Skip to main content

Current Courses

Entrance Exam Testing dates

Click Here for Dates & Descriptions

Active Threat Integrated Response Course (PER-340)

Feb. 28 - March 1, 2024 @ 08:00-17:00 ET - (FULL)

Barre City Elementary School
50 Parkside Terrace
Barre, VT 05641

This course is designed to improve integration between law enforcement, fire, and emergency medical services (EMS) in active shooter events. The course provides law enforcement officers with key medical skills based on tactical emergency casualty care (TECC) guidelines that can be used at the point of injury (POI) to increase survivability of victims. Participants will discuss rescue task forces (RTFs), basic hemorrhage control and airway management, and organization of a unified response. Additionally, participants will take part in a discipline-specific practical exercises that review skills in either law enforcement tactics or medical response. All participants will engage in large-scale practical.
exercises that test all of the concepts and skills introduces and practiced throughout the course.

All participants are required to have a FEMA SID prior to enrolling in this training.
Please visit for more information 

Animal Cruelty Investigation for Law Enforcement Officers

March 29, 2024 @ 12:00 - Registration Link

Vermont Police Academy - 317 Academy Road, Pittsford, VT 05763

This class satisfies the required statutory minimum animal cruelty investigation training for Level II, Level III and Waiver officers.

ARIDE 2024

Feb. 8th & 9th (Academy)

March 28th & 29th (Essex PD)

June 24th & 25th (Academy)

Sept. 26th & 27th (Essex PD)

Nov. 25th & 26th (Dover PD)

ARIDE Refresher Course

Click Here for Registration and More Information

The ARIDE Refresher course was developed for law enforcement officers who have attended the 16-hour in-person ARIDE course. It is designed to provide the officers with key concepts taught in the full two-day training through an interactive web-based format to refresh their skills.

NHTSA's ARIDE training is a 16-hour, in-person instructor-led course that builds on the skills of the Standardized Field Sobriety Tests to enhance a law enforcement officer's ability to detect impaired driving and enforce relevant laws.  With the development of the 4-hour ARIDE Refresher eLearning course, officers trained in ARIDE can refresh their skills without having to attend an in-person course; instead, they can access the course when their schedule allows, from anywhere with an internet connection.  Featuring highly skilled and well-trained subject matter experts from across the country, this course will allow learners to re-engage with the material from the in-person course while testing their knowledge through realistic scenarios and testing before, during, and after the training.

Officers can sign up for an account to access the training at  It requires minimal information and gives the officer access to all courses offered through the LMS. All courses are free and can be taken at the officers’ own pace.

Once your account is created navigate to E-Learning Courses, Drug Awareness & Enforcement, and select Advanced Roadside Impaired Driving Enforcement (ARIDE) Refresher.

Upon completion, please provide the certificate of completion and the supporting documentation to Jen Hier ( at the Vermont Police Academy.  You will receive 4 credit hours for this training

Alco-Sensor FST PBT device

Online training, click link for more information. 

Basic Domestic Violence Training

April 29, 2024 @ 0800 - Registration Link

Vermont Police Academy - 317 Academy Road, Pittsford, VT 05763

This course satisfies the mandatory 8 hours of training for levels I & II, as well as incoming out of state waiver officers.

Canine In-service Training

Canine in-service is offered Monday through Friday at the Vermont Police Academy. Click here for the schedule or to register

Communications Training Officer Refresher

Course is now held remotely, contact Michelle Hunt for registration

Crime Scene Investigation, Level II

March 26, 2024 @ 0800 - Registration Link

Vermont Police Academy - 317 Academy Road, Pittsford, VT 05763

DRE Training School

Application period is now open. Click here for more information.

DRE Trainings

Multiple dates and webinars available. Click the link for more information


April 8th – 12th - Click Here for Registration

Oct. 28th – Nov. 1st - Click Here for Registration

Entrance Exam Testing dates

  • January 23, 2024
  • February 13, 2024
  • March 26, 2024
  • April 16, 2024
  • May 14, 2024
  • June 11, 2024
  • July 16, 2024
  • August 13, 2024
  • September 24, 2024
  • October 15, 2024
  • November 19, 2024
  • December 17, 2024

FBI Crisis Negotiation Course

4/22/2024 to 4/26/2024 @ 08:00-17:00 - Click Here for Registration or Click Here for More Information

State Preparedness Training Center (SPTC)
5900 Airport Road, Oriskany, NY 13424

COST: Free

This 40-hour course will address the fundamental needs of a successful hostage negotiator. The course will prepare students to handle a variety of crisis situations, including hostage takers, barricaded subjects, and potential suicide victims. Students who successfully complete this course receive a formal certification from the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI).

FBI-LEEDA Executive Leadership Institute

7/22/2024 to 7/26/2024 @ 08:30 - Click Here for Registration

Essex Police Department
145 Maple Street
Essex Jct., Vermont  05452
United States

CONTACT: Ron Hoague - - 802.857.0093

The Executive Leadership Institute (ELI) is part three of the three-step leadership series that makes up the FBI-LEEDA Trilogy. This cutting-edge program is designed for executive-level law enforcement leaders and focuses on the challenges facing our profession today.  This highly-interactive program follows the FBI-LEEDA "Cops Talking to Cops" model of professional development. The Institute uses a wide-range of source materials and calls upon participants' own professional experience to facilitate individual development and learning.
The following is a list of topics covered in the ELI program:
•    Trends in law enforcement, implications of the President's Task Force on 21st Century Policing
•    Public trust and legitimacy, bias and diversity
•    Employee wellness
•    Power, transformational leadership, social and emotional intelligence
The cost of the Executive Leadership Institute is $795.
FBI-LEEDA will send you a tuition invoice six-weeks prior to the start date of the class. To make special payment arrangements prior to being invoiced please email Finance at
•    The registration fee includes the cost of the training and course materials; the fee does not include meals or travel expenses.
•    Sworn and professional law enforcement staff are welcome to all FBI-LEEDA classes.  You do not have to be a member to attend a class.
•    Each student must register for classes under their own Username and Account.
•    There are no prerequisites for this course; Trilogy courses can be taken in any order.
•    A workbook will be provided; laptop is optional.
•    Dress is business casual.
•    This course is 28 contact hours.

For further information regarding this or any other FBI-LEEDA class, please contact FBI-LEEDA at 1-877-772-7712

FBI-LEEDA Media and Public Relations

11/18/2024 to 11/22/2024 @ 08:30 - Click Here for Registration

Essex Police Department
145 Maple Street
Essex Jct., Vermont  05452
United States

CONTACT: Ron Hoague – – 802.857.0093

The Media and Public Relations (MPR) course is a 4 ½-day intense curriculum developed to assist law enforcement in communication with not only the media, but the communities they serve. The course is suitable for chiefs and commanders who may deal with the media on a regular or ad hoc basis and full-time/part-time Public Information Officers (PIOs).  This class provides proven strategies and best-practices for media relations, crisis communications and social media.  Students will learn to prepare and deliver messages.  The session features numerous desktop and on-camera exercises. Participants are asked to bring a laptop or tablet to class.
FBI-LEEDA instructors for this course have deep experience in law enforcement, media relations and social media strategies and have been police PIOs. The following is an outline of what is covered in the Media and Public Relations course:
Public Perception and the Media
•    Image, branding, public trust, image-makers, writing effective news releases
Media Relations
•    The interview preparation process, interview techniques, incident scene interviews, news conferences, corrections, media ethics, mock interviews
Crisis Communications
•    Stages of a crisis, communication goals, the victim-media attraction, importance of key messaging
Social Media
•    Power of social media, citizen journalism and police, how to create legitimacy using social media, social media pitfalls and policy, managing the social media beast
Bringing it all Together in Crisis
•    Case study, desktop mock scenario, hotwash
The cost of the Media and Public Relations course is $795.
FBI-LEEDA will send you a tuition invoice six-weeks prior to the start date of the class. To make special payment arrangements prior to being invoiced please email Finance at
Sworn and professional law enforcement staff are welcome to all FBI-LEEDA classes.  You do not have to be a member to attend a class.
For further information regarding this or any other FBI-LEEDA class, please contact FBI-LEEDA at 1-877-772-7712

Fingerprinting Re-Certification

Police officers are required by Vermont statute to be re-certified every 3 years, following the training and certification outlined above, in order to take fingerprints from minors as part of a voluntary identification program. To be recertified, an officer must submit to VCIC a set of prints via electronic capture OR the standard ink and roll method. The prints will be examined for quality, and if acceptable, recertification will be granted. If the prints are found to be unacceptable, the officer will have to re-take the Basic Fingerprinting Certification Course. Please note: recertification is NOT required for the purposes of taking prints as part of an investigation, employment-related background checks, etc.

Send a set of fingerprints to VCIC C/O Identification Section Supervisor, 42 State Street, Waterbury, VT 05671-130

(FIP) Fair and Impartial Policing Baseline Training

April 22, 2024 @ 08:30 - Click Here for Registration

Vermont Police Academy - 317 Academy Road, Pittsford, VT 05763

Firearms Instructor Updates for 2023-2024

To sign up for the 2023/2024 Firearms Instructor Re-Certification please go to the Eventbrite posting here:

  • Any Firearms Instructor who was scheduled to re-certify in 2023 will be waived until December 31, 2024.  
  • All instructors will have the opportunity to re-certify at the Academy during 2024 with multiple dates available for the flexibility of both individuals and departments.
  • Instructors will be able to attend a morning or an afternoon re-certification that will last approximately 3 – 4 hours depending on the number of instructors present.
  • All instructors should arrive in appropriate duty attire for range, with eye protection, ear protection, cover, body armor and at least 100 rounds of range ammo.
  • This re-certification will include classroom portion that will cover the statewide use of force policy and how it pertains to Firearms and Firearms instruction, current methods of instruction for the Level II and Level III classes, expectations for Firearms Instructors for the preparation of students who will be participating in the Level II or Level III courses,  student remediation and coaching, familiarization with the new Academy Ti Training Simulator,  range standards qualification at instructor proficiency level. 

Forensic Investigation Photography (Basic to Advanced) Plus CSI Techniques

February 26-March 1, 2024 - Click Here for Registration and More Information

Hartford VT Police Department (812 VA Cutoff Rd., White River Junction, VT 05001)

For more information contact:, Flyer

2024 FTO Certification School

1/16/2024-1/19/2024, 08:00-16:30 daily

2024 FTO Re-Certification

January 18, 2024 @ 12:30 - Click Here for Registration

Classroom 3, Vermont Police Academy - 317 Academy Road, Pittsford, VT 05763

2024 FTO Re-Certification

March 11, 2024 @ 12:30 - Click Here for Registration

Ludlow PD - 19 W Hill St, Ludlow, VT 05149

LIDAR Operation Certification

Lidar (Academy), April 19th

July 26th

Level 2 Mental Health Crisis Response

May 9, 2024 @ 08:00-16:30 - Click Here for Registration

Classroom 1, Vermont Police Academy - 317 Academy Road, Pittsford, VT 05763

MGT 417: Crisis Management for School-Based Incidents for Key Decision Makers

March 14 & 15, 2024 @ Day 1: 08:00-16:00 Day 2: 08:00-15:30 - Click Here for More Information

Location: Manchester Community Library - Hunter Room, 138 Cemetery Avenue, Manchester, VT 05255

Hosted by: Manchester Police Department

Cost: Free

NCIC FSTO/LFSTO - FBI National Crime Information Center

The FBI requires new or returning personnel who require access to their National Crime Information Center (NCIC) to be both NCIC and CJIS (Criminal Justice Information Services) certified. Contact your agency's NCIC TAC (Terminal Agency Coordinator) to coordinate your online training program. 

NHTSA Doppler Radar Operator Certification

NTOA Basic and Advanced Crisis Negotiations

NTOA Basic Crisis Negotiations, hosted at SBPD from February 12-16, 2024. The deadline for registration is 1/12/2024.

NTOA Advanced Crisis Negotiations, hosted at SBPD from April 15-17, 2024. The deadline for registration is 3/15/2024.

Registration should be done through the NTOA site directly. Contact Sgt. Pat Mulcahy or Lt Mike Henry with any questions anyone may have.

Patrol Rifle Instructor School

DATES: June 17- 21, 2024 (5-days / 40 Plus-hours)

LOCATION: Hale Mountain Fish & Game Club, 684 Rod and Gun Club Rd., Shaftsbury, VT

COST: $599 per student

REGISTER: email for the registration forms to reserve your seat. Students can pay online, by purchase order, or agency check.

DESCRIPTION: This school teaches the student how to instruct basic rifle marksmanship and officer survival tactics for the patrol environment. Students should already be proficient in the weapons use and should be a firearms instructor or tactical team member, however individuals planning on attending a firearms instructor school are allowed. Graduates will be able to make recommendations to their agency regarding deployment, equipment, tactics, and policy issues. Every graduate will be proficient in various methods of instruction, as well as weapons use from various shooting positions and engagement distances. Depending on range limitations students learn training techniques for night fire, moving targets, multiple adversaries, and engagement through intermediate barriers. Students should be in good physical condition to attend this course as there will be limited running to positions and other physical exertion.

STANDARDS: This is an “INSTRUCTOR” course and is performance based. Students must pass a written examination and a qualification course of fire, and complete an assigned lesson plan satisfactorily.

EQUIPMENT: Rifle with a sling (Pistol round carbines may be unable to pass), at least three magazines, and 1,000 rounds of practice rifle ammunition. The student should bring at least 50 rounds of duty rifle ammunition to ensure a good zero with duty ammunition. Combat optics (LPVO and Prism) and red dots, iron sights, and a BUIS system, are all permissible. Learning how to zero your issued weapon sight and backup sights is a course objective. Students should bring clothing appropriate for environmental conditions, eye and ear protection, personal body armor (MANDATORY) & cleaning equipment. Students should bring the spare magazine carry method their agency employs. Finally, a pistol belt and duty handgun with 50 rounds of range ammunition is required for transition evolutions of fire. It is highly recommended to bring a laptop to prepare and display an assigned powerpoint style lesson plan during the school and to use the digital manuals. Bipods and sniper scopes are not allowed.


Search and Rescue Training

March 29, 2024 @ 08:00 - Registration Link

Vermont Police Academy - 317 Academy Road, Pittsford, VT 05763

This course meets the requirements of 20 V.S.A. 2365(a) for all part-time and out-of-state waiver officers.

Trauma Management Training

6/10/2024 to 6/11/2024 @ 08:00-16:00 - Click Here for Registration or Click Here for More Information
6/12/2024 to 6/13/2024 @ 08:00-16:00 - Click Here for Registration or Click Here for More Information

Manchester Police Department
60 Jeff Williams Way
Manchester, VT 05255

COST: Free

This military-led familiarization course is designed to provide law enforcement officials with an overview of hands-on tactical first-aid techniques that can be executed as a team or by individual providers. Derived from the U.S. Military's Tactical Combat Casualty Care (TCCC) and civilian Tactical Emergency Casualty Care (TECC), this course will cover select types of physical traumas and the associated treatment of injuries seen on dispatched scenes, law enforcement officials/first responders are also taught to consider “big picture” aspects such as: direct threat care, indirect threat care, triage of patients, collection, evacuation, and communication with EMS services for improving chances of survival for casualties.