerprint Re-certification for recert processes.

This course has been designed by Vermont Criminal Information Center Identification Section and includes:

An overview of basic fingerprinting classification, the procedure of taking prints, officer safety while printing, how to properly fill out required fingerprint cards, and the life of a fingerprint card.

All students will practice rolling fingerprints under the supervision of trainers.

Rolling a quality set of fingerprint impressions and the successful completion of a written exam are required for certification.

 

VIN

Tue, May 30, 2017

12:30 PM – 4:30 PM

It has been said that the Vehicle Identification Number (VIN) is the motor vehicle’s equivalent to the human’s DNA. The VIN’s 17 characters provide vehicle specifications such as where it was manufactured, in what year, the make, model, and body type. American motor vehicle manufacturers have been using VINs on their cars since 1954, but it was not required on all vehicles by NHTSA until the manufacturing of the 1981 model year.

Vermont Department of Motor Vehicles (VT DMV) Inspectors instruct the VIN Verification Course. Participants who successfully complete this course will be certified by the VT DMV to verify VINs as required by the Agency of Transportation on certain documents.

The skills and knowledge developed in this class will also enhance an officer’s ability to detect stolen vehicles, cloned vehicles and vehicles with altered VINs.

Successful completion of a written examination at the conclusion of the course is required for certification.


May 22, 2017 at 8:00 AM
Vermont Police Academy - 317 Academy Road - Pittsford, VT 05763


Date: May 19th, 2017

  • Time: 8:30 AM - 4:00 PM
  • Location: Newport State Office Building. CCV Conference Room 100 Main Street Newport, VT
  • Cost: FREE with food/breaks provided
  • Registration: Please complete this form and return it to Kristin Chandler by email at teamtwovermont@gmail.com
  • REGISTRATION DEADLINE: May 5, 2017

The Team Two curriculum focuses on collaboration between law enforcement, police dispatchers and mobile mental health crisis teams in the field.  Legal updates, mock scenarios, a panel presentation, regional resources and practical tips comprise this training.   Completion of ACT 80 (Working with Persons with a Mental Illness) is a pre-requisite for law enforcement officers.


Date: May 17th, 2017

The Team Two curriculum focuses on collaboration between law enforcement, police dispatchers and mobile mental health crisis teams in the field.  Legal updates, mock scenarios, a panel presentation, regional resources and practical tips comprise this training.   Completion of ACT 80 (Working with Persons with a Mental Illness) is a pre-requisite for law enforcement officers.


  • Coordinator:  Leslie Bodette
  • Length of Course:  80 hours (2 weeks, Monday-Friday)
  • Course Hours:  0830-1630 hours
  • Date:  May 8 – 19, 2017
  • Tuition:  Commuting-$272.50 includes lunch and materials), Overnight- $584.50 (includes materials lodging, and meals)
  • Pre-requisite:  Must be full-time certified, having taken the Basic Academy Crash Investigation course, have field experience, and a high aptitude and interest in collision investigation.
  • Registration:  Contact the Vermont Police Academy at 802-483-6228,  Fax the in-service registration form (Word or PDF) to 802-483-2343 or email it to our registrar at gail.williams@vermont.gov
    • This is an excellent opportunity for first line supervisors, as it will improve skills and better enable training and supervision.
    • This is a demanding course that involves homework, practical exercises, and advanced mathematical calculations.Successful completion provides a significant increase in collision investigation skills and will lead to being able to offer expert testimony.
    • Topics include calculating speed from skid marks and scuff marks, scale diagramming, lamp examination, photography and determination of physical evidence.The instructors will provide individualized attention as needed and all participants will actively take part in class, which will help develop familiarity with presenting this material, as might be done in court.
    • Officers will need to review their Basic Crash Investigation Manual and materials and bring the following: scientific calculator, drawing compass, mechanical pencil, and soft eraser. All other materials will be provided.
    • This course is a pre-requisite to Advanced and Reconstruction levels.


NHTSA Doppler Radar Operator Certification

This course is offered approximately four times each year at the academy, two of which are during Post-Basic classes, resulting in limited seating. Regional trainings may also occur throughout the year.

  • Coordinator:            Leslie Bodette
  • Length of Course: 8 hours
  • Course hours:         0800-1600
  • Date/Location:       
    • April 27, 2017 VPA
    • May 31, 2017 VPA (Post-Basic, Limited Seating)
    • September 28, 2017 VPA
    • November 22, 2017 VPA (Post-Basic, Limited Seating)
  • Tuition: None if initial training for Vermont law enforcement officers.
    • Repeat/audit - $22.00 @ the Vermont Police Academy (includes lunch and materials), $6.50 off-campus (includes materials).
  • Registration: Fax the in-service registration form (Word or PDF) to 802-483-2343 or email it to our registrar at gail.williams@vermont.gov

This course delivered by VCJTC certified Instructors is designed to provide police officers with the necessary certification to set-up, test, and operate radar devices for speed measurement. The eight-hour class which includes both classroom and field experience provides the officer with the knowledge and skills to operate both stationary and moving radar. The following topics are presented: Doppler theory; VT statutory and case law regarding speed enforcement; operation of specific speed measurement devices; and courtroom testimony.


  • Date: April 26th, 2017
    • Time: 8:30 AM - 4:00 PM
    • Location: Health Care & Rehabilitation Services of Southeastern Vermont (HCRS) 390 River Street - Springfield VT 05156
    • Cost: FREE with food/breaks provided
    • Registration: Please complete this form and return it to Kristin Chandler by email at teamtwovermont@gmail.com
    • REGISTRATION DEADLINE: April 12, 2017

The Team Two curriculum focuses on collaboration between law enforcement, police dispatchers and mobile mental health crisis teams in the field.  Legal updates, mock scenarios, a panel presentation, regional resources and practical tips comprise this training.   Completion of ACT 80 (Working with Persons with a Mental Illness) is a pre-requisite for law enforcement officers.


  • Coordinator: Cindy Taylor-Patch
  • Length of course: 1 Day (8 hours)
  • Course hours: 0800 – 1630
  • Dates/Locations:
    • March 20, 2017 at Essex Police Department
    • April 19th, 0830 - 1630, at the Windsor County Sheriff's Department
  • Tuition: Free

Email Director of Training Cindy Taylor-Patch for more information.

Course Description

Taught by experienced police officers and professionals from the disability services field, this course will cover a variety of issues surrounding this sometimes controversial topic.  Experts from many state and community agencies and advocates collaborated with VT officers to develop a curriculum that covers some basic ways to recognize a psychiatric or developmental disability and suggestions for positive ways to respond.  Our main purpose for offering this training is to promote officer safety and the safety of all others involved.  Other topics to be discussed include suicide risk factors, self-harming behaviors (ex. "cutting"), relevant laws and legal issues, stigma, resources and treatment options, and most importantly, de-escalation and communication skills.  Officers will gain the skills needed to professionally and effectively interact with people in crisis


PR24 Instructors Course

  • Coordinator:  Jason Williams
  • Length of Course: 8 hours (1 day)
  • Course hours:  0800 - 1630
  • Date: 19 April, 2017
  • Location:  Vermont Police Academy Gymnasium
  • Tuition:  Commuting $17.50
  • Registration:  Fax the in-service training application to 802-483-2343 or e-mail it to our registrar Gail.Williams@vermont.gov .
    • Prerequisite: Must be a currently certified Use of Force and Tactics Instructor

Course description:

This one day course is for the currently certified Use of Force and Tactics Instructor who has MEB Instructor Certification to also be certified as a PR24 instructor, and is also for the currently certified PR24 instructor who would like to refresh their skills.  All UOF and T instructors who wish to become Instructor Trainers must have instructor certifications in MEB, PR24 and OC, in addition to basic MDTS instructor certification.  This course meets that prerequisite to apply for instructor trainer status.  The entire course will be held in the gym and will include written and proficiency testing at the conclusion.  Participants should wear comfortable gym attire and have their duty belt with them, as well as a PR-24 with a PR-24 holster.


  • Coordinator:  Jason Williams
  • Length of Course: 8 hours (1 day)
  • Course hours:  0800 - 1700
  • Date: Two separate classes are being scheduled back to back.  17 April, 2017 and 18 April, 2017.  This is a one day course.
  • Location:  Vermont Police Academy Firearms Range
  • Tuition: 
    • SIG Sauer tuition, payable directly to SIG is $255
    • Academy fees (includes lunch) is $19.50 which will be billed separately by the  Academy
  • Registration:  SIG Sauer is handling all registrations for this course.  Please contact them at 603-610-3400 to register.

Course description:

This one day pistol course offered by SIG Sauer is designed to enhance the pistol handling skills for law enforcement officers.  SIG Sauer has provided excellent training for law enforcement officers around the State of Vermont since they began coming here a couple of years ago.  The extremely high level of quality training they provide is why we keep inviting them back here year after year.  We are striving at the academy to bring a wider and more well-rounded variety of firearms training options for law enforcement in the area.  This class is promised to carry on that same quality of training we have come to expect from SIG. 

SIG’s website describes the content of this class as follows:

 Designed to help law enforcement officers improve their pistol handling skills and qualification scores, this all range time, no frills course offers intensive hands-on training and pistol drills to maximize accuracy, speed, and performance.

The course requirements, directly from SIG Sauer’s website:

Prerequisite 

Law enforcement, military, and credentialed armed professionals only. Call for clarification.

 

Course Outline 

  • Foundational skill review
  • Static shooting drills
  • Positional shooting
  • Barricade/use of cover
  • Reloads and malfunction drills
  • Dynamic shooting drills
  • Transitions

Required Equipment 

  • Duty pistol in one of the following calibers: 9MM, .357SIG, .40S&W, or .45ACP
  • 3 magazines minimum
  • Belt mounted, dominant side concealment holster or duty rig
  • Magazine pouches
  • Sturdy belt at least 1.5” wide
  • Concealment jacket or vest (optional)
  • Footwear suitable for rapid movement and turning
  • Casual, comfortable civilian clothing suitable for training in any weather (unless training in duty uniform)
  • Hydration system
  • Sunscreen and bug spray
  • Hat with a brim
  • Wraparound eyewear, polycarbonate lenses or non-shattering prescription glasses
  • Earmuffs and earplugs

Ammo 

  • Estimated round count: 500 rounds pistol

Please sign up early as this class will fill up fast.  Students must bring their own ammunition.  Ammunition is no longer available for purchase at the academy.



Solo Engagement Tactics Training

  • When: April 17-18 0800-1600 hrs
  • Where:
    • Manchester Elementary & Middle School
    •  80 Memorial Avenue
    • Manchester Ctr, VT 05255 
  • Cost: $595.00 per person
  • Register at: http://www.cvent.com/d/hvqy33
  • Register by Phone: 330-661-0106

For the first time ever in Vermont, the Manchester Police Department is bringing RAIDER Solo Engagement Training to Manchester Center, VT. 

  RAIDER (Rapid Deployment, Awareness, Intervention, Decisiveness, EMS, Recovery) solo-engagement training is designed to provide officers with necessary mental and physical skills to draw attention of the active shooter away from the potential victims, confuse and frustrate the shooter, and successfully neutralize the situation through very aggressive, but not reckless action.

 The 2-day course is designed to provide Officers with a new skill set of moving alone in hostile environments. The course involves classroom and scenario instruction, which are delivered in a logical progression (Airsoft guns only)

Course Modules:

  - Classroom: Background and Introduction. Case studies and history fo active shooters

  - Drills and movements: Introduction to solo engagement movements. Team movements       vs. Solo movement comparison. Movement exercises. Solo engagement tactics.

  - Review of Solo Engagement Tactics (drills and movements)

For more information, Contact:

Chris Mason - Manchester Police Department - chris.mason@vermont.gov

Stacie Jackson - ALICE Training Institute - sjackson@alicetraining.com


  • Coordinator:  Jason Williams
  • Length of Course: 8 hours (1 day)
  • Course hours:  0800 - 1700
  • Date: Two separate classes are being scheduled back to back.  17 April, 2017 and 18 April, 2017.  This is a one day course.
  • Location:  Vermont Police Academy Firearms Range
  • Tuition: 
    • SIG Sauer tuition, payable directly to SIG is $255
    • Academy fees (includes lunch) is $19.50 which will be billed separately by the  Academy
  • Registration:  SIG Sauer is handling all registrations for this course.  Please contact them at 603-610-3400 to register.

Course description:

This one day pistol course offered by SIG Sauer is designed to enhance the pistol handling skills for law enforcement officers.  SIG Sauer has provided excellent training for law enforcement officers around the State of Vermont since they began coming here a couple of years ago.  The extremely high level of quality training they provide is why we keep inviting them back here year after year.  We are striving at the academy to bring a wider and more well-rounded variety of firearms training options for law enforcement in the area.  This class is promised to carry on that same quality of training we have come to expect from SIG. 

SIG’s website describes the content of this class as follows:

 Designed to help law enforcement officers improve their pistol handling skills and qualification scores, this all range time, no frills course offers intensive hands-on training and pistol drills to maximize accuracy, speed, and performance.

The course requirements, directly from SIG Sauer’s website:

Prerequisite 

Law enforcement, military, and credentialed armed professionals only. Call for clarification.

 

Course Outline 

  • Foundational skill review
  • Static shooting drills
  • Positional shooting
  • Barricade/use of cover
  • Reloads and malfunction drills
  • Dynamic shooting drills
  • Transitions

Required Equipment 

  • Duty pistol in one of the following calibers: 9MM, .357SIG, .40S&W, or .45ACP
  • 3 magazines minimum
  • Belt mounted, dominant side concealment holster or duty rig
  • Magazine pouches
  • Sturdy belt at least 1.5” wide
  • Concealment jacket or vest (optional)
  • Footwear suitable for rapid movement and turning
  • Casual, comfortable civilian clothing suitable for training in any weather (unless training in duty uniform)
  • Hydration system
  • Sunscreen and bug spray
  • Hat with a brim
  • Wraparound eyewear, polycarbonate lenses or non-shattering prescription glasses
  • Earmuffs and earplugs

Ammo 

  • Estimated round count: 500 rounds pistol

Please sign up early as this class will fill up fast.  Students must bring their own ammunition.  Ammunition is no longer available for purchase at the academy.



  • Coordinator: Leslie Bodette
  • Length of course: 16 hours
  • Course hours: 0800 – 1630 
  • Date:
    • April 12 - 13, 2017 at Vermont State Police – Westminster Barracks
  • Tuition: Commuting - $50.50 (includes materials and lunch), Overnight - $90.50 (Includes materials, lodging, and meals).
  • Registration: Fax the in-service registration form (Word or PDF) to 802-483-2343 or email it to our registrar at gail.williams@vermont.gov

This fundamental training course will provide the new part-time officer with a familiarization of accident/crash reporting requirements and form completion. A mock scene will be utilized to demonstrate the measurement and diagramming techniques. Additional scene management will emphasize traffic control, preservation of evidence and witness identification.


Date: April 12th, 2017

  • Time: 8:30 AM - 4:00 PM
  • Location: Manchester Public Safety Facility, Conference Room. 6041 Main Street Manchester Center, VT
  • Cost: FREE with food/breaks provided
  • Registration: Please complete this form and return it to Kristin Chandler by email at teamtwovermont@gmail.com

The Team Two curriculum focuses on collaboration between law enforcement, police dispatchers and mobile mental health crisis teams in the field.  Legal updates, mock scenarios, a panel presentation, regional resources and practical tips comprise this training.   Completion of ACT 80 (Working with Persons with a Mental Illness) is a pre-requisite for law enforcement officers.


Use of Force Committee

Meeting Dates:

  • April 12th
  • July 26th
  • October 11th

Coordinated by Jason Williams, Training Coordinator

The UOF Committee is composed of troopers, officers, wardens, and deputies from various agencies throughout the state and range in rank from Corporals to Chiefs.  The committee members are appointed by the Executive Director of the Vermont Police Academy.  These members are considered to be advanced and very knowledgeable in their fields of training.  These fields include: firearms, non-lethal use of force, baton, rifle, and oleoresin capsicum.  The committee is overseen by an academy representative and has an elected chairman.

The committee has many responsibilities included in its purview.  Listed below are some of the responsibilities, which also may include any issues brought forth by the Executive Director for review.

  1. Reviewing/recommending curriculum for use of force classes for the basic programs and instructor programs.
  2. Providing guidance to instructors throughout the state in their use of force training.
  3. Recommend changes and improvements to the facility for use of force training.
  4. Recommend minimum standards for use of force instructors.
  5. Providing input for implementation of programs related to use of force.
  6. Reviewing special requests of use of force instructor recertification packets that are not standard.

Members

  • Chair: Donald Keeler, Sheriff, Addison County Sheriff's Office
  • Vice Chair: Drew Bloom, Captain, VT DMV
  • Scott Fisher, Officer, Middlebury PD
  • Russell Shopland, Warden, VT Dept of FandW
  • Robbie Blish, Chief, Woodstock PD
  • Lianne Tuomey, Chief, UVM Police Services
  • Walter Smith, Lt., VSP
  • Michael Akerlind, Cpl., Colchester PD
  • Matthew Murano, Sgt., Wilmington PD
  • George (Randy) Crowe, Sgt., Bristol PD
  • Randy Lopes, Cpl., Burlington PD
  • Eugene Duplissis Sgt., Vermont State Police
  • Wade Johnson, Vermont Department of Corrections


  • Coordinator: Leslie Bodette
  • Length of course: 4 hours
  • Course hours: see below
  • Dates/Times:                                                                                             
    • April 6th 2017, 1200-1630                                                                                         
  • Fingerprint Certification is offered in the morning on the same dates and must be registered for separately.
  • Location: Vermont Police Academy
  • Tuition: None, if initial certification. Repeat/audit - $19.50
  • Registration: Fax the in-service registration form (Word or PDF) to 802-483-2343 or email it to our registrar at gail.williams@vermont.gov

It has been said that the Vehicle Identification Number (VIN) is the motor vehicle’s equivalent to the human’s DNA.  The VIN’s 17 characters provide vehicle specifications such as where it was manufactured, in what year, the make, model, and body type.  American motor vehicle manufacturers have been using VINs on their cars since 1954, but it was not required on all vehicles by NHTSA until the manufacturing of the 1981 model year.

Vermont Department of Motor Vehicles (VT DMV) Inspectors instruct the VIN Verification Course.  Participants who successfully complete this course will be certified by the VT DMV to verify VINs as required by the Agency of Transportation on certain documents.

The skills and knowledge developed in this class will also enhance an officer’s ability to detect stolen vehicles, cloned vehicles and vehicles with altered VINs.

Successful completion of a written examination at the conclusion of the course is required for certification.


  • Coordinator: Leslie Bodette
  • Length of course: 4 hours                                                                      
  • Course hours: see below
  • Dates/Times:                                                                                            
    • April 6th 2017: 0800-1130 hours
  • VIN Verification is offered in the afternoon on the same dates and must be registered for separately.
  • Location: Vermont Police Academy
  • Tuition: None, if initial certification. Repeat/audit - $9.00

 

Fingerprints offer an infallible means of personal identification.  They are used for identification of a person, background checks for employment, documenting criminal records, creating investigative leads, and tying suspects to evidence or crime scenes.

This course is designed to train police officers to properly roll legible fingerprints.  It also provides police officers with the necessary certification to obtain fingerprints from minors as required by statute.  This certification is valid for three years.  See Fingerprint Re-certification for recert processes.

This course has been designed by Vermont Criminal Information Center Identification Section and includes:

An overview of basic fingerprinting classification, the procedure of taking prints, officer safety while printing, how to properly fill out required fingerprint cards, and the life of a fingerprint card.

All students will practice rolling fingerprints under the supervision of trainers.

Rolling a quality set of fingerprint impressions and the successful completion of a written exam are required for certification.


  • Coordinator: Jenn Firpo
  • Length of course: 8 hours
  • Course hours: 0800 – 1630 hours
  • Location: Vermont Police Academy
  • Dates:
    • Wednesday, April 5, 2017  
    • Monday, June 21, 2017          
    • Wednesday, September 27, 2017   
  • Tuition: None, if initial certification. Repeat/audit - $20.50

Registration

 Fax the in-service registration form (Word or PDF) to 802-483-2343 or email it to our registrar at gail.williams@vermont.gov

Course Description

Responding to reports of domestic violence continue to pose high risks and deep frustrations to police.

During this training, officers will review and, in the case of a new officer, learn the fundamentals on how to most effectively respond to domestic violence incidents, to include, reviewing:

  • The dynamics of domestic violence
  • Domestic violence related Vermont statutes and relevant case law
  • The investigation and creation of solid domestic violence cases for prosecutorial purposes
  •  Local and state resources for victims/survivors of domestic violence
  •  Dominant aggressor determination
  • Types of Vermont protection orders, their service, and enforcement

This course fulfills the domestic violence training requirement for:

  1. Persons going through the part-time police officer process
  2. Waiver officers.


Advanced Roadside Impaired Driving Enforcement (A.R.I.D.E.)

  • Coordinator: Leslie Bodette
  • Length of course: 16 hours
  • Course hours: 0800 - 1600
  • Dates and Locations:                                                                                                                                                                                                                      
    • February 8 & 9 (Location TBD)
    • April 5 & 6 at Lyndon State College, Harvey Academic Center, Room #111, St. Johnsbury
    • June 13 & 14 at the Vermont Fire Academy (on the same property as the Vermont Police Academy)
    • August 22 & 23 at VSP – Westminster barracks  
    • Oct 3 & 4 at Colchester PD
    • Dec 6 & 7 at the Vermont Police Academy
  • Tuition: 
    • Free for all Vermont Officers
    • Tuition for Out of State Officers:
      • $13.00 regionally (lunch is on your own)                                                                                            
      • $48.50 commuting to the VPA (lunch included)                                                                                  
      • $67.00 overnight @ VPA (breakfast, 2 lunches, and dinner included)

 

Course Description

This course is designed to assist officers in becoming more proficient  detecting and  apprehending,  impaired drivers. Upon completion of this training,  officers will be  capable of detecting impairment caused by substances other than alcohol.  All candidates must currently be actively involved in impaired driving enforcement.

Officers MUST be highly skilled in the administration and interpretation of  SFSTs.  Your proficiency will be tested by certified SFST Instructors.  SFSTs are strongly emphasized and you can expect to increase your skill level in using these tests after taking this course. 

This training is an essential tool for officers dedicated to saving lives by removing impaired drivers from our roads. In addition, knowledge and skills obtained during  A.R.I.D.E.  will facilitate better communication and transfer of critical roadside indicators of impairment to the Drug Recognition Expert (DRE) who may be called for a more complete and accurate assessment of impairment. For those considering the pursuit of DRE training, A.R.I.D.E. will serve as a career path step towards achieving that goal


Basic Use of Force and Tactics

MDTS/Straight Baton/ PR24/OC Aerosol Projector

This is a physically demanding training course and participants must be injury free and in good physical condition before entering the course. 

 

  • Coordinator: Jason Williams
  • Length of course: 32 hours (four days MDTS/baton) plus 4 hours (1/2 day OC)
  • Course hours: 0800-1630 days 1-4, 0800-1200 day 5
  • Location: Vermont Police Academy
  • Date: 20 – 23 March, 2017 (MDTS/baton), 24 March, 2017 (OC)
  • Tuition (includes materials, lunch and administrative fees):
  • Tuition is free for all Vermont Law Enforcement Officer candidates who are sponsored by a Vermont Law Enforcement Agency and are pursuing level I or Level II law enforcement certification.
  • For all others (recertifications, audits, and others authorized to attend the course by the Director of Training):
    • If the student is staying for the MDTS/Baton Portion only:
      • Commuting: $ 66                                                                                                    
      • Overnight:  $ 183
    • If the student is additionally staying for the OC day:
      • Commuting: $ 82                                                                                                    
      • Overnight:  $ 238
  • Registration: Fax the standard in-service training application to 802-483-2343 or email it to our registrar at gail.williams@state.vt.us

Note: Gym attire to include gym shoes, duty belt, baton and handcuffs and cuff key are required for this course.  Please bring a dark colored tee shirt to wear when being sprayed with OC.  Students must provide inert OC for training. The Academy will provide live OC for practical exercise.

This course is designed to provide officers with the basics for self-protection and control and/or restraint of adversaries.  This course consists of classroom lecture, gym-work and scenario-based training. 

The first three days are mandatory under Council rule for Level I, II or III certification and will train the student in the Monadnock Defensive Tactics System.  The fourth day is optional and we will provide instruction in the use of the Monadnock Expandable Baton or the PR-24 side handle baton.  Please notify the academy whether you will require MEB or side handle baton training when registering!  The fifth day is optional and consists of a half day of OC training.   In order to attend the fifth day, you must have attended the first four days or already hold basic certification in MDTS.

Successful completion of the course will require the student to attend the full blocks of training as well as pass written and proficiency testing for basic MDTS certification, baton certification and OC certification.  Written testing requires a minimum score of 80% to pass and proficiency testing requires 100% acceptable score on the Minimal Acceptable Performance Standards set forth by Safariland.

Effective 1 January, 2014 per Council ruling, all persons certified as law enforcement officers after that date must attend and successfully complete a Council approved training course for MDTS before receiving Level I, II or III law enforcement certification.  The four-hour handcuff training provided during the Level I and II basic certification course does not meet this requirement, and only gives them the authority to carry and use handcuffs under the guidelines set forth in the provisional certification for Levels I or II. Officers must also attend and successfully complete a Council approved baton and/or Oleoresin Capsicum aerosol projector course having the authority to carry and use a baton or OC.  This course meets the minimum requirements under this new rule. 


Our Mission

The mission of the Vermont Criminal Justice Training Council is to establish rules, policies, regulations and standards for certification and training of criminal justice personnel and to serve as a resource to municipalities, counties, and the state to improve the quality of citizen protection. We will accomplish our mission by developing a comprehensive program to provide high quality criminal justice training in a cooperative, efficient and effective manner through proper utilization of modern technology and coordination of our facility. We provide an aggressive in-service training calendar designed to meet this goal.

Statutory Authority

The statutory authority for the Council is derived from 20 V.S.A., Chapter 151, as amended.

Council Composition

The Council consists of the Commissioner of Public Safety, the Commissioner of Corrections, the Commissioner of Motor Vehicles, the Commissioner of Fish and Wildlife, the Attorney General, a member of the Vermont Trooper's Association, elected by that association, and a member of the Vermont Police Association, elected by that association. Five (5) members to represent law enforcement and the public are appointed by the Governor solicited from the Vermont State's Attorneys', Sheriffs', and Police Chiefs' Associations whose terms shall be for three (3) years.

2017 Council Meeting Dates

All meetings will be held at the Vermont Fire Academy in Pittsford Vermont at 9:00AM unless otherwise noted.

  • March 15 - at Vermont Police Academy, Classroom 2
  • June 15
  • September 12
  • December 12


Canine Drug Detection School

  • Length of Course: 240 hours
  • Course hours: 0800-1600 hrs
  • Location: VT Police Academy
  • Dates:
    • January 9th – February 17th 2017 0800 – 1630 hrs
    • March 6th - April 14th 2017.
  • Tuition:
    • ​Commuting: $590.00
    • Overnight: $1548.00 (includes Equipment Assessment Fee, Facility Use Fees, Meals, Accommodations)
  • Prerequisites:
    • Canine evaluation prior to acceptance into the program. 
    • Handlers required to meet the minimum Police Academy physical fitness requirements (50th percentile).
  • Certifications Available: VCJTC

 

For further information contact Canine T.C. Bob Ryan.


Communications Training Officer – Re-Certification (CTO)

  • Length of course: 1 day
  • Course hours: 0830-1630
  • Point of Contact:  Ken Hawkins
  • Location: Vermont Police Academy
  • Dates:  February 22, 2017
  • Tuition:
    • Commuting only: $18.50
  • Registration: Fax the in-service registration form (Word or PDF) to 802-483-2343 or email it to our registrar at gail.williams@vermont.gov
  • Pre-requisites: Full-time Communications/Dispatch personnel with at least two years of experience.

This one day class includes interactive lecture and hands-on exercises with specific emphasis on best practices in training and updates to existing documentation:

  1. Program Goals & Objectives
  2. Roles & Responsibilities of the CTO
  3. Teaching & Training skills
  4. Evaluation & Documentation
  5. Remedial Training
  6. Evaluation & Counseling
  7. Legal & Liability Issues

This course is intended for current Communications Training Officers, to provide the most up to date training methodology, as well as recent changes on both the local and national level. This course is a must for professionals in the communications field, to remain current on the standards expected of Vermont Communications Officers.


  • Coordinator:  Ken Hawkins
  • Length of course: 24 hours
  • Course hours:  0830 – 1630 hours
  • Location:  Vermont Police Academy
  • Date: February 13 - 15, 2017
  • Tuition:
    • Vermont:  None 
    • Out-of-state:  Commuting: $71.50, Overnight: $151.50                                          
  • Pre-requisites:
    • The Emergency Communication Dispatcher seeking to become a CTO must:
    • Have a minimum of TWO YEARS experience as an Emergency Communication Dispatcher.
    • Have approval by the agency head, 
    • A strong desire to teach new officers, and 
    • Have the attributes of a successful CTO, which includes being professional, knowledgeable, committed, ethical, and fair.
  • Registration: Fax the in-service registration form (Word or PDF) to 802-483-2343 or email it to our registrar at gail.williams@vermont.gov

The Communication Training Officer has a significant impact on the individual trainee in terms of imprinting attitudes, style, values, and ethics in carrying out the duties of policing that will remain with the officer throughout a career.

- California Post  

The Communication Training Officer Program (CTOP) provides for the initial formal and informal training specifics of the day-to-day dispatch operations.  The CTOP also introduces the trainee to the internal operation of an Agency including the agency’s policies and procedures.  For the agency, the CTOP is also part of the hiring process.  

Imperative to this program is the Communication Training Officer (CTO). 

The Communication Training Officer Certification Course (CTOCC) is designed for the dispatcher who is seeking certification as a CommunicationTraining Officer.  This course, although developed from the FTO San Jose (CA) Model, is Vermont oriented.

Subjects included in this course:  

  • History and development of the program; 
  • The CTO process; 
  • The role of the CTO; 
  • Leadership models; 
  • CTO liability issues; 
  • Ethics and being a CTO; 
  • Standardized evaluative procedures and forms; 
  • The adult learning model; and 
  • Vermont’s CTO certification process;

Practical exercises will be utilized to fine-tune important demonstrative areas.

Successful completion of the CTOCC will be based on class participation and passing a graded teaching exercise at the conclusion of the school.


Advanced Roadside Impaired Driving Enforcement (A.R.I.D.E.)

  • Coordinator: Leslie Bodette
  • Length of course: 16 hours
  • Course hours: 0800 - 1600
  • Dates and Locations:                                                                                                                                                                                                                      
    • February 8 & 9 (Location TBD)
    • April 5 & 6 at Lyndon State College, Harvey Academic Center, Room #111, St. Johnsbury
    • June 13 & 14 at the Vermont Fire Academy (on the same property as the Vermont Police Academy)
    • August 22 & 23 at VSP – Westminster barracks  
    • Oct 3 & 4 at Colchester PD
    • Dec 6 & 7 at the Vermont Police Academy
  • Tuition: 
    • Free for all Vermont Officers
    • Tuition for Out of State Officers:
      • $13.00 regionally (lunch is on your own)                                                                                            
      • $48.50 commuting to the VPA (lunch included)                                                                                  
      • $67.00 overnight @ VPA (breakfast, 2 lunches, and dinner included)

 

Course Description

This course is designed to assist officers in becoming more proficient  detecting and  apprehending,  impaired drivers. Upon completion of this training,  officers will be  capable of detecting impairment caused by substances other than alcohol.  All candidates must currently be actively involved in impaired driving enforcement.

Officers MUST be highly skilled in the administration and interpretation of  SFSTs.  Your proficiency will be tested by certified SFST Instructors.  SFSTs are strongly emphasized and you can expect to increase your skill level in using these tests after taking this course. 

This training is an essential tool for officers dedicated to saving lives by removing impaired drivers from our roads. In addition, knowledge and skills obtained during  A.R.I.D.E.  will facilitate better communication and transfer of critical roadside indicators of impairment to the Drug Recognition Expert (DRE) who may be called for a more complete and accurate assessment of impairment. For those considering the pursuit of DRE training, A.R.I.D.E. will serve as a career path step towards achieving that goal


Automated License Plate Reader Certification

 

  • Coordinator: Leslie Bodette
  • Length of Course:  2 hours 1000-1200 hours
  • Date/Hours/Location:
    • January 18th at 9:30am at Hartford PD

    • January 23rd at 12:30pm at Vermont State Police, Williston barracks

  • Tuition:  Free
  • Registration: Fax the in-service registration form (Word or PDF) to 802-483-2343 or email it to our registrar at gail.williams@vermont.gov

Per Vermont legislation, all law enforcement officers must be certified through the Vermont Criminal Justice Training Council to utilize Automated License Plate Readers while on duty.  This class satisfies that Vermont requirement.  PLEASE NOTE:  All attendees must complete the online End User Agreement prior to obtaining  certification.


NHTSA Laser Operator Certification

This course is offered approximately four times each year at the academy, two of which are during Post-Basic classes, resulting in limited seating. Regional trainings may also occur throughout the year.

  • Coordinator:            Leslie Bodette
  • Length of course: 8 hours
  • Course hours:         0800 - 1600
  • Dates/Location:     
    • May 22, 2017 VPA
    • June 15, 2017 VPA (Post-Basic, Limited seating)
    • November 1, 2017 VPA
    • TBD (in December 2017, Post-Basic, Limited Seating)
  • Tuition: None if initial training for Vermont law enforcement officers.
    • Repeat/audit - $22.00 @ the Vermont Police Academy (includes lunch and materials), $6.50 off-campus (includes materials).
  • Registration: Fax the in-service registration form (Word or PDF) to 802-483-2343 or email it to our registrar at gail.williams@vermont.gov
    • National Highway Traffic Safety Administration Certification course. This course provides officers training in the setup, testing and operation of any LASER speed measuring device.
    • Participant is urged to bring a Laser device to class.
    • Four hours in classroom.
    • Four hours supervised practical training. (Officers should be in uniform and prepared for traffic enforcement.)


Automated License Plate Reader Certification

  • Coordinator:  Leslie Bodette
  • Length of Course:  2 hours 1000-1200 hours
  • Date/Hours/Location:
    • January 18th at 9:30am at Hartford PD

    • January 23rd at 12:30pm at Vermont State Police, Williston barracks

  • Tuition:  Free
  • Registration: Fax the in-service registration form (Word or PDF) to 802-483-2343 or email it to our registrar at gail.williams@vermont.gov

Per Vermont legislation, all law enforcement officers must be certified through the Vermont Criminal Justice Training Council to utilize Automated License Plate Readers while on duty.  This class satisfies that Vermont requirement.  PLEASE NOTE:  All attendees must complete the online End User Agreement prior to obtaining  certification.



  • Coordinator: Sara Couture
  • Length of course: 16 hours
  • Course hours: 0800 - 1600
  • Dates and Locations:
    • March 9-10, 2016 at Colchester PD                                                                                     
    • June 8-9, 2015 at TBD                                                                                       
    • September 14-15, 2016 at Colchester PD                                                                             
    • December 14-15, 2016 at VP Academy
  • Tuition: 
    • $13.00 regionally (lunch is on your own)                                                                                            
    • $48.50 commuting to the VPA (lunch included)                                                                                  
    • $67.00 overnight @ VPA (breakfast, 2 lunches, and dinner included)

Registration: Fax the in-service registration form (Word or PDF) to 802-483-2343 or email it to our registrar at gail.williams@vermont.gov

Course Description

This course is designed to assist officers in becoming more proficient  detecting and  apprehending,  impaired drivers. Upon completion of this training,  officers will be  capable of detecting impairment caused by substances other than alcohol.  All candidates must currently be actively involved in impaired driving enforcement.

Officers MUST be highly skilled in the administration and interpretation of  SFSTs.  Your proficiency will be tested by certified SFST Instructors.  SFSTs are strongly emphasized and you can expect to increase your skill level in using these tests after taking this course. 

This training is an essential tool for officers dedicated to saving lives by removing impaired drivers from our roads. In addition, knowledge and skills obtained during  A.R.I.D.E.  will facilitate better communication and transfer of critical roadside indicators of impairment to the Drug Recognition Expert (DRE) who may be called for a more complete and accurate assessment of impairment. For those considering the pursuit of DRE training, A.R.I.D.E. will serve as a career path step towards achieving that goal


All meetings will be held at the Vermont Fire Academy in Pittsford,  Vermont



SFST Refresher & DUI Update

  • Length of Course: 4 hours
  • Date/Location/Time:  December 13 at Ludlow Town Hall Conference Room – Two session are available – 0800-1200 OR 1200-1600. Make sure you specify the morning or afternoon session when you register.                        
  • Tuition: $6.00 includes materials and an updated SFST Roadside booklet.
  • Prerequisite: Officers must be certified in DUI Enforcement.
  • Registration: Fax the in-service registration form (Word or PDF) to 802-483-2343 or email it to our registrar at gail.williams@vermont.gov

Minimum number to hold in class: 10
Maximum number in class: 20

The purpose of this course is to ensure uniformity of Standardized Field Sobriety Testing as recommended by NHTSA, which strengthens the DUI case. The instructor will offer classroom instruction, critique practical application of Standardized Field Sobriety Tests and review current law. There is no test or evaluation for this course as it is a refresher.

 

 
 


Crash Investigation for Level-II Officers

  • Coordinator: Cindy Taylor-Patch
  • Length of course: 16 hours
  • Course hours: 0800 - 1630
  • Date: December 12 & 13, 2016
  • Location: Vermont Police Academy
  • Tuition: $25.00, includes materials and lunch.
  • Registration: Fax the in-service registration form (Word or PDF) to 802-483-2343 or email it to our registrar at gail.williams@vermont.gov

This fundamental training course will provide the new Level ll officer with a familiarization of accident/crash reporting requirements and form completion. A mock scene will be utilized to demonstrate the measurement and diagramming techniques. Additional scene management will emphasize traffic control, preservation of evidence and witness identification.


Coordinator: Sara Couture
Length of course: 40 hours (5 days)
Course hours: 0800 - 1630
Dates:

  • March 28-April 1, 2016
  • May 23-27, 2016
  • October 10-14, 2016
  • November 28- December 2, 2016**

**Post-basic classes.  Preference will be given to graduates of the 101st and 102nd Basic Classes.

Location: Vermont Police Academy
 

Tuition: None, if initial training, includes accommodations and lunch.
Audits - Commute $127.00; Overnight $281.00.

Registration: Fax the in-service registration form (Word or PDF) to 802-483-2343 or email it to our registrar at gail.williams@vermont.gov

This 40-hour course provides police officers with the knowledge and skills to operate the DMT Infrared Breath Testing Device used to collect evidentiary breath samples for DUI cases. The course, delivered by VCJTC certified instructors, instructors from the Department of Health, the Office of Alcohol and Drug Abuse Program and the State's Attorney's Office, provides Infrared Breath Testing Device Certification.

The following topics are also discussed:

  • DUI Law and Case Law
  • Physiological and Psychological Effects of Alcohol
  • DUI Detection and Apprehension Techniques
  • Standardized Field Sobriety Exercises
  • DUI Processing Forms
  • Courtroom Testimony at the DUI Trial
  • Introduction to Drugged Driving

* Officers must bring their own copy of Title 23.

* Homework Required.


Communication Training Officer Certification Course

  • Coordinator:  Ken Hawkins
  • Length of course: 24 hours
  • Course hours:  0830 – 1630 hours
  • Location:  Vermont Police Academy
  • Date:  November 21 - 23, 2016
  • Tuition:
    • Vermont:  None 
    • Out-of-state:  Commuting: $116.00, Overnight: $272.00                                              
  • Pre-requisites:
    • The Emergency Communication Dispatcher seeking to become a CTO must:
    • Have a minimum of TWO YEARS experience as an Emergency Communication Dispatcher.
    • Have approval by the agency head, 
    • A strong desire to teach new officers, and 
    • Have the attributes of a successful CTO, which includes being professional, knowledgeable, committed, ethical, and fair.
  • Registration: Fax the in-service registration form (Word or PDF) to 802-483-2343 or email it to our registrar at gail.williams@vermont.gov

The Communication Training Officer has a significant impact on the individual trainee in terms of imprinting attitudes, style, values, and ethics in carrying out the duties of policing that will remain with the officer throughout a career.

- California Post  

The Communication Training Officer Program (CTOP) provides for the initial formal and informal training specifics of the day-to-day dispatch operations.  The CTOP also introduces the trainee to the internal operation of an Agency including the agency’s policies and procedures.  For the agency, the CTOP is also part of the hiring process.  

Imperative to this program is the Communication Training Officer (CTO). 

The Communication Training Officer Certification Course (CTOCC) is designed for the dispatcher who is seeking certification as a CommunicationTraining Officer.  This course, although developed from the FTO San Jose (CA) Model, is Vermont oriented.

Subjects included in this course:  

  • History and development of the program; 
  • The CTO process; 
  • The role of the CTO; 
  • Leadership models; 
  • CTO liability issues; 
  • Ethics and being a CTO; 
  • Standardized evaluative procedures and forms; 
  • The adult learning model; and 
  • Vermont’s CTO certification process;

Practical exercises will be utilized to fine-tune important demonstrative areas.

Successful completion of the CTOCC will be based on class participation and passing a graded teaching exercise at the conclusion of the school.


  • Date: Wednesday – November 16th, 2016
    • Time: 8:30 AM - 4:00 PM
    • Location: St. Johnsbury – Northeastern Vermont Regional Hospital (NVRH) 1315 Hospital Drive, St. Johnsbury (Rooms 126 and 127)
    • Cost: FREE with food/breaks provided
    • Registration: Please complete this form and return it to Kristin Chandler by email at teamtwovermont@gmail.com
    • REGISTRATION DEADLINE: November 1, 2016

The Team Two curriculum focuses on collaboration between law enforcement, police dispatchers and mobile mental health crisis teams in the field.  Legal updates, mock scenarios, a panel presentation, regional resources and practical tips comprise this training.   Completion of ACT 80 (Working with Persons with a Mental Illness) is a pre-requisite for law enforcement officers.


  • Date: November 11th - 13th 2016
  • Location: The Essex, Vermont’s Culinary Resort & Spa, Essex Vermont. 70 Essex Way, Essex VT. 05452        Phone: 802-878-1100
  • Cost: FREE For all VPA members and $30.00 for guest and non-members

Download the conference flyer


Date: Wednesday – October 26th, 2016

The Team Two curriculum focuses on collaboration between law enforcement, police dispatchers and mobile mental health crisis teams in the field.  Legal updates, mock scenarios, a panel presentation, regional resources and practical tips comprise this training.   Completion of ACT 80 (Working with Persons with a Mental Illness) is a pre-requisite for law enforcement officers.


  • Coordinator:  Jason Williams
  • Length of Course: 8 hours
  • Course hours:  0800-1630
  • Date:
    • 29 June, 2016
    • 21 October, 2016 
  • Location:  Vermont Police Academy
  • Tuition:  $17.50 Commuting
  • Registration: Fax the in-service registration form (Word or PDF) to 802-483-2343 or email it to our registrar at gail.williams@vermont.gov

This one-day comprehensive training will recertify VCJTC Use-of-Force & Tactics Instructors in the disciplines of the Monadnock Defensive Tactics System, the Monadnock Expandable Baton and / or the PR-24 Baton.   Attendees should be dressed appropriately for defensive tactics training and bring their duty belt, handcuffs, training OC, training firearm and MEB and / or PR-24 baton.   Course participants will receive refresher training in all the skills from the programs and will be expected to pass a physical proficiency and written test.  Attendees certified in one, two or all three programs (MDTS, PR-24 & MEB) can attend the training at be re-certified at the basic user-level if they are not an instructor in one or more of the three programs already.  To qualify to attend, students must be an instructor in at least one of the three programs already.


Please read the course description in its entirety before calling to register.

Length of Course: 2 weeks (10 days, Monday through Friday) plus additional field work

Note: All participants must attend all classes during both weeks of the course to be certified as a Firearms Instructor.

Course Hours: 0800-1630, plus two evening sessions on Wednesdays which run until 2100 hours

Location: Vermont Police Academy scenario building and range

Dates:  

  • Entrance testing: 16 or 17 August, 2016
  • Week 1: 19 - 23 September, 2016
  • Week 2:  17 - 21 October, 2016

Tuition:                                

  • Testing: Free
  • Course:  Commute $273/Overnight $558

Registration: To register for this class, your department head or department training officer must send an email to Training Coordinator Jason Williams at Jason.Williams@vermont.gov .

Because of a significant need for instructors by some agencies within the state, registration for the course does not guarantee a reserved seat in the course.  Applicants will be notified in April of this year as to whether their seat has been reserved for testing for the 2016 course.

Application deadline is 7 April, 2016.

Prerequisites: Level III certified law enforcement officer with at least two years of consecutive Vermont law enforcement experience or, Full time certified correctional officer with at least two years of consecutive Vermont corrections experience or, Level II certified law enforcement officer with at least four years of consecutive Vermont law enforcement experience.

Note: Seating for this class will be first come, first served for Level III certified law enforcement and full time corrections personnel, except as stated above.  Level II certified personnel will be placed on a standby list and will be given seating on a first come, first served basis if space is available.  On the job minimum experience levels must be reached prior to the start date of the class.

 

Course Description:          The Vermont Criminal Justice Training Council’s Use of Force Committee has enacted entrance standards that a potential instructor candidate must meet for entrance into the course.  The number of persons who may sign up for the testing will be limited to 16 applicants.  Once the application deadline has been reached for the test, those first 16 applicants who meet the minimum prerequisites will be required to come to the Vermont Police Academy on either the 12th or the 13th of August, 2014 to participate in the entrance testing process.  The testing process will likely take all day to complete.   

The applicant will be required to bring their duty belt, duty handgun, flashlight and/or weapons mounted light, protective vest regularly worn on duty, as well as 300 rounds of ball, (FMJ or TMJ) ammunition for the test date.  Frangible ammunition will be provided at the academy.  Applicants who successfully pass the entrance standards will have a seat reserved for them in the class.  A description of the entrance test standards will be provided to those applicants who are on the test list, as well as study materials.

Those applicants who successfully pass the entrance testing will participate in two weeks of training in classroom firearms and the use of deadly force material, instructor development, range operations, coaching techniques and evaluation methods to prepare them to function as Council certified firearms instructors.

The instructor candidates will participate in practice teaching exercises, develop new and modify current firearms training programs, create lesson plans, become familiar with current liability and civil suit trends, practice range coaching techniques, and be oriented with required range forms, paperwork and firearms training documentation.

Participants must demonstrate the ability to conduct safe range activities as well as identify and correct shooting technique deficiencies of trainees, and to prepare and deliver lessons in a classroom setting.  The course will culminate with instructor candidates providing range activities with new law enforcement recruits under the guidance of the firearms instructor trainers.

Homework will be required for this course and must be completed between weeks one and two of the course.

A list of items that the instructor candidate will be required to bring to the class will be provided upon successful completion of the entrance testing.


  • Coordinator:  Jason Williams
  • Length of Course: 5 days (40 hours)
  • Course hours:  0800-1630
  • Date/Location:  17-21 October, 2016/ VPA
  • Tuition:  Commuting $84.50/Overnight $238.50
  • Registration: Fax the in-service registration form (Word or PDF) to 802-483-2343 or email it to our registrar at gail.williams@vermont.gov

This five-day in-service class will certify students as instructors in the Vermont Criminal Justice Training Council (VTCJTC) / Monadnock - Safariland Defensive Tactics System (MDTS), the Monadnock - Safariland Expandable Baton (MEB) or Monadnock / Safariland PR-24 Side-Handle Baton, and the Oleoresin Capsicum aerosol projector.  

For the baton portion of this training, officers may choose one or the other baton for instructor certification.  If already certified as a baton instructor, officers will be re-certified during the training.   If an officer is already certified as either an MEB or PR-24 instructor, they will have the opportunity to re-certify in that discipline and become certified as an instructor in the other if they choose to do so. 

The VCJTC / Monadnock – Safariland MDTS program is a system of self-defense control and restraint techniques and tactics, which teaches officers to safely control and handcuff suspects in a wide-range of arrest situations.   Officers will receive instruction on the legalities of police use-of-force, as well as instruction on how to effectively teach and certify others at the basic user-level.   

This comprehensive course consists of both classroom and gym instruction.   Students should be prepared for a rigorous and physically demanding week of training and should be free of any conditions that would prohibit them from effectively participating and completing the training.  Attire must include a full duty belt, inert training OC, baton and gym shoes.     


Coordinator: Sara Couture
Length of course: 40 hours (5 days)
Course hours: 0800 - 1630
Dates:

  • March 28-April 1, 2016
  • May 23-27, 2016
  • October 10-14, 2016
  • November 28- December 2, 2016**

**Post-basic classes.  Preference will be given to graduates of the 101st and 102nd Basic Classes.

Location: Vermont Police Academy
 

Tuition: None, if initial training, includes accommodations and lunch.
Audits - Commute $127.00; Overnight $281.00.

Registration: Fax the in-service registration form (Word or PDF) to 802-483-2343 or email it to our registrar at gail.williams@vermont.gov

This 40-hour course provides police officers with the knowledge and skills to operate the DMT Infrared Breath Testing Device used to collect evidentiary breath samples for DUI cases. The course, delivered by VCJTC certified instructors, instructors from the Department of Health, the Office of Alcohol and Drug Abuse Program and the State's Attorney's Office, provides Infrared Breath Testing Device Certification.

The following topics are also discussed:

  • DUI Law and Case Law
  • Physiological and Psychological Effects of Alcohol
  • DUI Detection and Apprehension Techniques
  • Standardized Field Sobriety Exercises
  • DUI Processing Forms
  • Courtroom Testimony at the DUI Trial
  • Introduction to Drugged Driving

* Officers must bring their own copy of Title 23.

* Homework Required.


 

Basic Domestic Violence Training

  • Coordinator: TJ Anderson
  • Length of course: 8 hours
  • Course hours: 0800 – 1630 hours
  • Location: Vermont Police Academy
  • Dates:
    • Wednesday, March 23, 2016   
    • Monday, June 20, 2016           
    • Wednesday, October 5, 2016    
  • Tuition: None, if initial certification. Repeat/audit - $20.50
  • Minimum number to hold a class: 9
  • Maximum number in class: 35

Registration

 Fax the in-service registration form (Word or PDF) to 802-483-2343 or email it to our registrar at gail.williams@vermont.gov

Course Description

Responding to reports of domestic violence continue to pose high risks and deep frustrations to police.

During this training, officers will review and, in the case of a new officer, learn the fundamentals on how to most effectively respond to domestic violence incidents, to include, reviewing:

  • The dynamics of domestic violence
  • Domestic violence related Vermont statutes and relevant case law
  • The investigation and creation of solid domestic violence cases for prosecutorial purposes
  •  Local and state resources for victims/survivors of domestic violence
  •  Dominant aggressor determination
  • Types of Vermont protection orders, their service, and enforcement

This course fulfills the domestic violence training requirement for:

  1. Persons going through the part-time police officer process
  2. Waiver officers.


Date: Wednesday – October 5th, 2016

  • Information to be announced

 

The Team Two curriculum focuses on collaboration between law enforcement, police dispatchers and mobile mental health crisis teams in the field.  Legal updates, mock scenarios, a panel presentation, regional resources and practical tips comprise this training.   Completion of ACT 80 (Working with Persons with a Mental Illness) is a pre-requisite for law enforcement officers.


  • Coordinator: Sara Couture
  • Length of course: 6.5 hours
  • Course hours: 0830 – 1600 hours
  • Location: Shelburne Farms (see below**)
  • Date:  September 29, 2016
  • Tuition: MUST BE PAID IN ADVANCE $30.00 (Includes lunch).  
    • Checks should be made out to: Vermont Humane Federation (VHF) and sent in advance to: Vermont Police Academy, 317 Academy Road, Pittsford, VT  05763.
  • Registration: Contact Gail Williams at (802) 483-2731.

To attend this class: Space is limited… registrations preference will be given to humane agents and law enforcement officers. You must have attended a prior workshop on investigating animal cruelty in Vermont, sponsored by the Vermont Humane Federation’s Animal Cruelty Response Coalition.   Attendance of the Vermont Police Academy’s “Animal Cruelty Investigation – Level I” (being offered August 31, 2016) meets this requirement.

This introductory and hands-on workshop will focus on some of the most common farm animals you might see during the course of an animal cruelty investigation. Topics to be covered will include:

  • The proper handling and housing of common farm animals;
  • Best management practices;
  • Body condition scoring (BCS), and
  • Locomotion of farm animals

In the morning there will be classroom time to learn basic skills and techniques on how to handle and work around cows, chickens, sheep and swine. You will then be provided an opportunity to apply these newly learned skills with the animals on the farm. Full participation is expected.

Participants should be prepared to spend most of the day outside in any type of weather.  Work/muck boots are recommended.

**Training is being held at the Shelburne Farms’ “Coach Barn” (1611 Harbor Road, Shelburne, VT (802) 985-8686).  At the gate house of Shelburne Farms, tell the attendant that you are attending this training.  Parking is behind the Farm Barn.


Blue Courage® Academy

  • Date and Time: September 26-30, 2016, 8am-5pm. - Will be rescheduled, date to be announced
  • Location: Vermont Police Academy.
  • Registration: Email Gail Williams at the Vermont Police Accademy or Fax the in-service registration form (Word or PDF) to 802-483-2343.

“In partnership with the Vermont Association of Chiefs of Police, the Vermont Sheriffs’ Association, the Vermont Police Association, the Department of Motor Vehicles, the Vermont Constables’ Association, and the International Association of Directors of Law Enforcement Standards and Training, the Vermont Criminal Justice Training Council has engaged in the process of becoming a Blue Courage immersion state.  To launch this project, the Vermont Police Academy is hosting an Executive Overview and a Master Trainer class.  Attendance is limited to 30 per class; those wanting to attend can register through Gail Williams at the Vermont Police Accademy.

For more information on Blue Courage, please follow this link:   http://bluecourage.com/ "

Who should attend?

  • Certified Law Enforcement Trainers highly recommended
  • Individuals who have an interest and intention of teaching Blue Courage within their agency
  • Those who have a passion and love for the policing profession and have a willingness to engage in personal growth and development

Topics to Be Covered:

  • Foundations of Courage
  • Police Culture
  • Nobility of Policing
  • Respect
  • Resilience / Hope
  • Positive Psychology
  • Practical Wisdom
  • Health & Wellness
  • The Immortal Cop

Download the Flyer


Coordinated by Robert Ryan, Canine Training Coordinator

Next meeting is on September 23 at the VPA at 09:00


  • Date & Time: Friday September 23, 2016   8:00 am – 5:00pm
  • Location: South Burlington Police Department 19 Gregory Drive, South Burlington, VT
  • Registration: register online at:  https://www.taser.com/training
  • Cost: $200.00 per seat 

This one-day course is designed to provide students with critical information regarding Conducted Electrical Weapon (CEW) post-incident investigations. This includes, but is not limited to:

  •     CEW firing record analysis
  •     Smart Weapon Pulse Graph considerations
  •     Typical CEW error codes and corrective actions
  •     Physical and digital evidence considerations and analysis

The ECA course is open to all law enforcement and military personnel. Being a currently certified TASER end-user or instructor is not a prerequisite for this course


  • Coordinator: Sara Couture
  • Length of course: 7 hours
  • Course hours: 0830 – 1630 hours
  • Date:  September 21, 2016
  • Location: Forget-Me-Not Farm, Tinmouth, Vermont*
  • Tuition: $18.50 (lunch provided)
  • Registration: Fax the in-service registration form (Word or PDF) to 802-483-2343 or email it to our registrar at gail.williams@vermont.gov

To attend this class: You must have attended a Level I and Level II Animal Cruelty Investigation course presented by the Vermont Humane Federation’s Animal Cruelty Response Coalition.   Level I is being offered August 31, 2016 and Level II is being offered September 9, 2016

This hands-on workshop will build on the information presented during the Level I and Level II workshops, by having participants use the skills and techniques they learned in the classroom in a real-life setting. Forget-me-Not Farm will serve as the host for a mock “crime scene” involving large animals. Participants will have the opportunity to:

  • Practice their interview techniques, report-writing and evidence gathering skills in a group setting;
  • Become more comfortable with handling equines by approaching and leading live animals;
  • Use body scoring techniques in order to assist in determining animal health.

Participants must bring with them their Animal Cruelty Investigation manual.  

Please Note: Persons who currently own the "Animal Cruelty Investigation Manual”, 1st or 2nd or 3rd edition, and are interested in purchasing the newly released 4th edition of this manual... please indicate so when registering.  Manual cost is $35.00.

*Directions to Forget-Me-Not Farm, 12 McNamara Road, Tinmouth, VT:

From the North:  Route 7 South to Wallingford VT. Take route 140 West (right turn) at the traffic light and follow 140 about 8 miles.  Turn left on McNamara Road.  Farm is first right [yellow house] up the hill.

From the South:  Route 7 North to Wallingford, VT.  Take route 140 West (left turn) at the traffic light.  Follow 140 about 8 miles. Turn left on McNamara Road. Farm is first right [yellow house] up the hill.


Please read the course description in its entirety before calling to register.

Length of Course: 2 weeks (10 days, Monday through Friday) plus additional field work

Note: All participants must attend all classes during both weeks of the course to be certified as a Firearms Instructor.

Course Hours: 0800-1630, plus two evening sessions on Wednesdays which run until 2100 hours

Location: Vermont Police Academy scenario building and range

Dates:  

  • Entrance testing: 16 or 17 August, 2016
  • Week 1: 19 - 23 September, 2016
  • Week 2:  17 - 21 October, 2016

Tuition:                                

  • Testing: Free
  • Course:  Commute $273/Overnight $558

Registration: To register for this class, your department head or department training officer must send an email to Training Coordinator Jason Williams at Jason.Williams@vermont.gov .

Because of a significant need for instructors by some agencies within the state, registration for the course does not guarantee a reserved seat in the course.  Applicants will be notified in April of this year as to whether their seat has been reserved for testing for the 2016 course.

Application deadline is 7 April, 2016.

Prerequisites: Level III certified law enforcement officer with at least two years of consecutive Vermont law enforcement experience or, Full time certified correctional officer with at least two years of consecutive Vermont corrections experience or, Level II certified law enforcement officer with at least four years of consecutive Vermont law enforcement experience.

Note: Seating for this class will be first come, first served for Level III certified law enforcement and full time corrections personnel, except as stated above.  Level II certified personnel will be placed on a standby list and will be given seating on a first come, first served basis if space is available.  On the job minimum experience levels must be reached prior to the start date of the class.

 

Course Description:          The Vermont Criminal Justice Training Council’s Use of Force Committee has enacted entrance standards that a potential instructor candidate must meet for entrance into the course.  The number of persons who may sign up for the testing will be limited to 16 applicants.  Once the application deadline has been reached for the test, those first 16 applicants who meet the minimum prerequisites will be required to come to the Vermont Police Academy on either the 12th or the 13th of August, 2014 to participate in the entrance testing process.  The testing process will likely take all day to complete.   

The applicant will be required to bring their duty belt, duty handgun, flashlight and/or weapons mounted light, protective vest regularly worn on duty, as well as 300 rounds of ball, (FMJ or TMJ) ammunition for the test date.  Frangible ammunition will be provided at the academy.  Applicants who successfully pass the entrance standards will have a seat reserved for them in the class.  A description of the entrance test standards will be provided to those applicants who are on the test list, as well as study materials.

Those applicants who successfully pass the entrance testing will participate in two weeks of training in classroom firearms and the use of deadly force material, instructor development, range operations, coaching techniques and evaluation methods to prepare them to function as Council certified firearms instructors.

The instructor candidates will participate in practice teaching exercises, develop new and modify current firearms training programs, create lesson plans, become familiar with current liability and civil suit trends, practice range coaching techniques, and be oriented with required range forms, paperwork and firearms training documentation.

Participants must demonstrate the ability to conduct safe range activities as well as identify and correct shooting technique deficiencies of trainees, and to prepare and deliver lessons in a classroom setting.  The course will culminate with instructor candidates providing range activities with new law enforcement recruits under the guidance of the firearms instructor trainers.

Homework will be required for this course and must be completed between weeks one and two of the course.

A list of items that the instructor candidate will be required to bring to the class will be provided upon successful completion of the entrance testing.


  • Presented by: Abigail Williams
  • Date and Time: September 17th from 10am-2pm.
  • Location: Newbank Conference Center in Chester Vermont
  • Registration: Please RSVP by September 1st to Meghan Austin at 802-875-2211 or by email at maustin4@harding.edu. Space is limited and will be first come first serve!

    Come join VT EMS District 11 on September 17th from 10am-2pm at Newbank Conference Center in Chester Vermont for an interactive discussion with Abigail Williams, RN, JD, MPH, MS as she discusses her experience with multi-agency responses and the do’s and don’ts of the situation. This will be a free training for all who attend with lunch provided; we will have a donation box set up and ask that folks give a $5 donation to help cover the cost of lunch. Four hours of CEU’s will be provided with a certificate given to all participants at the training. Please RSVP by September 1st to Meghan Austin at 802-875-2211 or by email at maustin4@harding.edu. Space is limited and will be first come first serve!

Download the Flyer


  • Date: Wednesday – September 15th, 2016
  • Time: 8:30 AM – 4:00 PM
  • Location: Rutland Police Department Project VISION Conference Room 108 Wales Street Rutland
  • Cost: FREE with food/breaks provided
  • Registration: Please complete this form and return it to Kristin Chandler by email at teamtwovermont@gmail.com

The Team Two curriculum focuses on collaboration between law enforcement, police dispatchers and mobile mental health crisis teams in the field.  Legal updates, mock scenarios, a panel presentation, regional resources and practical tips comprise this training.   Completion of ACT 80 (Working with Persons with a Mental Illness) is a pre-requisite for law enforcement officers.


  • Coordinator: Sara Couture
  • Length of course: 16 hours
  • Course hours: 0800 - 1600
  • Dates and Locations:
    • March 9-10, 2016 at Colchester PD                                                                                     
    • June 8-9, 2015 at TBD                                                                                       
    • September 14-15, 2016 at Colchester PD                                                                             
    • December 14-15, 2016 at VP Academy
  • Tuition: 
    • $13.00 regionally (lunch is on your own)                                                                                            
    • $48.50 commuting to the VPA (lunch included)                                                                                  
    • $67.00 overnight @ VPA (breakfast, 2 lunches, and dinner included)

Registration: Fax the in-service registration form (Word or PDF) to 802-483-2343 or email it to our registrar at gail.williams@vermont.gov

Course Description

This course is designed to assist officers in becoming more proficient  detecting and  apprehending,  impaired drivers. Upon completion of this training,  officers will be  capable of detecting impairment caused by substances other than alcohol.  All candidates must currently be actively involved in impaired driving enforcement.

Officers MUST be highly skilled in the administration and interpretation of  SFSTs.  Your proficiency will be tested by certified SFST Instructors.  SFSTs are strongly emphasized and you can expect to increase your skill level in using these tests after taking this course. 

This training is an essential tool for officers dedicated to saving lives by removing impaired drivers from our roads. In addition, knowledge and skills obtained during  A.R.I.D.E.  will facilitate better communication and transfer of critical roadside indicators of impairment to the Drug Recognition Expert (DRE) who may be called for a more complete and accurate assessment of impairment. For those considering the pursuit of DRE training, A.R.I.D.E. will serve as a career path step towards achieving that goal



All meetings will be held at the Vermont Fire Academy in Pittsford,  Vermont


Team Two: A Training for Law Enforcement and Mental Health Crisis Workers

Session 1

Date: September 13th, 2016
Location: State Office Complex – Main Entrance Waterbury, Sally Fox Conference Center – Cherry Rooms A, B, C (directions will be sent to participants)
Registration Deadline: August 31st, 2016
Time: 8:30AM - 3:30PM
Cost: Free with food/breaks provided

Registration

Please complete this form and return it to Kristin Chandler by email at teamtwovermont@gmail.com

Course Description

When a mental health crisis arises, whether it is within a family home, at a high school or in a public place, it is critical that the first responders are trained in mental health issues, in mental health law and in working together to resolve the crisis.  Team Two seeks to both educate the first responder and to build the relationships necessary to working together in crisis.  The training provides an overview of relevant mental health statutes and a refresher on mandatory law enforcement mental health training (ACT 80).  Three different scenarios are role played in break-out sessions with local teams of police and mobile crisis workers where specifics of response to the scenarios are discussed in detail.  Small groups report back to the entire group to hear feedback and discuss strategies.   A short video on law enforcement response to situations involving  persons with autism is shown and discussed.  Participants learn from a panel presentation which includes a person with mental illness, a family member, a crisis clinician and a law enforcement officer who all share personal stories.  Finally, in another break out session, the audience hears about resources in their particular regions. 

For more information about the training email Coordinator Kristin Chandler or call (802)236-5065

New in 2015-2016

Police dispatchers and developmental service crisis clinicians join the conversation!  Discussion on: Warrants, CHINS cases, the intoxicated individual with mental illness and practical tips comprise this scenario-based training.  

Completion of ACT 80 (Interacting with Persons with a Mental Illness) is a pre-requisite for law enforcement officers.


  • Coordinator: Ken Hawkins
  • Length of course: 5 days
  • Course hours: 0800-1630
  • Location:  Vermont Police Academy
  • Dates: September 12 - 16, 2016
  • Tuition:
    • Commuting: $89.50
    • Overnight: $243.50
  • Registration:  To register contact the Vermont Police Academy at 802-483-6228, ext. 10.  Standard in-service training application required.
  • Pre-requisites: None

Minimum number to hold class: 8
Maximum number in class: 20

A requirement for VT 9-1-1 call-taker certification, this course covers a wide range of subjects and utilizes actual 9-1-1 calls to expose students to a wide range of emergency and non-emergency calls.  The course includes units on the following subjects

  • Communications, telephone techniques and information gathering
  • Vermont 9-1-1 operating procedures
  • Stress identification and management
  • Liability, legal concepts and perception
  • Role of the call-taker
  • Introduction to law enforcement emergency communications
  • Special call handling for domestic violence, suicide, hostage and terrorism threats and incidents
  • Introduction to fire service emergency communications
  • Hazardous material recognition, questioning and call handling
  • Emergency Medical Dispatch


  • Coordinator: Sara Couture
  • Length of course: 7 hours
  • Course hours: 0830 – 1630 hours
  • Location: Vermont Police Academy
  • Date:  September 9, 2016
  • Tuition: $20.00
  • Registration: Fax the in-service registration form (Word or PDF) to 802-483-2343 or email it to our registrar at gail.williams@vermont.gov

To attend this class: You must have attended a prior workshop on investigating animal cruelty in Vermont.  One that has been sponsored by the Vermont Humane Federation’s Animal Cruelty Response Coalition or attended the Vermont Police Academy’s “Animal Cruelty Investigation – Level I” (this class is being offered this year on August 31, 2016).

This advanced workshop on animal cruelty investigations will focus on more specialized topics in animal cruelty investigation, including:

  • Animal husbandry practices: walking the fine line between education and seizure;
  • Working with the Agency of Agriculture on livestock complaints;
  •  The investigation of equine cruelty complaints;
  • Animal hoarding: handling large-scale animal cruelty investigations.
  • Handling wildlife cruelty complaints

Participants must bring with them their Animal Cruelty Investigation Manual.   

Please Note: Persons who currently own the "Animal Cruelty Investigator’s Manual” (1st, 2nd or 3rd edition) and are interested in purchasing the newly released 4th edition of this manual... please indicate so when registering.  Manual cost is $35.00.


Coordinator: Sara Couture

Length of course: 4 hours
Course hours: see below

Dates/Times:                                                                                             

  • May 5, 2016, 1200-1630 hours
  • September 7, 2016, 1200-1630 hours                                                                                                     

Fingerprint Certification is offered in the morning on the same dates and must be registered for separately.

Location: Vermont Police Academy

Tuition: None, if initial certification. Repeat/audit - $19.50

Registration: Fax the in-service registration form (Word or PDF) to 802-483-2343 or email it to our registrar at gail.williams@vermont.gov

It has been said that the Vehicle Identification Number (VIN) is the motor vehicle’s equivalent to the human’s DNA.  The VIN’s 17 characters provide vehicle specifications such as where it was manufactured, in what year, the make, model, and body type.  American motor vehicle manufacturers have been using VINs on their cars since 1954, but it was not required on all vehicles by NHTSA until the manufacturing of the 1981 model year.

Vermont Department of Motor Vehicles (VT DMV) Inspectors instruct the VIN Verification Course.  Participants who successfully complete this course will be certified by the VT DMV to verify VINs as required by the Agency of Transportation on certain documents.

The skills and knowledge developed in this class will also enhance an officer’s ability to detect stolen vehicles, cloned vehicles and vehicles with altered VINs.

Successful completion of a written examination at the conclusion of the course is required for certification.


Interacting with People Experiencing a Mental Health Crisis

  • Coordinator: Cindy Taylor-Patch
  • Length of course: 1 Day (8 hours)
  • Course hours: 0800 – 1630
  • Dates/Locations:
    • September 6, 2016 at Vermont Fire Academy
    • September 14, 2016 at Milton Fire Department
  • Tuition: Free

 

Email Director of Training Cindy Taylor-Patch for more information.

Course Description

Taught by experienced police officers and professionals from the disability services field, this course will cover a variety of issues surrounding this sometimes controversial topic.  Experts from many state and community agencies and advocates collaborated with VT officers to develop a curriculum that covers some basic ways to recognize a psychiatric or developmental disability and suggestions for positive ways to respond.  Our main purpose for offering this training is to promote officer safety and the safety of all others involved.  Other topics to be discussed include suicide risk factors, self-harming behaviors (ex. "cutting"), relevant laws and legal issues, stigma, resources and treatment options, and most importantly, de-escalation and communication skills.  Officers will gain the skills needed to professionally and effectively interact with people in crisis


  • Coordinator: Sara Couture
  • Length of course: 7 hours
  • Course hours: 0830 – 1630 hours
  • Location: Vermont Police Academy
  • Date:  August 31, 2016
  • Tuition: $53.00 (Includes materials and lunch)
  • Registration: Fax the in-service registration form (Word or PDF) to 802-483-2343 or email it to our registrar at gail.williams@vermont.gov

This introductory workshop on investigating animal cruelty will cover all the basics of an investigation, including, but not limited to:

  • A review of Vermont’s criminal animal cruelty statute;
  • The needed elements for a strong animal cruelty criminal investigation
  • Interview and interrogation techniques
  • Report writing
  • Using expert witnesses
  • Evidence collection
  • Search warrant procedure; and
  • A review of resources available at the local, state and national level to assist in responding to incidents of animal cruelty.

This course will also review Vermont’s Cruelty Response System (CRS) and the CRS web-based case management system, Animal Tracks.  The Vermont Animal Cruelty Response Coalition and the CRS were formed to facilitate cross-agency collaboration and communication in order to more effectively respond to animal cruelty complaints, with an emphasis on accountability and follow up


Commercial Vehicle Awareness - Level II - Size & Weights

  • Coordinator:   Sara Couture
  • Length of course: 24 hours
  • Course hours: 0800 - 1630
  • Date:  August 30-September 1, 2016
  • Location: Vermont Police Academy
  • Tuition: Commuting - $44.00 includes materials and lunch.  Overnight - $122.00 includes materials, meals, and overnight lodging.  If you are taking levels 1 & 2 and want to stay overnight - $184.00 includes materials, meals, and overnight lodging (3 nights, 4 days).  
  • Registration: Open to officers who have at least 3 years of motor vehicle experience.  MUST have completed Commercial Vehicle Awareness - Level I or attended the CMV Awareness/Size & Weights Truck School (40-hour) training that we have hosted in the past.  Contact the Vermont Police Academy at (802) 483-6228 for more information.  Fax the in-service registration form (Word or PDF) to 802-483-2343 or email it to our registrar at gail.williams@vermont.gov

Course Overview:

  1. Commercial vehicle size enforcement
  2. Commercial vehicle weight enforcement
  3. Oversize permits
  4.  DMV Rule 25
  5. Practical exercise/evaluation


Blue Courage® Executive Overview

“In partnership with the Vermont Association of Chiefs of Police, the Vermont Sheriffs’ Association, the Vermont Police Association, the Department of Motor Vehicles, the Vermont Constables’ Association, and the International Association of Directors of Law Enforcement Standards and Training, the Vermont Criminal Justice Training Council has engaged in the process of becoming a Blue Courage immersion state.  To launch this project, the Vermont Police Academy is hosting an Executive Overview and a Master Trainer class.  Attendance is limited to 30 per class; those wanting to attend can register through Gail Williams at the Vermont Police Accademy.

For more information on Blue Courage, please follow this link:   http://bluecourage.com/ “

What is Blue Courage?
Blue Courage is a way of being, A philosophy that inspires one to Embody the noblest of character And unquestioned devotion.
It is to flourish in all aspects of life, To act with practical wisdom, To exude vitality, and To hearten human connections.

Why Blue Courage’s Executive Overview?

Blue Courage is a transformational leadership development workshop designed for all levels of the organization. This executive overview of the Blue Courage educational process is a holistic approach to developing our people. It will touch hearts, awaken minds and ignite spirits through a dynamic presentation of a revolutionary processes. If your interest is self-improvement, increased engagement, stress-management, developing resilience, igniting culture change, combating cynicism, while improving overall health and well-being, then Blue Courage is waiting for you to answer the call!

Download the Flyer


Commercial Vehicle Awareness - Level I

  • Coordinator: Sara Couture
  • Length of course: 8 hours
  • Course hours: 0800 - 1630
  • Date: August 29, 2016
  • Location: Vermont Police Academy
  • Tuition: Commuting $18.50 includes materials and lunch.  If you are taking levels 1 & 2 and want to stay overnight - $184.00 includes materials, meals, and overnight lodging (3 nights, 4 days).  
  • Registration: Open to any police officer who has a working knowledge of Title 23 and experience in motor vehicle stops.  Fax the in-service registration form (Word or PDF) to 802-483-2343 or email it to our registrar at gail.williams@vermont.gov

Course Overview:

  1. Safety around commercial vehicles during the stop
  2. Commercial Driver’s Licenses and Canadian CDL familiarization
  3. International Fuel Tax Agreement
  4.  Apportioned registrations
  5. Commercial Vehicle regulations
  6. Inspection Manual
  7. Accident Protocol


Recruiting, Hiring and Officer Retention

  • DATES:  8/22/2016 through 8/24/2016
  • INSTRUCTOR(S):  Harvey Finkel
  • LOCATION:  Vermont Fire Academy - 93 Davidson Drive, Pittsford, VT  05763
  • HOTEL:  Holiday Inn  - Rutland, VT  (802) 775-1911
    • $89.00 Single or Double
    • Identify with PATC to receive discounted rate.
  • COURSE REGISTRATION FEE:  $295.00 Includes all training materials, and a Certificate of Completion. Meals are not included.
  • Registration: Register online by clicking here

Course Objectives

The Recruiting, Hiring and Officer Retention course is segmented into four distinct training modules. The recruiting module will train the hiring officer/personnel on how to attract the best talent pool with diversity in mind. Next, the hiring module will discuss how to effectively work with Human Resources in order to conduct testing and interviewing. The background investigation module will then teach the individual how to properly administer a background investigation on potential job candidates. The final training module is retention, after you hire the individual, the best methods of to retain the talent will be detailed.

Recruiting

Recruiting with Diversity in mind

The goal of the recruiting component is to identify and attract talent from a diverse pool and to ensure that every candidate is treated fairly throughout the hiring process.  Most recruiters focus on identifying and attracting talent for the organization.  However, the recruiting manager must be equally concerned that once talented candidates are identified – especially diverse candidates – they have a rewarding experience in their interactions with the organization.  They must ensure that the application and screening processes are bias-free and that hiring

Hiring

Define your process in a policy….Protect yourself!

Partners in the process: buy in from your city/county HR department ask them to assist you! Proctor the process so that it is fair and unbiased. Review your plans with them. Treat HR as your ally not the enemy. Community Involvement – if your agency has issues with the appearance of not being fair, ask your community leaders to become involved.

Retention:

Many recruiting managers believe their job is complete when new diverse candidates are hired.  However, when you consider that organizations often spend tens of thousands of dollars to hire a single candidate, retention can be essential to the financial bottom line. Therefore, it is important for the recruiting manager to ensure their organization has strong on-boarding (orientation), mentoring, employee development and career counseling processes.  In addition, the manager should assess the need for employee support groups and recommend the creation of ones deemed necessary.

Background Investigations

Background investigators must be knowledgeable about all applicable local, state, and federal fair employment laws. They must be conversant in the legal requirements for appointment to the positions in question. They must heed all agency policies, practices, and operational limitations. They must base their inquiries and evaluations on candidate behaviors that have a direct relationship to the requirements and demands of the position, and they must do so with consistency and without bias. They must be able to articulate the information gathered from a wide variety of sources and how it is used in determining candidate suitability.

How do we treat a background investigation: Treat this process as you would any investigation, it is confidential, do not talk about this with anyone that does not have a need to know. Speak only to your supervisor or another investigator should you require advise or consul on information developed.

Instructor Bio

Harvey Finkel, Master Police Officer (Retd.)
Harvey served 14 years with the City of Charlottesville Police Department retiring in 2015 as a Master Police Officer. Harvey participated in over 60 hiring processes with the Charlottesville Police Department coordinating all phases from application to on boarding for new employees. He has experience as a recruiter, Hiring Manager and Background Investigator. For 10 years Harvey held a Crime Prevention Specialist (CPS) certification in Virginia which included qualification as a General Instructor. He taught Crime Prevention with the Virginia Crime Prevention Association and assisted the Virginia Department of Criminal Justice Services as an instructor for their Basic Crime Prevention course. A frequent instructor with the regional police academy both at their basic Law Enforcement Academy and for the In Service Program required for LEO continuing certification. Harvey holds an instructor certificate from the National Rifle Association for 3 curriculums.


Friday, August 19, 2016 0900 hours at The Sportsman's Club of Franklin County, Inc.   Pike Farms Estates, Swaanton, VT 05488

​​​First Prize: SIG SAUER P320 Pistol - Valued @ $599.00

Second Prize:  Bl1, Bl2, Bl3 & Bl4 lights with MZMF engraving: Holder, Traffic Cone, Rifle Mount, Pressure Switch & External Charger for bl1&3 included. Valued @ $550.00
Third Prize: Streamlight Stinger HPL LED Flashlight w/ 2 Chargers (AC + DC) 75763. Valued @ $125.00​​


Please read the course description in its entirety before calling to register.

Length of Course: 2 weeks (10 days, Monday through Friday) plus additional field work

Note: All participants must attend all classes during both weeks of the course to be certified as a Firearms Instructor.

Course Hours: 0800-1630, plus two evening sessions on Wednesdays which run until 2100 hours

Location: Vermont Police Academy scenario building and range

Dates:  

  • Entrance testing: 16 or 17 August, 2016
  • Week 1: 19 - 23 September, 2016
  • Week 2:  17 - 21 October, 2016

Tuition:                                

  • Testing: Free
  • Course:  Commute $273/Overnight $558

Registration: To register for this class, your department head or department training officer must send an email to Training Coordinator Jason Williams at Jason.Williams@vermont.gov .

Because of a significant need for instructors by some agencies within the state, registration for the course does not guarantee a reserved seat in the course.  Applicants will be notified in April of this year as to whether their seat has been reserved for testing for the 2016 course.

Application deadline is 7 April, 2016.

Prerequisites: Level III certified law enforcement officer with at least two years of consecutive Vermont law enforcement experience or, Full time certified correctional officer with at least two years of consecutive Vermont corrections experience or, Level II certified law enforcement officer with at least four years of consecutive Vermont law enforcement experience.

Note: Seating for this class will be first come, first served for Level III certified law enforcement and full time corrections personnel, except as stated above.  Level II certified personnel will be placed on a standby list and will be given seating on a first come, first served basis if space is available.  On the job minimum experience levels must be reached prior to the start date of the class.

 

Course Description:          The Vermont Criminal Justice Training Council’s Use of Force Committee has enacted entrance standards that a potential instructor candidate must meet for entrance into the course.  The number of persons who may sign up for the testing will be limited to 16 applicants.  Once the application deadline has been reached for the test, those first 16 applicants who meet the minimum prerequisites will be required to come to the Vermont Police Academy on either the 12th or the 13th of August, 2014 to participate in the entrance testing process.  The testing process will likely take all day to complete.   

The applicant will be required to bring their duty belt, duty handgun, flashlight and/or weapons mounted light, protective vest regularly worn on duty, as well as 300 rounds of ball, (FMJ or TMJ) ammunition for the test date.  Frangible ammunition will be provided at the academy.  Applicants who successfully pass the entrance standards will have a seat reserved for them in the class.  A description of the entrance test standards will be provided to those applicants who are on the test list, as well as study materials.

Those applicants who successfully pass the entrance testing will participate in two weeks of training in classroom firearms and the use of deadly force material, instructor development, range operations, coaching techniques and evaluation methods to prepare them to function as Council certified firearms instructors.

The instructor candidates will participate in practice teaching exercises, develop new and modify current firearms training programs, create lesson plans, become familiar with current liability and civil suit trends, practice range coaching techniques, and be oriented with required range forms, paperwork and firearms training documentation.

Participants must demonstrate the ability to conduct safe range activities as well as identify and correct shooting technique deficiencies of trainees, and to prepare and deliver lessons in a classroom setting.  The course will culminate with instructor candidates providing range activities with new law enforcement recruits under the guidance of the firearms instructor trainers.

Homework will be required for this course and must be completed between weeks one and two of the course.

A list of items that the instructor candidate will be required to bring to the class will be provided upon successful completion of the entrance testing.


Presented by Sgt. Ray DeCunto (Ret.) of RAD Training Inc. 

www.RadTrainingInc.com 

  • Coordinator: Sara Couture
  • Length of course: 24 hours                                                                    
  • Course hours: August 16-18, 2016: 0800-1700 hours                                                                                         
  • Location: Vermont Police Academy
  • Tuition: Commuter $504.00 (lunch included), Overnight $582.00
  • Registration: Fax the in-service registration form (Word or PDF) to 802-483-2343 or email it to our registrar at gail.williams@vermont.gov

This three day course is designed for law enforcement officers assigned to uniform patrol, street crimes or a violent offender unit.This course has minimal classroom mixed with practical hands on training. It will teach the student how to perform physically under stress during violent encounters against them and the citizens in their community.This course includes two training segments which include both tactical and medical.Upon completing the course students will receive a certificate for law enforcement responders in TECC/TCCC and a certificate for tactical patrol techniques.With increasing violence to law enforcement officers, practical scenario based training is paramount to their survival.Officers must be prepared mentally and physically to deal with any type of violent encounter. They must be confident with their abilities and have a solid working knowledge of what actions and tactics to use including medical trauma care.This course will provide the student with a strong platform to build from and expose them to the following realistic and practical training:

  • Mental and physical techniques for maintaining your peak performance to WIN
  • Less lethal and deadly force decision making through scenario based training
  • Dynamic and Slow deliberate structure clearing techniques
  • Techniques for traffic stops and related violent vehicle encounters
  • Close quarter shooting tactics
  • low light movement tactics and clearing techniques
  • Armed suicidal subject encounters; "Suicide by Cop"
  • Hostage situations: containment vs. immediate action
  • Tactics for foot pursuits
  • Tactics for ambushes
  • Rescue carries and trauma medical equipment needed
  • Tactical Emergency Casualty Care (TECC/TCCC) for law enforcement responders


  • Coordinator: Cindy Taylor-Patch
  • Length of course: 40 hours
  • Course hours: 0800 - 1630 hours
  • Dates: August 8 -12, 2016
  • Location: Vermont Fire Academy
  • Tuition: $69.00 for commuters (includes lunch), $245.0 for attendees staying overnight (includes lodging and all meals)
  • Registration: Fax the in-service registration form (Word or PDF) to 802-483-2343 or email it to our registrar at gail.williams@vermont.gov

PLEASE NOTE: Due to the nature of the subject material the class contains graphic content.  This course is limited to sworn law enforcement officers ONLY who have been designated by their agency to conduct death investigations. Full-time certification and at least 3 years of experience are required.

“Few things in our democracy are as important as ensuring that citizens have confidence in their institutions in a crisis.  For many individuals the death of a loved one is just such a crisis.  Ensuring that the proper steps and procedures are taken at the scene of that death to reassure family members that the death was a natural one, a suicide, or a homicide is a key element in maintaining citizen confidence in local officials.”              
                                                                    - Jeanne M. Adkins
                                                                      Death Investigation: A Guide for the Scene Investigator
                                                                      U.S. Department of Justice.

This 40-hour course is designed to provide basic information for officers who are new to, or who want to learn more about, death investigation.

Topics in this course of instruction include:

  • The manner, mechanism and cause of deaths
  •  A review of various types of deaths
  • Autopsy and role of, and interfacing, with the Medical Examiner’s Office
  • Bloodstain Evidence
  • Fire related deaths and hazmat concerns
  • Missing person’s investigations
  • Child and infant Deaths
  • Major crime investigation and evidence
  • Computer forensic analysis and death investigations
  • Case reviews
  • And much more.

Instructors for this course included members of the Office of the Vermont Chief Medical Examiner as well as Vermont State Detectives, members of the Vermont State Police Crime Scene Search Team and Vermont Fish and Wildlife Wardens.


  • Length of course: 8 hours
  • Course hours: 0830 - 1630
  • Dates and Locations:                                                                                   
    • August 1, 2016 at South Burlington Police Department  Due to low enrollment numbers course has been postponed. New date to be announced soon.
  • Tuition: 82.50 (Lunch Not Included)
  • Registration: Fax the in-service registration form (Word or PDF) to 802-483-2343 or email it to our registrar at gail.williams@vermont.gov

This one-day training is ideal for anyone who works with youth at risk of school suspension, dropping out, or juvenile justice involvement, including:

  • School resource officers
  • Police and probation officers
  • Community justice providers

As school resource and law enforcement officers, you have the sometimes difficult task of maintaining the safety of the school setting and community. You also have an opportunity to provide an important connection to young people in need. One 17-year-old young woman to told us “If I ever found myself in an unsafe relationship I know my school resource officer would help me get out of it.” The challenge is finding the balance between these two important and sometimes conflicting roles.

Youth Thrive™ blends the most current neuroscience and trauma research with what we know about youth resiliency, and helps you use that knowledge to connect with young people in ways that promote healing and build cognitive pathways associated with social and emotional well-being. During this one-day training we will provide a brief overview of adolescent brain development and the impact of trauma. Then, we will focus on how we use our relationships with youth to help them connect to us and to concrete supports in times of need.

Training address:

  • Increase awareness how we must adjust our approaches based on  adolescent development, brain development and the impact trauma and chronic stress have on thoughts and behavior
  • What kinds of social connections lead to healthy development and how to help young people make those connections to you and others in their lives
  • How to structure your interactions with youth so you preserve young people's dignity and encourage them to get the help they need

Young people with histories of neglect or trauma need healthy relationships with adults to become successful adults themselves. But sometimes, despite our best efforts, helping systems end up making matters worse. We see the results all around us, in our communities and on the news: marginalized young people, sometimes in conflict with authority, just looking for a foothold in the world.

As professionals and allies working together in a system, we need to decide what we want for youth and how to get there. Youth Thrive shows us what young people need from adults to attain well-being in today’s rapidly changing world.


NCIC Full-Service Terminal Operator

Length of course: 8 hours
Course hours: 0830 – 1630 hrs.
Location: Vermont Fire Academy
Date: July 20, 2016
Point of Contact: TC Ken Hawkins
Tuition: $17.00 (lunch & materials included)

Registration: Fax the in-service registration form (Word or PDF) to 802-483-2343 or email it to our registrar at gail.williams@vermont.gov

The Vermont Criminal Information Center (VCIC) will provide basic terminal instruction in VLETS, NLETS and NCIC for newly hired full or part-time dispatchers or officers who have not been NCIC certified within six (6) months of hire. The course runs from 0830 to 1530 hours and the NCIC certification examination will be administered from 1530 to 1630. Sign up early as space is limited.


Spillman Dispatcher Training Course

  • Length of Course: 1 day (8 hours)
  • Course Hours: 0830 – 1630 hours
  • Location: Vermont Police Academy (computer lab)
  • Coordinator: Kenneth Hawkins
  • Dates:
    • April 26, 2016
    • July 19, 2016
  • Tuition: Commuting - $18.00
  • Enrollment: Police & dispatchers only

Course Description 

The Spillman Pre-Training Checklist is a new required form that must be completed and submitted prior to attending this Course. Instructions for this form can be found here.

This course is mandatory requirement for all Dispatchers within 60 days of hiring date. As such it will be offered monthly.

  1. Introduction to the Spillman System
  2. Log on / off
  3. Names Table Search
  4. Names Table Entry
  5. Vehicle/Property Search and Entry
  6. CAD (Computer Aided Dispatch) Instruction


  • Coordinator:  Jason Williams
  • Length of Course: 8 hours
  • Course hours:  0800-1630
  • Date/Location:  12 July, 2016/VPA gym
  • Tuition:  $17.50 Commuting
  • Registration: Fax the in-service registration form (Word or PDF) to 802-483-2343 or email it to our registrar at gail.williams@vermont.gov
  • Prerequisite: Currently Certified VCJTC Ground Fighting Instructor

This one-day training will refresh and review the program skills from the VCJTC Ground-Fighting Instructor Course.  Training will include a complete review of the course curriculum to refresh the skills utilized by currently certified instructors when teaching the program.   New course updates and materials will be provided during training.  Attire should include suitable workout clothing, athletic shoes, handcuffs and key. 


  • Date and Time: Monday, July, 11, 2016, 0800 - 1600.
  • Location: The Winooski Educational Center 70 Normand Street, Winooski, VT 05404
  • Registration: Download the registration paperwork and fax to Ms. Tammy Lynn LaBonte, 860. 436.9822 
  • Cost: 125.00 Per Student (Group Discounts Available)
  • Download the Flyer

This course is an easy to use communications class for street confrontations that will assist to de-escalate engagements, reduce complaints, and liability, as well enhance officer survival!”

This is a classroom based combat-confrontation conflict resolution avoidance course. The program instructed within a classroom setting how to recognize aggression and not stimulate aggression. Students learn Active Diffusion Strategies that can avoid escalating or resolve interactions by employing tactical de-escalation methods. Officers are instructed in officer safety tactical options when de-escalation does not work and how to deploy and coordinate successful strategies. Instruction uses lectures and demonstrations to facilitate learning.

INSTRUCTIONAL OBJECTIVES:

  • Risk management for officer safety
  •  How complaints are used against officers in litigation
  •  Learn principles of emotional intelligence for law enforcement
  •  Identify professional benefits of active diffusion strategies
  •  Learn methods of effective verbal de-escalation strategies
  •  Understanding physiological changes during aggression
  •  Learn to use cognitive limitations for active diffusion
  •  Learn methods to re-direct the thought process
  •  Identity different communications styles with appropriate response tactics
  •  Learn methods of motivational interviewing skills
  •  Learn methods of distraction to obtain tactical advantages
  •  Learn communication and physical strategies to de-escalate situations
  • Plus more!


  • Coordinator:  Jason Williams
  • Length of Course: 8 hours
  • Course hours:  0800-1630
  • Date:
    • 29 June, 2016
    • 21 October, 2016 
  • Location:  Vermont Police Academy
  • Tuition:  $17.50 Commuting
  • Registration: Fax the in-service registration form (Word or PDF) to 802-483-2343 or email it to our registrar at gail.williams@vermont.gov

This one-day comprehensive training will recertify VCJTC Use-of-Force & Tactics Instructors in the disciplines of the Monadnock Defensive Tactics System, the Monadnock Expandable Baton and / or the PR-24 Baton.   Attendees should be dressed appropriately for defensive tactics training and bring their duty belt, handcuffs, training OC, training firearm and MEB and / or PR-24 baton.   Course participants will receive refresher training in all the skills from the programs and will be expected to pass a physical proficiency and written test.  Attendees certified in one, two or all three programs (MDTS, PR-24 & MEB) can attend the training at be re-certified at the basic user-level if they are not an instructor in one or more of the three programs already.  To qualify to attend, students must be an instructor in at least one of the three programs already.


www.gems-girls.org

Coordinator:  Sara Couture                                                                                                                                         

Length of Course: 16 hours
Course hours: 0830-1600 hours
Date & Location: June 28-29, 2016 at the Vermont Fire Academy

Tuition: $10.00 for Commute or Overnight
Registration:  Fax the in-service registration form (Word or PDF) to 802-483-2343 or email it to our registrar at gail.williams@vermont.gov

Girls Educational and Mentoring Services (GEMS), the nation’s largest service provider to commercially sexually exploited and domestically trafficked girls and young women, will present its nationally recognized CCIP Train-the-Trainer curriculum. This training will provide foundational knowledge of commercial sexual exploitation (CSE) and domestic trafficking of youth with regard to language, terms and definitions, criminal behaviors and market forces (supply, demand motivation) as well as the relation of trauma bonds to victims of CSE and domestic trafficking. The training be co-facilitated by retired Det. Alan Krok, veteran of the Chicago Police Department. Participants will have the opportunity to examine the stages of change model and how it can be utilized to engage with youth exploited in the commercial sex industry.  Participants will also gain knowledge on best practices in identifying and engaging with CSE and domestically trafficked youth.

This training is sponsored by the Children’s Justice Act Grant.  DCF, Guidance Counselors, and anyone working closely with youth are welcome to register.  This is not solely a law enforcement training.


 

Basic Domestic Violence Training

  • Coordinator: TJ Anderson
  • Length of course: 8 hours
  • Course hours: 0800 – 1630 hours
  • Location: Vermont Police Academy
  • Dates:
    • Wednesday, March 23, 2016   
    • Monday, June 20, 2016           
    • Wednesday, October 5, 2016    
  • Tuition: None, if initial certification. Repeat/audit - $20.50
  • Minimum number to hold a class: 9
  • Maximum number in class: 35

Registration

 Fax the in-service registration form (Word or PDF) to 802-483-2343 or email it to our registrar at gail.williams@vermont.gov

Course Description

Responding to reports of domestic violence continue to pose high risks and deep frustrations to police.

During this training, officers will review and, in the case of a new officer, learn the fundamentals on how to most effectively respond to domestic violence incidents, to include, reviewing:

  • The dynamics of domestic violence
  • Domestic violence related Vermont statutes and relevant case law
  • The investigation and creation of solid domestic violence cases for prosecutorial purposes
  •  Local and state resources for victims/survivors of domestic violence
  •  Dominant aggressor determination
  • Types of Vermont protection orders, their service, and enforcement

This course fulfills the domestic violence training requirement for:

  1. Persons going through the part-time police officer process
  2. Waiver officers.


  • Coordinator: Sara Couture
  • Length of course: 4 hours
  • Course hours: 1230-1630 hours
  • Date:  June 14, 2016
  • Cost:  $18.50 Commuting, $57.50 Overnight
  • Registration: Fax the in-service registration form (Word or PDF) to 802-483-2343 or email it to our registrar at gail.williams@vermont.gov

Animal cruelty is a serious crime with close ties to human violence, and Vermont has the largest per capita rate of pet ownership in the country. It is more likely than not that law enforcement officers will handle criminal cases involving animal mistreatment. While all Vermont law enforcement officers have the authority to act as humane agents, police agencies may not always have the personpower or resources to respond as effectively or quickly as they would like to complaints of animal cruelty.

This presentation will:

  • Explore the connection between animal cruelty and human violence;
  • Familiarize law enforcement officers with Vermont’s criminal code related to crimes against animals;
  • Provide an overview of animal cruelty investigation techniques, and
  • Provide participants with local, state and national resources that are available to assist them with investigations.

This POST Basic course has been approved for 4 hours of in-service credit by the Vermont Criminal Justice Training Council. Standard in-service training application required.

INSTRUCTOR: Joanne Bourbeau, Northeastern Regional Director, The Humane Society of the United States (HSUS). Joanne has been with the HSUS, the nation’s largest animal protection organization, since 1995. She holds a Bachelor of Science degree in Animal Science from the University of New Hampshire, and a certificate in non-profit business management from Johns Hopkins University. She is a graduate of the National Cruelty Investigations School offered by the University of Missouri’s Law Enforcement Training Institute School of Law, and heads the Vermont Humane Federation’s state-wide Animal Cruelty Response Coalition (ACRC). As chair of the VACRC, Joanne regularly instructs and counsels local & state law enforcement agencies, municipal officials and shelter personnel on the investigation of animal cruelty cases in Vermont. She is a regular instructor of Animal Cruelty Investigations at the Vermont Police Academy, and currently serves on the FBI’s. Implementation Committee for Animal Control Officer/National Incidence Based Reporting System Reporting.


Council Meeting

All meetings will be held at the Vermont Fire Academy in Pittsford,  Vermont


This course is offered regionally approximately 4 times each year and twice at the Academy (post-basic, limited seating).

  • Coordinator: Sara Couture
  • Length of course: 8 hours
  • Course hours: 0800 - 1600
  • Date/Location:  June 10, 2016/VPA (Post-Basic Limited Seating)
  • Tuition: $22.00 @ the Vermont Police Academy (includes lunch & materials); Cost is $5.50 off campus (includes materials)
  • Registration: Fax the in-service registration form (Word or PDF) to 802-483-2343 or email it to our registrar at gail.williams@vermont.gov
    • National Highway Traffic Safety Administration Certification course. This course provides officers training in the setup, testing and operation of any LASER speed measuring device.
    • Participant is urged to bring a Laser device to class.
    • Four hours in classroom.
    • Four hours supervised practical training. (Officers should be in uniform and prepared for traffic enforcement.)


  • Coordinator: Sara Couture
  • Length of course: 16 hours
  • Course hours: 0800 - 1600
  • Dates and Locations:
    • March 9-10, 2016 at Colchester PD                                                                                     
    • June 8-9, 2015 at TBD                                                                                       
    • September 14-15, 2016 at Colchester PD                                                                             
    • December 14-15, 2016 at VP Academy
  • Tuition: 
    • $13.00 regionally (lunch is on your own)                                                                                            
    • $48.50 commuting to the VPA (lunch included)                                                                                  
    • $67.00 overnight @ VPA (breakfast, 2 lunches, and dinner included)

Registration: Fax the in-service registration form (Word or PDF) to 802-483-2343 or email it to our registrar at gail.williams@vermont.gov

Course Description

This course is designed to assist officers in becoming more proficient  detecting and  apprehending,  impaired drivers. Upon completion of this training,  officers will be  capable of detecting impairment caused by substances other than alcohol.  All candidates must currently be actively involved in impaired driving enforcement.

Officers MUST be highly skilled in the administration and interpretation of  SFSTs.  Your proficiency will be tested by certified SFST Instructors.  SFSTs are strongly emphasized and you can expect to increase your skill level in using these tests after taking this course. 

This training is an essential tool for officers dedicated to saving lives by removing impaired drivers from our roads. In addition, knowledge and skills obtained during  A.R.I.D.E.  will facilitate better communication and transfer of critical roadside indicators of impairment to the Drug Recognition Expert (DRE) who may be called for a more complete and accurate assessment of impairment. For those considering the pursuit of DRE training, A.R.I.D.E. will serve as a career path step towards achieving that goal


  • Coordinator:  Jason Williams
  • Length of Course:  8 hours
  • Course hours:  0800-1630
  • Date/Location:  8 June, 2016/ VPA classroom 3
  • Tuition:  Commuting: $78/ Overnight: $116.50 (if the student is bringing their own ammunition then subtract $50.40 from the course cost)
  • Registration: Fax the in-service registration form (Word or PDF) to 802-483-2343 or email it to our registrar at gail.williams@vermont.gov

This course is designed to provide the newly graduated officer with the basic skills necessary to properly store, transport and utilize their shotgun or a refresher for veteran officers.  Topics covered will include operation of the shotgun, ammunition types and their usage, and proper deployment techniques.  The first half of the class is conducted in the classroom setting, and the second half of the day is spent on the range conducting live fire exercises.  Students are encouraged to bring their department’s issued shotgun or their own acceptable tactical shotgun; however the academy has some shotguns on hand for training purposes.  The student is also required to bring his/her duty belt including handgun, as well as the type of protective vest that they wear at work.  Students may bring their own ammunition, which should include at a minimum 50 rounds of handgun ammunition, 15 rounds of buckshot, 15 rounds of slug and 50 rounds of birdshot.  The academy will also provide ammunition for those departments wishing to include that cost into their tuition.  For those who bring their own ammunition and weapons, the only acceptable gauge will be 12 gauge, and all shotguns must be pump action or pump action capable.


Spillman Officer Training Course

  • Length of Course: 1 day (8hours)
  • Course Hours: 0830 – 1630 hours
  • Location: Vermont Police Academy (computer lab)
  • Coordinator: Kenneth Hawkins
  • Dates:
    • April 12, 2016
    • June 7, 2016
  • Tuition: Commuting - $18.00
  • Enrollment: Police & dispatchers only

Registration: Fax the in-service registration form (Word or PDF) to 802-483-2343 or email it to our registrar at gail.williams@vermont.gov

Course Description

The Spillman Pre-Training Checklist is a new required form that must be completed and submitted prior to attending this Course. Instructions for this form can be found here.

This class is only mandatory for officers requiring access to add/modify Names, Vehicle, Property tables. Access to Narratives is allowed by default. As such it is offered bi-monthly.

  1. Introduction to the Spillman System
  2. Log on / off
  3. Names Table Search
  4. Names Table Entry
  5. Vehicle/Property Search and Entry
  6. Law Incident Entry and Modification
  7. Narrative Entry


  • Coordinator:  Jason Williams
  • Length of Course: 8 hours
  • Course hours:  0800-1630
  • Date/Location:  7 June, 2016/VPA Classroom 3 and range
  • Tuition: 
    • Commuting $19.50
    • Overnight $26.50
  • Registration: Fax the in-service registration form (Word or PDF) to 802-483-2343 or email it to our registrar at gail.williams@vermont.gov

This class is designed for the newly graduated police academy recruit, as well as the veteran officer, who is interested in an introductory course into the use and deployment of the patrol rifle.  This is a familiarization course only and not a qualification course.  Students are required to bring their own patrol rifle, as well as 150 rounds of practice ammunition for their rifle (no steel or aluminum cased ammo please), their duty belt including handgun and 50 rounds of handgun ammunition, and their ballistic vest that they normally wear on duty.  Weapon slings are highly recommended but not required.  This course will consist of classroom and range time.


Date: 6/6/2016 - 6/10/2016
Location: Randolph, VT. Vermont Technical College campus, Langevin House
Registration: Register online with NTOA

Individuals who have recently been assigned to SWAT and have not received basic SWAT training will benefit from this comprehensive introduction to tactical skills. Students will be introduced to basic SWAT topics, tactics and techniques including a historical overview of SWAT, team organization and structure, resolution of barricaded suspect situations, covert individual and team movement, searches and room clearing, chemical agents, less lethal options, warrant service and multiple field training exercises. This is a hands on, high intensity course in which students practice tactics and techniques in the field.


This course is offered regionally about 4 times each year and twice at the Academy (post-basic, limited seating).

  • Coordinator: Sara Couture
  • Length of Course: 8 hours
  • Course hours: 0800-1600
  • Date/Location: June 2, 2016/VPA (Post-Basic Limited Seating)
  • Tuition: None if initial training.  $22.00 @ the Vermont Police Academy (includes lunch and materials), $6.50  off campus ( includes materials).

This course delivered by VCJTC certified Instructors is designed to provide police officers with the necessary certification to set-up, test, and operate radar devices for speed measurement. The eight-hour class which includes both classroom and field experience provides the officer with the knowledge and skills to operate both stationary and moving radar. The following topics are presented: Doppler theory; VT statutory and case law regarding speed enforcement; operation of specific speed measurement devices; and courtroom testimony.


The Vermont Police Association is hosting a one day patrol rifle workshop for members on June 2nd 2016, followed by patrol rifle competition on June 3rd 2016.  The workshop will cover advanced rifle deployment techniques, followed by one day of shooting competition and elimination. 

The training evolutions are generally 100 yards and closer and can include moving targets, multiple adversaries, target identification, judgment in the use of force while shooting from various positions under physical and mental stress within given time limits.

A full day of patrol rifle competition will challenge participants and allow them to utilize the skills

they learned the day before.  The winner of the competition will receive a patrol rifle donated by Parro’s Gun Shop, as well as receive a trophy which will be presented at the annual conference being held November 12, 2016 at The Essex, Vermont Culinary Resort and Spa in Essex Junction, VT.  THE NUMBER OF COMPETITION PARTICIPANTS IS LIMITED TO FORTY (40), SO REGISTER AS SOON AS POSSIBLE.

Members can register for either or both events.  If you’re not a member, you can register on the day of the event, you must be a Law Enforcement Officers. Registration forms can be found on our Facebook and Website pages or you can email Michael.Major@Vermont.Gov.   Please include your name, address, DOB, email address and phone number.  Payment will be due on the day of each training.

Thursday June 2nd

Registration will start at 07:30, 08:00-12:00 classroom, 12:00-13:00 lunch, and 13:00-17:00 classroom.  Registration forms and payment will be required.

Friday June 3rd,

Registration will begin at 07:00, Registration forms and payment will be due and inspection of weapons will be conducted.

  • Competition: https://www.facebook.com/events/1613047998917620/
  • The cost of the rifle competition is $20.00 (Lunch supplied for an additional $5.00) 
  • All participants must have completed a basic patrol rifle, tactical rifle, or carbine user’s course to be eligible to compete. Military basic training meets this requirement. Proof will be required to register
  • Competition:  150 Rifle Rounds , 150 Pistols Rounds


  • Coordinator: Sara Couture
  • Length of course: 4 hours                                                                      
  • Course hours: see below
  • Dates/Times:                                                                                            
    • May 5, 2016: 0800-1130 hours
    • June 1, 2016: 0800-1200 hours
    • September 7, 2016: 0800-1130 hours
  • VIN Verification is offered in the afternoon on the same dates and must be registered for separately.
  • Location: Vermont Police Academy
  • Tuition: None, if initial certification. Repeat/audit - $9.00

 

Fingerprints offer an infallible means of personal identification.  They are used for identification of a person, background checks for employment, documenting criminal records, creating investigative leads, and tying suspects to evidence or crime scenes.

This course is designed to train police officers to properly roll legible fingerprints.  It also provides police officers with the necessary certification to obtain fingerprints from minors as required by statute.  This certification is valid for three years.  See Fingerprint Re-certification for recert processes.

This course has been designed by Vermont Criminal Information Center Identification Section and includes:

An overview of basic fingerprinting classification, the procedure of taking prints, officer safety while printing, how to properly fill out required fingerprint cards, and the life of a fingerprint card.

All students will practice rolling fingerprints under the supervision of trainers.

Rolling a quality set of fingerprint impressions and the successful completion of a written exam are required for certification.


  • Coordinator: Sara Couture
  • Length of course: 4 hours
  • Course hours: see below
  • Dates/Times:                                                                                             
    • May 5, 2016, 1200-1630 hours
    • June 1, 2016, 1230-1630 hours
    • September 7, 2016, 1200-1630 hours                                                                                                     
  • Fingerprint Certification is offered in the morning on the same dates and must be registered for separately.
  • Location: Vermont Police Academy
  • Tuition: None, if initial certification. Repeat/audit - $19.50

 

It has been said that the Vehicle Identification Number (VIN) is the motor vehicle’s equivalent to the human’s DNA.  The VIN’s 17 characters provide vehicle specifications such as where it was manufactured, in what year, the make, model, and body type.  American motor vehicle manufacturers have been using VINs on their cars since 1954, but it was not required on all vehicles by NHTSA until the manufacturing of the 1981 model year.

Vermont Department of Motor Vehicles (VT DMV) Inspectors instruct the VIN Verification Course.  Participants who successfully complete this course will be certified by the VT DMV to verify VINs as required by the Agency of Transportation on certain documents.

The skills and knowledge developed in this class will also enhance an officer’s ability to detect stolen vehicles, cloned vehicles and vehicles with altered VINs.

Successful completion of a written examination at the conclusion of the course is required for certification.


Coordinator: Sara Couture
Length of course: 40 hours (5 days)
Course hours: 0800 - 1630
Dates:

  • March 28-April 1, 2016
  • May 23-27, 2016
  • October 10-14, 2016
  • November 28- December 2, 2016**

**Post-basic classes.  Preference will be given to graduates of the 101st and 102nd Basic Classes.

Location: Vermont Police Academy
 

Tuition: None, if initial training, includes accommodations and lunch.
Audits - Commute $127.00; Overnight $281.00.

Registration: Fax the in-service registration form (Word or PDF) to 802-483-2343 or email it to our registrar at gail.williams@vermont.gov

This 40-hour course provides police officers with the knowledge and skills to operate the DMT Infrared Breath Testing Device used to collect evidentiary breath samples for DUI cases. The course, delivered by VCJTC certified instructors, instructors from the Department of Health, the Office of Alcohol and Drug Abuse Program and the State's Attorney's Office, provides Infrared Breath Testing Device Certification.

The following topics are also discussed:

  • DUI Law and Case Law
  • Physiological and Psychological Effects of Alcohol
  • DUI Detection and Apprehension Techniques
  • Standardized Field Sobriety Exercises
  • DUI Processing Forms
  • Courtroom Testimony at the DUI Trial
  • Introduction to Drugged Driving

* Officers must bring their own copy of Title 23.

* Homework Required.


SIG SAUER Master Pistol Instructor Course

  • Coordinator:  Jason Williams
  • Length of Course:  16 hours
  • Course hours:  0830 - 1700
  • Date/Location:  11 – 12 May, 2016; Vermont Police Academy.  The class will begin in the VPA UOFTS room located in the scenario building.
  • Tuition:  SIG SAUER course tuition is $600 which will be billed to you or your agency by SIG SAUER Academy fees billed separately are $36.50 for commuting students and $75.00 for overnight students.
  • Minimum number to hold in class:  10
  • Maximum number in class:  16

Registration

Contact the SIG SAUER Academy Training Coordinator via phone at 603-610-3411.

This class is limited to law enforcement professionals, and SIG SAUER has additional prerequisites that must be met in order to attend this class.

Course description: (directly from the SIG SAUER website)

Prerequisite 

Attendees must be a previously certified firearms instructor through the SIG SAUER Academy or certified through another nationally recognized instructor development program (5 day minimum). Call SIG SAUER for clarification.

Course Outline 

We hold our instructors to the absolute highest standard and we teach to the absolute highest standard. The SIG SAUER Academy wants to ensure all attendees have the knowledge, skills, and abilities to meet course standards. However, we understand each shooter is different and each shooter learns at a different level. Therefore, qualification standards allow students to quickly assess their abilities in a controlled environment in order to prepare them for the next level of training. We talk the talk and walk the walk. All SIG SAUER Academy instructors are required to pass a semiannual master level qualification course in order to maintain instructor status.

Successful course credit requires a passing score on a shooting qualification test to be administered by the instructor before course conclusion. This shooting qualification is specifically developed to test the skills, safety, and techniques taught in this course. The qualification and standard will not be posted or made available. Students who do not pass this qualification will receive a certificate of attendance for the course.

The following is a course outline of what you can expect to cover:

  • Understanding and teaching visual input necessary for success
  • Understanding and teaching biomechanics
  • Adult learning styles for performance improvement
  • Breaking down the barriers of conventional training
  • Inoculating the new shooter
  • Foundational drills and skills for repeatable success
  • The law of non-arguable 'Y's
  • Establishing metrics for program success
Equipment 
  • Pistol in good working order with at least 3 magazines
  • Sturdy belt at least 1.5” wide
  • Strong side hip duty or concealment belt holster
  • Magazine pouch
  • Hearing protection
  • Wrap-around eye protection
  • Comfortable clothing
Ammo 
  • Estimated round count: 900 rounds pistol


Coordinator: Sara Couture

Length of course: 4 hours
Course hours: see below

Dates/Times:                                                                                             

  • May 5, 2016, 1200-1630 hours
  • September 7, 2016, 1200-1630 hours                                                                                                     

Fingerprint Certification is offered in the morning on the same dates and must be registered for separately.

Location: Vermont Police Academy

Tuition: None, if initial certification. Repeat/audit - $19.50

Registration: Fax the in-service registration form (Word or PDF) to 802-483-2343 or email it to our registrar at gail.williams@vermont.gov

It has been said that the Vehicle Identification Number (VIN) is the motor vehicle’s equivalent to the human’s DNA.  The VIN’s 17 characters provide vehicle specifications such as where it was manufactured, in what year, the make, model, and body type.  American motor vehicle manufacturers have been using VINs on their cars since 1954, but it was not required on all vehicles by NHTSA until the manufacturing of the 1981 model year.

Vermont Department of Motor Vehicles (VT DMV) Inspectors instruct the VIN Verification Course.  Participants who successfully complete this course will be certified by the VT DMV to verify VINs as required by the Agency of Transportation on certain documents.

The skills and knowledge developed in this class will also enhance an officer’s ability to detect stolen vehicles, cloned vehicles and vehicles with altered VINs.

Successful completion of a written examination at the conclusion of the course is required for certification.


DATE:               Monday – May 2, 2016

 

TIME:                 8:30 AM – 4:00 PM

 

LOCATION:   Brattleboro Retreat

                          1 Anna Marsh Lane

                        Education Conference Room

 

COST:                 FREE with food/breaks provided

                                                               

Class will be limited to 35.

 

REGISTRATION DEADLINE:         April 15th, 2016

The Team Two curriculum focuses on collaboration between law enforcement and mobile mental health crisis teams in the field.  New in 2015-2016 – police dispatchers and developmental service crisis clinicians join the conversation!  Discussion on: Warrants, CHINS cases, the intoxicated individual with mental illness and practical tips comprise this scenario-based training.   Completion of ACT 80 (Interacting with Persons with a Mental Illness) is a pre-requisite for law enforcement officers.

 

REGISTRATION INFORMATION:

 

Please complete this form and return it to Kristin Chandler by email at teamtwovermont@gmail.com


  • Conducted by: Roger Williams University Justice System Training & Research Institute in partnership with the New England Association of Chiefs of Police, Inc.
  • Date & Time: Monday, May 2 – 6, 2016
    • Registration   8:00 am – 8:30 am (May 2nd only)
    • Presentation   8:30 am - 4:30 pm
  • Location: South Burlington Police Department 19 Gregory Drive, South Burlington, VT
  • Registration: register online at http://www.rwu.edu/academics/schools-colleges/sjs/centers-institutes/jjstri/internal-affairs-may2016
    • Telephone inquiries should be made to Liz Campo, Administrative Assistant to the School of Justice Studies at (401) 254-3731 or e-mail her at ecampo@rwu.edu or fax (401) 254-3351.
    • **WE REQUIRE 72 HOURS CANCELLATION PRIOR TO THE SEMINAR OR YOU WILL BE CHARGED THE REQUIRED FEE.**
  • Cost: $645.00

The Internal Affairs Course addresses the crucial role that the internal affairs function assumes in the maintenance of professional conduct within a law enforcement agency.  Discussion will revolve around the development and application of internal affairs policy and procedure standards, including essential elements of an internal affairs or professional standards system, and more specifically address complaint reception protocols, investigation protocols, case reporting requirements, employee rights, case review & final disposition, and personnel records management.  Additionally, legal decisions affecting internal affairs investigations, civil liability related to 42 USC 1441, issues related to U.S. Department of Justice “Pattern or Practice” investigations, and the utilization of Early Identification and Intervention Systems will also be considered.

Attendees will be introduced to common deficiencies found in agency internal investigation procedures, recommendations related to the types of investigations that should be handled by internal affairs investigators versus first-line supervisors, the consideration of the use of proactive versus reactive investigations, and legal guidelines concerning compelled employee statements. 

The cost for the five-day course is $645.00, which includes all course materials.  Checks should be made payable to the Roger Williams University Justice System Training & Research Institute (JST&RI), 144 Anthony Road, Portsmouth, RI 02871.  Lodging information for out-of-state attendees is available.  Telephone inquiries should be made to Liz Campo, Administrative Assistant to the School of Justice Studies at (401) 254-3731 or e-mail her at ecampo@rwu.edu or fax (401) 254-3351. You can also register online at http://www.rwu.edu/academics/schools-colleges/sjs/centers-institutes/jjstri/internal-affairs-may2016

**WE REQUIRE 72 HOURS CANCELLATION PRIOR TO THE SEMINAR OR YOU WILL BE CHARGED THE REQUIRED FEE.**


Glock Instructor’s Workshop

  • Coordinator: Jason Williams
  • Length of Course:2.5 days/ 20 hours
  • Course Hours: 0800 – 1700 except Friday which is 0800 - 1200
  • Date:  27 – 29 April, 2016
  • Location: Vermont Police Academy Scenario Building
  • Tuition:  $350 paid directly to Glock, Inc.
  • Minimum number to hold in class:  16
  • Maximum number in class:  16

Registration

Visit the Glock, Inc. website at to register.  Registrations will not be accepted by the academy.

Course Description

Download the course description


Spillman Dispatcher Training Course

  • Length of Course: 1 day (8 hours)
  • Course Hours: 0830 – 1630 hours
  • Location: Vermont Police Academy (computer lab)
  • Coordinator: Kenneth Hawkins
  • Dates:
    • April 26, 2016
    • July 19, 2016
  • Tuition: Commuting - $18.00
  • Enrollment: Police & dispatchers only

Course Description 

The Spillman Pre-Training Checklist is a new required form that must be completed and submitted prior to attending this Course. Instructions for this form can be found here.

This course is mandatory requirement for all Dispatchers within 60 days of hiring date. As such it will be offered monthly.

  1. Introduction to the Spillman System
  2. Log on / off
  3. Names Table Search
  4. Names Table Entry
  5. Vehicle/Property Search and Entry
  6. CAD (Computer Aided Dispatch) Instruction


Glock Armorer’s Class

  • Length of Course: 1 day/8 hours
  • Course hours:  0800 - 1700
  • Date/Location: 26 April, 2016 at Vermont Police Academy Scenario Building
  • Tuition:  $250 paid directly to Glock, Inc.

Class Description

Student supplies safety glasses for eye protection and a small flashlight.
GLOCK provides lunch meal unless otherwise noted.
Certified Armorer Certification for all GLOCK Model Pistols (except 018/C Select-Fire models). 

Morning 8:00 -12:00

  • Introduction
  • Safety Rules
  • Safe Action System Desigri
  • Function of Safeties
  • Unloading and Clearing
  • Field Stripping and Reassembly
  • Detail Disassembly and Reassembly of Slide 

Lunch Break 

Afternoon 13:00 - 17:00

  • Detail Disassembly and Reassembly of Receiver
  • Fire Control Component Configurations / Engagement
  • Multiple Practice Disassembly and Reassembly of Entire Pistol
  • Options / Alternate Parts Offered
  • Sights / Tools
  • Diagnostics / Trouble Shooting Guides
  • Review
  • Written Examination (Minimum Required Score 80%)
  • Class Completion and Farewell

Please Note: This is a generic agenda and may be altered somewhat by the Instructor.


Spillman Officer Training Course

  • Length of Course: 1 day (8hours)
  • Course Hours: 0830 – 1630 hours
  • Location: Vermont Police Academy (computer lab)
  • Coordinator: Kenneth Hawkins
  • Dates:
    • April 12, 2016
    • June 7, 2016
  • Tuition: Commuting - $18.00
  • Enrollment: Police & dispatchers only

Registration: Fax the in-service registration form (Word or PDF) to 802-483-2343 or email it to our registrar at gail.williams@vermont.gov

Course Description

The Spillman Pre-Training Checklist is a new required form that must be completed and submitted prior to attending this Course. Instructions for this form can be found here.

This class is only mandatory for officers requiring access to add/modify Names, Vehicle, Property tables. Access to Narratives is allowed by default. As such it is offered bi-monthly.

  1. Introduction to the Spillman System
  2. Log on / off
  3. Names Table Search
  4. Names Table Entry
  5. Vehicle/Property Search and Entry
  6. Law Incident Entry and Modification
  7. Narrative Entry


Coordinator: Sara Couture
Length of course: 40 hours (5 days)
Course hours: 0800 - 1630
Dates:

  • March 28-April 1, 2016
  • May 23-27, 2016
  • October 10-14, 2016
  • November 28- December 2, 2016**

**Post-basic classes.  Preference will be given to graduates of the 101st and 102nd Basic Classes.

Location: Vermont Police Academy
 

Tuition: None, if initial training, includes accommodations and lunch.
Audits - Commute $127.00; Overnight $281.00.

Registration: Fax the in-service registration form (Word or PDF) to 802-483-2343 or email it to our registrar at gail.williams@vermont.gov

This 40-hour course provides police officers with the knowledge and skills to operate the DMT Infrared Breath Testing Device used to collect evidentiary breath samples for DUI cases. The course, delivered by VCJTC certified instructors, instructors from the Department of Health, the Office of Alcohol and Drug Abuse Program and the State's Attorney's Office, provides Infrared Breath Testing Device Certification.

The following topics are also discussed:

  • DUI Law and Case Law
  • Physiological and Psychological Effects of Alcohol
  • DUI Detection and Apprehension Techniques
  • Standardized Field Sobriety Exercises
  • DUI Processing Forms
  • Courtroom Testimony at the DUI Trial
  • Introduction to Drugged Driving

* Officers must bring their own copy of Title 23.

* Homework Required.


Coordinated by Cindy Taylor-Patch, Director of Training

The Training Advisory Committee (TAC) is comprised of representatives from throughout the VT Criminal Justice System. The TAC's primary purpose is to conduct comprehensive reviews of new and updated curriculum for both Basic Training and In-Service Academy programs (excluding use of force curriculum) - recommending acceptance or denial of these programs to the Executive Director. In addition to these reviews the TAC also periodically conducts scheduled reviews of both basic training programs (full and part-time) to ensure they are current and reflective of the current needs of modern policing. The TAC is also responsible for the review of Academy instructor certification/recertification requests in those circumstances where extenuating circumstances arise causing the staff to seek their counsel. In addition to these responsibilities the TAC may also undertake special assignments as put forth by the Executive Director or Council.

Members

  • Chair: George Merkel, Chief, Vergennes PD
  • Vice Chair: Vacant
  • Kevin McLaughlin, Sheriff, Chittenden CSD
  • Barbara Zonay, Lt., VSP
  • Andy Thibault, Lt., Dept. of Liquor Control
  • Douglas Johnston, Chief, Springfield PD
  • Keith Clark, Sheriff, Windham CSD
  • Greg Eckhardt, Lt., Dept. of Fish and Wildlife
  • Mary McIntyre, Lt., VT Dept. of Motor Vehicles

The next TAC meeting will be held on March 24, 2016 from 0900 – 1300.


WebCrash Basics

Coordinator:  Sara Couture

Length of Course: 5 hours
Course hours: 0900 hours-1400 hours
Date & Location: March 23, 2016 @ Putney Fire Station (21 Carl Snyder Drive, Putney, VT)T

Tuition: Free (lunch is on  your own)

Registration: Fax the in-service registration form (Word or PDF) to 802-483-2343 or email it to our registrar at gail.williams@vermont.gov

In response to the changes in federal funding for highway safety grant applications (MAP-21) and its requirement of a data driven approach, the Vermont Police Academy in conjunction the Agency of Transportation have organized a class that will detail the intricacies of the WebCrash program, an online database developed to allow law enforcement officers to input crash report data directly into the State system,  allowing supervisors to ensure its proper use.  This class will also explain the issues that are caused by inaccurate and incomplete data collection, how the data can be used to improve the State of Vermont’s highway system, and demonstrate how supervisors can utilize the Ad-Hoc Reporting Tool to help the build a report and, then, produce a map for their own use for acquisition of grant and State funding.  Road supervisors will be able to take information learned in this class, bring it back to their departments, and share it with their patrol officers.  In turn, more accurate information will be input into the WebCrash system at the time of collection on the crash site. 


 

Basic Domestic Violence Training

  • Coordinator: TJ Anderson
  • Length of course: 8 hours
  • Course hours: 0800 – 1630 hours
  • Location: Vermont Police Academy
  • Dates:
    • Wednesday, March 23, 2016   
    • Monday, June 20, 2016           
    • Wednesday, October 5, 2016    
  • Tuition: None, if initial certification. Repeat/audit - $20.50
  • Minimum number to hold a class: 9
  • Maximum number in class: 35

Registration

 Fax the in-service registration form (Word or PDF) to 802-483-2343 or email it to our registrar at gail.williams@vermont.gov

Course Description

Responding to reports of domestic violence continue to pose high risks and deep frustrations to police.

During this training, officers will review and, in the case of a new officer, learn the fundamentals on how to most effectively respond to domestic violence incidents, to include, reviewing:

  • The dynamics of domestic violence
  • Domestic violence related Vermont statutes and relevant case law
  • The investigation and creation of solid domestic violence cases for prosecutorial purposes
  •  Local and state resources for victims/survivors of domestic violence
  •  Dominant aggressor determination
  • Types of Vermont protection orders, their service, and enforcement

This course fulfills the domestic violence training requirement for:

  1. Persons going through the part-time police officer process
  2. Waiver officers.


All meetings will be held at the Vermont Fire Academy in Pittsford,  Vermont


All Vermont law enforcement leaders are invited to attend a discussion session with Philip Banks III, the former Chief of Department of the NYPD. Drawing on his professional and personal experiences, he will discuss the challenges facing police agencies in terms of community outreach, crime control and diversity, with the goal of accomplishing all three as part of a unified approach to effective community policing.

Please join us this Friday, February 26th at 1pm at the Burlington Police Department.  Space is limited so please RSVP to Corporal Kristin Olofson at kolofson@bpdvt.org.  

About Phil Banks:

In March 2013, after 27 years of service, Philip Banks III was appointed the Chief of Department of the 35,000-officer NYPD, the highest uniformed rank in the department, where he commanded its Patrol, Detective, Transit, Transportation, Community Affairs and Organized Crime Control Bureaus, and administered its CompStat program. He was the second African-American in history to hold the position. He retired from the NYPD in October, 2014.


  • Coordinator:  Ken Hawkins
  • Length of course: 24 hours
  • Course hours:  0830 – 1630 hours
  • Location:  Vermont Police Academy
  • Date:  February 24-26, 2016
  • Tuition:
    • Commuting: $65.50
    • Overnight:   $143.50                                         
  • Pre-requisites: The Emergency Communication Dispatcher seeking to become a CTO must:
    • Have a minimum of two years experience as an Emergency Communication Dispatcher.
    • Have approval by the agency head,
    • A strong desire to teach new dispatchers, and
    • Have the attributes of a successful CTO, which includes being professional, knowledgeable, committed, ethical, and fair.

Registration

Fax the in-service registration form (Word or PDF) to 802-483-2343 or email it to our Registrar at Gail Williams

Course Description

"The Communication Training Officer has a significant impact on the individual trainee in terms of imprinting attitudes, style, values, and ethics in carrying out the duties of policing that will remain with the officer throughout a career."
- California Post

The Communication Training Officer Program (CTOP) provides for the initial formal and informal training specifics of the day-to-day dispatch operations.  The CTOP also introduces the trainee to the internal operation of an Agency including the agency’s policies and procedures.  For the agency, the CTOP is also part of the hiring process.  

Imperative to this program is the Communication Training Officer (CTO).

The Communication Training Officer Certification Course (CTOCC) is designed for the dispatcher who is seeking certification as a Communication Training Officer.  This course, although developed from the FTO San Jose (CA) Model, is Vermont oriented.
Subjects included in this course:  

History and development of the program;

  • The CTO process
  • The role of the CTO
  • Leadership models
  • CTO liability issues
  • Ethics and being a CTO
  • Standardized evaluative procedures and forms
  • The adult learning model
  • Vermont’s CTO certification process

Practical exercises will be utilized to fine-tune important demonstrative areas.

Successful completion of the CTOCC will be based on class participation and passing a graded teaching exercise at the conclusion of the school.


Police and Minority Relations

Date: February 22, 2016
Course Hours: 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM EST
Location: Winooski Educational Center 60 Normand Street Winooski, VT 05404
Cost: $125 per officer, $100 group rate for 5 or more attendees

Registeration

Register Online

Police lives matter, black lives matter, all lives matter.  Those phrases have become outcries for police officers, community members, and mainstream media in 2015.  In reality, tensions between law enforcement and minorities have been brewing for decades.  Now more than ever, police officers must learn to balance aggressive crime fighting strategies with an understanding that their actions may be perceived as racial profiling, civil rights violations, criminal offenses, or as mistreatment of citizens in the communities they are sworn to protect and serve.

Across the United States, police commanders and community leaders have engaged in numerous meetings to help heal and strengthen the relationship between law enforcement and minorities.  Although these efforts have made positive gains, it is the front line patrol officer and supervisor who are at the greatest risk of a hostile encounter.

Traditional training classes that focused on cultural diversity and policing in minority communities have been met with resistance because they were presented in a manner that lacked substance or value to the responding officer.  This is not a traditional training class.

Police and Minority relations will only improve through realistic, up-to-date training, dealing with the issues head on.  This one day course will help officers identify and understand the problem, communicate more effectively with minorities, ensure compliance with federal and state laws, prepare for hostile encounters, and continue to engage in proactive policing without jeopardizing their safety.

The instructor is a veteran of one of the largest police departments in the United States.  He spent several years working in an undercover capacity, targeting the most violent gang members and drug dealers in the community he served.  During those years, he learned invaluable information regarding not only the criminal views of law enforcement, but law abiding citizens’ views of their local police departments as well.  Sharing this unique experience with patrol officers and supervisors will put them in a better position to improve relationships in their communities.

After a critical incident occurs, training coordinators are forced to answer tough questions.  How was the officer trained?  When is the last time the officer received in-service training on the use of force, search and seizure, cultural diversity..etc?  Did the officer perform according to policy?  Information will be presented in this class dealing with the questions, and implementing more in-service training to address the common questions.

This course is not designed to create an atmosphere of passive or reactive policing.  When that approach is taken, the criminals win and wreak havoc in the community.  In addition, it creates a more dangerous environment for police officers.  This course will focus on bridging the gap between law enforcement and minorities, while maintaining smart, aggressive strategies to deal with those that choose to violate the law.

Topics Covered

  • Identifying and Understanding the Problem
  • Overview of Movements/Protests
  • Preparation for Hostile Encounters
  • Tactical De-escalation Techniques (Overview)
  • Understanding DOJ Consent Decree
  • Racial Profiling
  • Communicating More Effectively with Minorities
  • Building Community Trust
  • True Officer Safety Consideration
  • DOJ Principles for Promoting Police Integrity


  • Length of Course: 240 hours
  • Course hours: 0800-1600 hrs
  • Location: VT Police Academy
  • Dates:
    • January 11th – February 19th 2016 0800 – 1630 hrs
    • February 29th – April 8th 2015 0800 – 1630 hrs If Needed.
  • Tuition: Commuting: $602.00, Overnight: $1538.00 (includes Equipment Assessment Fee, Facility Use Fees, Meals, Accommodations)
  • Prerequisites:
    • Canine evaluation prior to acceptance into the program. 
    • Handlers required to meet the minimum Police Academy physical fitness requirements (50th percentile).
  • Certifications Available: VCJTC

Registration

Fax the in-service registration form (Word or PDF) to 802-483-2343 or email it to our registrar at Gail Williams

Contacts

  • For further information email Canine T.C. Bob Ryan.
  • For questions contact the Vermont Police Academy K9 Training Staff at (802) 483-6202